We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views stunning food... in croydon? Yea mon.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Croydon Plantation

Croydon Plantation
Book In Advance
$70*
and up
Croydon Plantation with Jamaican Lunch
Ranked #8 of 68 things to do in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning views stunning food... in croydon? Yea mon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks vacation in the most beatiful country.

Picked the Croydon excursion through our First Choice holiday rep and very very glad we did. The place is a working plantation and simply huge though the tour does not take you all through the place.

Our guide Winston was knowledgable and full of humour and gave a good account of relevant Jamaican history.

The plantation itself is absolute panoramic splendour in every direction. Really beautiful. The tasting stations are super as we were amazed to taste 8 different pineapple varieties and learn about bananas and coffee. Was treated to blue montain coffee at the end which again superduper.

A must do excursion especially for other brits.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    76
    18
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“See the real Jamaica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The ride to Croydon is probably only 25 miles but takes about an hour. You will see the real Jamaica. Villages and towns along the way are not like the resorts and are interesting. The landscape in Jamaica is beautiful and the plantation is well maintained and interesting. Our guide there, Winston was very nice and has a good sense of humor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank imemine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
2 reviews
“Beautiful vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our cruise ship was here in late May 2013 and we picked the Croydon Plantation because it seemed like the perfect way to get a "taste" of Jamaica. We were not disappointed. The bus trip up the mountain gave us a behind the scenes look at daily Jamaican life and our tour guide - Winston - was very informative and at times engagingly humorous. At the plantation we enjoyed the tour of the many different crops they grow there and especially enjoyed tasting the different varieties of pineapples that are grown on the plantation. We had a fine lunch on a hill. We thought we would tour a house, but the tour was an easy and entertaining walk through some beautiful grounds. The owner of the plantation greeted us towards the end of the tour and was very accommodating in letting us pose with him for pictures. He sat with us through lunch. The tour ended in plenty of time to do some souvenir shopping back at the port.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We took this excursion from our cruise ship since my wife is pregnant. Our guide was Winston. We both really enjoyed his humor and knowledge. The views and landscaping is incredible. They allow you to try several of their crops that were harvested that morning. I never realized the difference between a pineapple that was harvested when ripe and a pineapple you buy from Wal-Mart until I tasted it. They also prepare a lunch at the end of the tour. All I can say to sum it up is my title.... Beautiful and Delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscapes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We purchased this excursion while on a cruise. The ride to the plantation allowed us the opportunity to actually see Jamaica. We drove for about an hour over the mountainous terrain on asphalt and dirt roads. Our local guide informed us of the local culture and history. We arrived and were offered bottled water and began the tour. Our group met the plantation owner while he was working in a nearby field. He was friendly and approachable. The grounds are beautiful and we took amazing pictures. We homeschool our child and this tour provided her with many examples of botany, ecology and farming techniques. She really liked getting to taste the different types of pineapples. The lunch provided was good and we didn't get sick (a plus). I'd like to mention how thankful the staff and owner were that we had chosen the tour. I've been to Jamaica 5 times before and did not received the same welcome. I would not hesitate to do this tour again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Diamondcruiser200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Croydon Plantation also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Croydon Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing