We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip to the Bird Sanctuary with Morris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jamisland Day Tours

Jamisland Day Tours
Ranked #22 of 106 Tours in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 17 years of experience, we at Jamisland Tours have a wealth of experience in the ground transportation service in Jamaica. We are certified with the Jamaica Tourist Board ever since our operations started.Our services include a wide range of Tours to the Tourist Mecca’s of Jamaica, Montego Bay, Negril, Ocho Rios, and Port Antonio. We also provide services in the form of Excursions, Weddings, Historical Tours and Airport Transfers to all points on the island.
Unity, Canada
1 review
“Trip to the Bird Sanctuary with Morris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were in Jamaica March 2013. While there we met Morris and told him how we wanted to go to the Bird Sanctuary. Morris picked us up at our resort which was the Grand Palladium and we headed out on our adventure. He first took us around some of the high spots in Montego Bay. Places that you wouldn't see on a big tour bus. It was so great to have a private tour. Morris was very knowledgeable and a pleasure to spend the day with. After seeing Montego Bay we headed off to the Bird Sanctuary. This was the place we were really looking forward to seeing and it did not disappoint. The drive there was very scenic into some of the back country. The Sanctuary itself was remarkable very quiet and very relaxing. It is a lovely place if you want to get away from some of the busier tourist places. It didn't take long for the hummingbirds to perch on your finger for a drink. It was amazing, because we had a private tour we could spend as long as we liked seeing the sights. Morris is a very patient man. If you are a bird and flower lover this is a must see. On our way back we stopped at a couple of stands and visited with the locals as well as tasting remarkable fruits. We want to thank Morris and Jamisland Tours again for a wonderful day. We would highly recommend taking a private tour with Jamisland Tours especially with our new friend Morris.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 589AlanS589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
“Morris made our vacation!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We met Morris by accident really, looking lost and unsure about what to do on a tour and Morris greeted us (Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton). He quickly figured out what we were interested in doing and easily made it all happen. He called us the night before to confirm when and where we would meet and what we would do for the day. He showed us the island, little villages, the food etc. He knew exactly where to go and what time to go. He was with us the entire day and we learned so much from him. We felt so safe with him and he instantly felt like family. We booked a second trip with Morris just before we left and again it was amazing. At YS falls Morris was able to take the tractor ride in with us, show us where to pay and where to change. Once at the falls he quickly found an employee (unbeknownst to us) who become our private tour guide and photographer! He led us through the falls and took well over 50 pictures of us. This service was all because of Morris. If we were hungry he stopped at the best locations where we tried jerk chicken, curried goat, drank from a coconut etc. When we mentioned we would like to have drinks for our second trip he was ready and waiting with a cooler for us! After 2 days with Morris I got the feeling that a lot of people must have already written about him on trip advisor and boy were we right. He is truly amazing and made our trip an unforgettable one!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaime H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nodaway, Iowa
1 review
“Fun with Morris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our group of twelve has learned over the years to hire a local taxi and just leave it up to them to take us to the highlights whenever we have visited the Caribbean. We went to Jamaica first week of February and met Morris from jamislandtours. What a guy! so helpful and fun! We met him at our resort and told him what we wanted, and he took it from there in his comfortable taxi? or small bus. One guy in our group especially wanted to meet the locals and taste local food, and boy, did we. Local roadside fruit stands (2 kinds of bananas, pineapple, apples, and 2 other (unfamiliar to us) fruits; locally prepared jerk chicken, beef with rice and beans, homemade bread and locally caught spiced shimp. Took us to YS falls, which was not overly crowded like the Dunn falls, and up into the mountains for quite a ride! Morris, loved meeting you and all the fun we had with you. We are from Iowa and were impressed he knew that how the elections turn out in Iowa are usually the same as how the general election turns out. He even knew Iowa was different than Idaho and Ohio :) (some Americans don't) Anyway, had a blast with Morris. . . THANK YOU. would recommend this to anyone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank farmersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great tour guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Morris was a great tour guide fun, informative and extremely helpful. We were staying at the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton and our holiday rep arranged for Morris to take us to Rose Hall. On the way to Rose Hall Morris was able to tell us all about the places we were passing and to answer any questions that we had about Jamaica and a range of other subjects. He answered any questions that we had with great cheer.

On our return from Rose Hall he took us to roadside fruit and beer vendor and along with the two brothers who ran the stall he told us all about the local fruits and gave us samples to try including Tambrin (Tamarind), Honey Bananas, Coconut, Pineapple and Soursop. A great experience and I have to recommend the Tambrin which taste a little like sherbet lemons.

Overall Morris was a great tour guide and I'd happily recommend him to everyone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unity, Canada
1 review
“Interesting sights you don't see on a tour bus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Morris was very knowledgable and courteous. He took us to all the places we wished to see but also showed us some other sights - a hilltop view of the bay at Lucea; the fort (so amazing)
lunch at an authentic Jamaican restaurant, etc. He spent the entire day with us and was very accomodating. We had a group of 20 and everyone was very pleased and impressed with our tour. I recommend seeing Jamaica this way - It beats a bus tour!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Therese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamisland Day Tours also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Jamisland Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing