We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My fiancee and i have just returned after spending 1 week at the Secrets resort wild orchid, Montego Bay, Jamaica. I chose this resort via Virgin Holidays UK.

I considered many places in the Caribbean but this stood out by a mile as being affordable with 5 star quality through out, almost perfect location and of course all the positive reviews.

Upon arrival we was offered an upgrade to "preffered club, full ocean view". our initial booking was for a junior suite and we are so glad that we upgraded our package for a small fee and it is deffinately worth doing the upgrade!

With this package we got 2 champagne breakfasts during our stay, full access to the preffered club and the private beach with top shelf drinks also.

A MUST HAVE - the Jerk chicken! the cart usually comes round about 1pm and we had this everyday, along with the freshly caught coconuts.

With regards to the restaurants, you need to get there early to avoid lengthy ques but the food is of really high quality and ALL the staff are friendly and no request is a problem to them. They all sing and are very happy all of the time which makes you feel relaxed and they are very talkative. in a good way!

We booked an excursion with Nicholas from AM Resorts in the hotel. We did the Black river (crocodille), YS Falls & Appleton Rum factory tour. it is deffinately worth the day out. We was restricted to just this excursion because we severly under budgeted how expensive they are. Plus if you upgrade the room it is pointless doing too much outside the resort.

There is no negativity that i can think of that is worth posting. But a quick heads up if you are a light sleeper then the tree frogs and the noise from the mini bar will no doubt test your patience. Saying that i was on holiday and did not mind it. The wild peacocks woke us up nice and early which means more time to explore the amazing facility and the lovely beaches.

We never felt pressured into "tipping" anybody but we did out of generosity.

To sum up we would deffinately return to this resort and i would highly advise others to do so.

We get married next year and we are strongly considering a return to Mobay.

:)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a full ocean view room. We had room 2419
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,123
    1,446
    531
    182
    99
See reviews for
440
4,390
129
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,315)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Location, along with beautifully maintained grounds and ocean view bedroom were all top notch.

Plenty of amenities to choose from. One of my favorite was the daily yoga classes offered on the boardwalk - it felt like you were practicing in the water. The teacher was great - Chris from Chicago. A perfect holiday activity for me: yoga followed by a Mimosa and onto the beach!
The Wild Orchid pool seemed to be the happening one but there were other quiet pools and places on the beach to enjoy and escape to. A good variety of restaurants were on offer.
The staff were very helpful, courteous, sincere and Jamaican. It was nice to be in a big resort but yet still experience a unique cultural experience.

We were a group of family members and I thought we would be surrounded by couples only. But this was not the case. Nice balance of age groups too.
Don't let the name "Secrets" put you off. This resort is very nice and definitely worth a visit. I hope to visit again next year.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Pashita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Having had many great holidays this is my first time feeling compelled to write a review. We had a five out of ten sibling family reunion! The hotel is excellent, rooms are spacious and clean with a balcony off each. Choice and standard of food and restaurant options is generous and plentiful. Would recommend a chef's table at the Japanese restaurant (Lionel aka Rooster is a colourful chef!). Pool and beach facilities are good with refreshments brought to you while you lounge in the sun. Lots of complimentary sporting and entertainment activities to choose from (we enjoyed the Oscars screening party on the beach). We particularly enjoyed Chris' yoga classes on the beach boardwalk each day. An accident on the first day which had one of us carted off to hospital to have a head stitched, could have been a turning point of our trip but was averted, partly thanks to the kindness and attention paid by the staff - in particular the outstanding Butler Michael and the Duty Manager Sean. Would recommend Secrets Wild Orchid for any family reunion or group holiday and we look forward to going back with the whole family next time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our resort. It is most flattering that the experience you were provided with was compelling enough for you to write such a kind review and for this we are thankful.
It was truly our pleasure to host you I am very happy that you found our food, activities and entertainment as well as our staff to be noteworthy in your overall experience.

I am sorry to hear that you had an unfortunate accident but comforted to know that you were immediately taken care of and satisfied with the attention and response of our team including Shawn (Manager on Duty) and Michael (Butler).

Your recommendation of our resort is certainly invaluable to us and we cannot thank you enough for this.
Looking forward to welcoming you back Home!

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel was incredible, our stay was very pleasant, the resort itself was everything we wanted and were delighted with the excellent services provided by all the staff working there. Our stay with you was topped off by meeting one of the entertainment team called 'Bon Jovi', he made us feel very welcome, was very friendly and became a friend to us. I would definitely recommend anyone on this holiday and when you do get there request to see Bon Jovi

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our resort. It is really great to read that “incredible” is how you describe your experience here with us. Our staff is truly among our most valuable assets and we do appreciate your positive recognition of Bon Jovi and the value added experience gained from his interaction with you.

Thank you for choosing Secrets and I hope that you will come again.

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I spent two weeks over New Year 2013/2014 at Secrets, Wild Orchid. This is a beautiful hotel with excellent restaurants for every taste. The cleanliness of the resort is to a very high standard.

My only complaint is that we had 3 adults to a room which we paid full price, only to find two queen size beds. I had to share with one of my daughters. Also, there was only two chairs on the balcony, only two dressing gowns and towels for two. Even when the maid did the turn down service, there were only two chocolates left. It only took a phone call to remedy all these things, but I shouldn't have had to remind them.

The entertainment staff were very good and made us feel like part of their family. Although all were good, I need to mention one in particular. His name is Jovi. He made us feel very welcome, entertained us during our visit and helped us with any request. He really made our holiday - so much so, we would return again and would recommend the resort to others.

I would recommend this resort to anyone, and it's only 15 minutes from Montego Bay.......

Room Tip: Ocean views are lovely................
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Just back from a five-day stay NYC escape at SWO. First time at an adults only all-inclusive. Exceeded our group's expectations on all levels -- accommodations, amenities, dining/drinking options, and the staff. I know many TA posters single out the friendliness and can-do attitude of the staff, but it's true, from management to housecleaning,everyone greets you warmly and is eager to help. Special kudos to Michael the Butler and Sean the Duty Mgr -- the best!Lots of activities changing daily (very impressive big-screen Oscars telecast on the beach), but you can also do nothing but sit out under a tree on the beach. While Secrets is part of a corporate chain (AM Resorts), there's still a nice feeling of local culture -- a very pleasant Jaican vibe. Great stay...we shall return!

Room Tip: Himitsu, the prepared at table style pan-Asian grill,is great fun with a group. Ask for seating with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

It is very pleasing to note that our team was able to exceed your expectations on your recent visit to our resort. I am especially happy that you had the true Secrets Unlimited-Luxury experience that we aim for daily and have only great comments about our food, accommodate, activities and our staff.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back Home.

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This all inclusive is all you ask for! Tons a food, fun, service & that's all you can ask for! Has great rooms, great water , food 24 hours a day & nightlife, shows & very cultural! They cater to you @ all times! Has a casino & shuttles that take you off the resort & bring you back!

Room Tip: Ground level on the beach or the VIP area rooms & pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevash b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
6,173 reviews
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Property: Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Address: Lot 59A | Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing