We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ONCE AGAIN GREAT STAY”
other travelers have booked this property
Sea view from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea view from balcony
View from balcony Airy open passageway to studio entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Sea view from balcony
View from balcony
Airy open passageway to studio entrance
Beds, can be joined to make a kingsize
Balcony
View of El Greco Reception from Balcony
Garden view from balcony
Restaurant on Doctors Cave Beach
Doctors Cave Beach
Kitchen Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jam72
UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ONCE AGAIN GREAT STAY”
Reviewed February 18, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I believe this is my 3rd stay at the property and once again no issues. Booking is always easy no hassle, I now just ring Doreen directly and then make payment through Paypal. Mr Hussey is always easy to deal with and will accommodate any change of plans when it is feasible., also replies very quickly to emails. I am surprised at some of the reviews simple because this is a budget appartment with all the amenities that you need for your stay. It is clean, the location is excellent, and it is in a secure location. I have always been satisfied with the service and when we have encountered an issue it was dealt with swiftly. This is not hotel accommodation so it may not suit everyone but I really can find no complaints.
Will always return when available.
Thanks again

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaperDav...
Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
“no inclusive, no problem :)”
Reviewed February 16, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

bang for buck indeed.. pros, across the street from doctors cave main entrance, walking distance to many brand name restaurants and local ones as well, all the shopping you can handle, there is a jamaican tours office in the towers main level with a grocery store with most of what you need, local produce within the compound for purchase, we did not do the B+B but should have as we ate at the cliff hanging gorgeous view restaurant most mornings, avg $20 US for 2 if not.
cons, very aggressive locals awaiting you once your off the compound, cant go 20 steps on the hip strip most days without someone trying to sell you whatever is in their pockets, doctors cave adds up, $6 for each to enter $6 for a chair $6 for an umbrella and waited service on the beach (convenient but expensive) the room was "roughin it" AC was too loud to sleep with, ceiling fan is on its last leg, 2 single beds no double (not clear in the photos) really had to stay on top of the ants, dont leave ANY crumbs out or they will find you! a previous guest had left some ant powder which was useful once they did appear.
in closing, great place if you dont need the 5 star experience, ac didnt matter to us. fridge kept the beer cold and a great view from the patio.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view from our private patio
Liked least: hassle on the streets
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne_16...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will Be Back!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place is the place to be. Stayed here for one week and had a great time. Please keep in mind the unit is perfect for two guests only. Very close to the hip strip and an on site store for all your basic needs. Pool facing and ocean facing who could ask for more!!! Great to sit out and watch the sunset over the mountains.

Doreen was wonderful and very helpful with everything.

I see complaints here about ants and this is why I am writing this review. At no point during our week stay did we have any issues with ants. We put all food away, did not leave anything lying around and took our garbage out each day. If you do this, you should have have no issues.

We will definitly be visting this place again if we travel back to Jamaica.

Thanks again for everything. We had a wonderful time.

No house keeping but this was not an issue at all. I believe that for an extra fee you can have someone come in and tidy up.

The only thing that was a con for us was that although the unit had AC, it was extremely loud but we were still very thankful for it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The ocean view and how close it was to everything.
Liked least: The loud AC in the unit.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlqr
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My trip overall was awesome! The apartment is small but very close proximity to the strip. I mean, staggering distance. Across the walkway, and down the elevator...Tah Dah you're there!! Doctor's Beach to the right, Jimmy Buffet's to the left. There is access to a pool and restaurant/bar at the resort that encompasses the grounds where the apartment is located (EL Greco). The staff is very friendly and the bar tenders and wait staff most charming. But one thing that made this an awesome experience is Doreen the landlord. She came up to the room to welcome me and show me how to turn things on and so forth. Then she basically took me by the hand and walked me to the strip and showed me how to get to the beach. A 4'11" spitfire she is. Thanks Doreen.
Do not expect an apartment that is the lap of luxury, but any and everything that you could possibly need is there. It could stand some modernization but definitely a winning scenario for me. The neighbors were friendly and the grounds were well kept. The view from the quiet look out beside the entryway to the crossover is one of the best vantage points that I found for taking photos. The crossover itself is also an excellent spot. It towers 9 stories above the streets below and from there you can see forever in either direction. I will most definitely return. One word of caution, when you cross the street make sure to look the WRONG direction or you will become road kill..LOL

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Could stand some updates ie.. Wifi, beds, paint, bathroom fixtures.
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H
Anchorage, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This apartment is in an excellent location near the hip strip. Walking the strip and catching a taxi to other locations are both options. On site there is a small store, good restaurant and pool. People and staff are very courteous and nice.
The unit itself is very functional; balcony, air conditioning, new appliances, comfortable beds. There was no cleaning serve for the entire time we were there. It wasn't hugely inconvenient, but it would have been nice not to have to change our own linens. That is one thing I like about vacations. Also the place was swarming with ants. Everywhere! Even in bed. Maybe time to bomb?
Other than those two issues, it was a nice unit. Great views.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2015
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and the positive comments about the location and the apartment. With regard to the cleaning service, a clean is offered one day per week of stay and we have raised this omission with the local agent, and apologise for the inconvenience. However, as this is a self catering apartment, we rely on guests communicating with our local agent as soon as any issues arise. For example, our agent advises that she was not contacted with respect to the ants which are particularly attracted to even the smallest amount of food. She assures us that ants are dealt with quickly if they are pointed out to her.

The Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission0
Capitol Heights, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

For the price, the accommodatiions were decent. It was clean with a nice view of the sea. Three negative comments: (1) the air-conditioner was loud (however, I was grateful that it worked); (2) the t.v. did not work (it actually worked but neither I nor Doreen, the resident mananger, knew the correct channel to change it from DVD to t.v. She did come the morning that I was leaving and said she spoke with the cable person and they told her what channel to put it on and it worked, however I packing to leave; (3) No internet (although I did end up getting the password for the El Greco resort and connected via their service. It also would have been nice to have a screen in the patio window in order to keep the patio door open, but I did not do so without a screen because I did not want bugs and mosquitos flying into the room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clealiness and location
Liked least: Loud air-conditioner, no tv. and finding internet access
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy7201...
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was an upsetting stay at the Montego Bay Studio.”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The lights were going on and off, toilet leak, ceiling had mold throughout and the cable didn't work. The A/C made noise the whole time it was on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location across the street from the beach.
Liked least: The mold throughout the ceilng and the bedding was itching not for the climate.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and we are sorry you found your stay upsetting. As you are aware in our communication with you, we contacted the local managing agent following your stay, and she disputed your comments regarding the accommodation. For example, the plumber who attended the property found no evidence of any leak, and the agent reports no evidence of any mould in the apartment. Also, there is a ceiling fan as a quieter alternative to the A/C. With respect to light and cable outages, which do occur in Jamaica from time to time, these are unfortunately out of our control.
To date, previous guests who have given feedback, have had mainly positive comments about the property, and the service provided by the local agent. For example, the guest who stayed at the apartment just two weeks prior to your stay, stated they had "a great 10 days". We consider the property has been priced appropriately, and most guests are very pleased with the value for money given the excellent location and views. A number of our guests return regularly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing