We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location/friendly staff/economical”
Review of Toby's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toby's Resort
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    206
    112
    32
    13
See reviews for
71
164
74
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I can't complain about anything. Clean and affordable place across the street from beach, .5 mile from airport, walking distance to hip strip! The rooms are nice and clean like those of a *** hotel with prices of a ** place! Restaurant has good food and decent prices especially for breakfast! Free Ice from machine near pool! Beach towels available upon request! Complimentary toiletries! Pressured showers!!! A/C! Balcony! TV! Clean plush bathroom towels everyday! No fridge on "basic rooms" It needs some renovations but we need to keep supporting this humble family owned resort in order for that to happen! -Peace

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soyjessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Tobys resort during our vacation and overall had a great experience. Apart from the hotel charging my credit twice (however, this was my personal banks fault) it was a good experience. The hotel staff were extremely helpful, accommodating and friendly. The restaurant at the hotel had a good choice of menu and there are two swimming pools. The property was quite spacious and there was free wifi in the lobby area. Also, if you are keen on listening to awesome dancehall and reggae tunes, def the place to stay. Loved the fact that the main pool bar was blasting these tunes whilst relaxing by the pool - very Jamaican style :) Close to the hip strip as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estellee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here on our way out of a 4 night stay at an all inclusive just to be closer to the airport and to check out what the "hip strip" is about. The place itself is adequete with a friendly staff, free wi-fi in the lobby, and bare bones rooms. You can skip the pool as it's nothing to swoon over but it's very close to the beach. Airport shuttle is easily arranged at the lobby desk for about $10 USD per couple. This is pretty cheap but in actuality, you can really walk to the airport if you're traveling light since it's about a 1/2 mile away. The Hip Strip is a huge disappointment lined only with some local tourist shops that will rip you off and a few restaurants most of which are still high priced and filled with tourists. We made a point to find a local balcony bar that played reggae that had local folks sitting around smoking as we would have liked to see. We chatted with some very nice locals there and stayed far away from the likes of Margaritaville or any of those other touristy locations. Overall, the Toby Resort is good for a one night stay but the experience of the area was underwhelming in general so skip it if not needed.

Room Tip: There is no point in requesting rooms as they are all bare bones and face inward toward the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EveSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The location is great. Right at the end of the hip strip, but you couldn't even tell because it is very quite. Very close to the beaches. The pool was also very nice if u didn't want to travel with all your stuff to the beach. This place has a restaurant, which was ok but nothing special. Although there isn't much else for breakfast around the area, so we ended up eating there all 3 days we were there for breakfast. Overall a great place to stay if you aren't going to do an all inclusive resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djwingwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
328 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our main floor room was adequate for a two day stay - buy not any longer. The room was in need or a major makeover - grim and age showing everywhere. Room large, pillows terrible, beds hard. This property is not average for Montego Bay - it is less than that - but not "poor" either in terms of TA ratings. One night we found the hallways filled with noisy people until the crack of dawn, the next night it was much better. The whole place needs some real tender loving care - as it does not look like a dime is being spent to maintain or upgrade. Restaurant served some good meals at a reasonable price point.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CanadianBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Went with husband and two daughters, 6 and 2 years old for two nights. Location within walking distance of hip strip food and shopping but not close enough to hear the noise. Great view of "Red Stripe" sign from grounds.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaMomOrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#28 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#24 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#37 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#30 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montego Bay Club Resort
Montego Bay Club Resort
#33 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toby's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby's Resort

Property: Toby's Resort
Address: 1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Toby's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned hotel, geared towards the easy going, adventurous tourists and returning residents seeking for a peaceful and relaxing environment. We are located on the famous "Hip Strip" of Montego Bay, just five minutes away from Donald Sangster International Airport and walking distance from Doctor's Cave Beach and Cornwall Beach, restaurants, nightclubs and duty-free shopping. When you combine an ideal central location, affordability and genuine people who offer a heart-felt welcome and first-class service, the vacation of your dreams begins as our guest at Toby's Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toby's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toby`s Hotel Montego Bay
Tobys Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing