We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Magical Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had the most amazing 4 day experience at this outstanding establishment!!! Sugar Reef Bar was amazing such great friendly bartenders such as Alvin and our pool drink server Kedeisha was the best and most attentive lady! I would love to go back tomorrow leaving was hard! Romantic.beautiful,friendly people and amazing food and beverages!!! Definitely a place to go you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlybrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Guests’ satisfaction is of utmost importance to us and reading your review does make us feel satisfied to know that our aim was accomplished. We are happy that you had a great time and impressed by the service received from our team members among other areas.

We do take much pride in creating the right environment for a great vacation and will remain committed to doing so for future.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,454 - 4,460 of 6,942 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and myself stayed here from August 11-18 , 2013. We had been to st james side when it had opened originally and have found they are great in the same areas and have done several improvements in many areas. The beach now has more shade umbrellas , jerk cart for lunch and a hamburger shack for snacks and lunch are great!!! The pools are good for the party pools at the 2 swim ups and the other 2 for more peace and quiet for a nap or reading a good book. The wraps at 1 of the day pool restaurant is unique as you customize your own wrap which has many options. We also found the staff friendly, informative and helpful when approached and would go out of there way at times. We would just want to have the facility start a RECYCLING PROGRAM for bottles ASAP. We try to be environmental here and just would be great to do as some other resorts do currently. I was also glad the house band PACE was still there, just wish the young lady could sing more of the songs as she is tremendous , no disrespect to the drummer/ singer.

Room Tip: Wild orchid is closer to restaurant for evening and the nightly entertainment if you like to be clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dumont17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at Secrets for 2 weeks 1 August 2013 we stayed at St James side.

Secrets is a big resort and has two accommodation complexes St James and Wild Orchid. Restaurants, Showtime, Jay vegas, shopping village are all located on Wild Orchid Side and Gym, Spa, Water sports, Tennis and Basketball courts are on St James side.

We were very impressed with our room, view and housekeeping room was very clean. Although we were staying on St James side it is one resort so we could use pool and beaches on Wild Orchid side and vice versa those staying at Wild Orchid side are able to use pool and beach on St James side. We mostly stayed at the pool at St James side as it was near our room. We did enjoy lunch at Wild Orchid poolside restaurant as it was create your own wraps which were delicious.

Overall we were very impressed by the food at the hotel we enjoyed breakfast great selection freshly made pancakes, crepes etc eggs made to order and an omelette station.

Lunchtimes we enjoyed the Barefoot Grill great burgers made to order, self service hot dogs, nachos, Jamaican patties and crisps. Self service soft drinks and Red Stripe too! We enjoyed Oceania create your own wraps and World Cafe buffet lunch had a great selection.

Dont miss the Jerk chicken cart, fresh fruit cart and coconut cart which are available during lunchtime.

We went to the World Cafe for evening dinner for Lobster night and Surf and Turf night we were both very impressed by the selection and very impressed by the desserts.

We tried all the Al Carte restaurants and were happy with the food but our personal favorites were Bordeaux the french restaurant and portofino the Italian restaurant. Dont miss the cooks table at the Hitmitsu restaurant you will be required to make a reservation but definitely worth it.

We ordered room service which we were happy with range of food and service, can recommend the Best Dressed Burger!

We enjoyed the pool bars we mostly used the St James Pool bar great service from all the staff. We enjoyed having a drink at the lobby bar at St James during wet weather and we enjoyed a drink at Wild Orchid lobby bar after dinner before going to showtime. We enjoyed both Marlin and Baracudda bars the swings we are nice touch. There is a piano bar with sing along with Andre and Music lounge which is open to the early hours!

Good range of watersports and very nice staff some non motorised water sports are free. Also daily nature walks and bike tours.

We were both very impressed with the entertainment team they organise pool games through the day evening entertainment. All the entertainment team are very hard working Mello, Megatron, cornflakes, cello, Happy Feet, Sky, Bon Jovi, Fresh Prince and Genius made our stay that bit more memorable. Showtime performances we really enjoyed were Jerry Jackson, Silver Birds Steel Band, Secrets Got Talent and the Circus Night. Well done to the entertainment team who organised a fantastic day for Jamaica Independence Day.

I personally felt the spa was a little expensive but this is often the case at hotels however after coming 3rd at Secrets Got Talent I won a free massage. I was very impressed by the spa staff were very attentive setting was very relaxing. I received a Swedish massage which was very relaxing.

We enjoyed Jay Vegas casino, Coco cafe and games room. Shopping village is a little expensive.

Overall we were very impressed by Secrets all the staff were amazing, very friendly, hardworking and made our holiday.

We definitely plan to visit Jamaica again and will definitely be booking to stay at Secret Resorts during our stay. Yah Mon.

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ela03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We chose the Secrets Wild Orchid for our Honeymoon. Overall the resort was beautiful, staff was very friendly and the food was very good. The beach was by far the best beach I have been to. I loved how you could snorkle around the beach and see so much seal life! The one rock pier we walked out on our last day during the evening had so many different fish just hanging out. TH\he lifeguard on duty, Darren, was very friendly and told us about the different fish that we can see and stated that the protected area to the left of the pier was part of the marine park, which explains all the variety of sea life.
The rooms were very nice and comfortable. We had a Junior ocean view room and they offered us an upgrade to preferred club access, and we decided to give it a try, so for and extra $40/per night we had access to the pool, beach and lounges with computers and free wi-fi. if you do not have this wi-fi is $15/day!! I can honestly say that I did feel that it was kind of unnecessary because no one checked if we were preferred or not! we just walked in and ate the food in the lounge, used the computers and the beach! not one person asked for our preferred card. so, i feel I could have just paid for the wi-fi and just walked in the preferred area for free.
one con about the room is that the divide between the bathroom and bedroom is a sheer curtain! now, i know were married and it doesn't matter, but sometimes you want a little privacy...apparently, it is known to the staff that people do not like that...
All the restaurants were very good except Portofino, for us we just had a bad meal, but the lunch buffet, breakfast, Bordeaux, El Patio, and Himitsu, were all excellent!
For activities on the resort, we only did the bike tour which was a lot of fun, we got to see some of montego bay and the guide too us to the cruise ship dock stores to shop for souvenirs. Other than that we did an off resort excursion to Mayfield Falls which was wonderful!
Again, overall we had a wonderful time and would return again, The staff, I have to say, are probably the most friendly people I have ever had at a resort, they sing and just seem genuinely happy. People were saying that they "expect" tips, but I didn't get that impression. We didn't leave tips, since they are included, and they were fine, at least that is the was I took it....
Also, we booked our tours with Amstar that was in the lobby. We always booked with Nicholene Greene. She was so nice and helpful. On the day of our tour our transportation was 30minutes late and she called to figure out what was happening and within 5 minutes out van was there and somehow it ended up being just us in the van....So, if you have to book anything talk to her!

Room Tip: We stayed in 2423 4th floor Wild Orchid side. Not too loud, only when the beach party was going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rustyjm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon, and I couldn't find a bad thing to say if I tried. We stayed in the preferred club for two weeks. It was heaven. The service was amazing. The activities were great. The staff was very engaging. The food was great everywhere. The amount of food stations throughout the hotel is nice as well. There was a little hors d'oeuvres station in our preffered club bulding, and a minu brekfast with a little bit of almost everything available at the large buffet. We ate at all the restaurants and enjoyed everyone of them. I couldn't pick a favourite because they are all so different. The drinks are great, and delicious not just strong. A huge variety as well. Our honeymoon package included a day at the spa, where we started with a couples scrub, body wrap, and massage, which was amazing!!!!! So nice and romantic, the spa is beautiful as well, really high end. Although it is located on the St. James property. We also came back on a separate day for another portion of the spa retreat for a hydrotherapy circuit. I highly recommend this. In a way it's like a spa playground.You start in a steamroom, then a sauna, then a hot tub, then a freezing cold shower, then a warm rainfall, and so on. It is the craziest body response. To finish off, The excursion choices were nice. The location it felt extremely safe. The beach was amazing. I recommend this for any honeymoon. Various packages and prices. Very worth the money!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloeMortimer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just got back this week and WOW what an awesome place WO is. We were celebrating our 25 anniversary and my husband 50th birthday. We were tossing up between going to Mexico to a secrets or coming here and we are so glad we did. We came to Jamaica 25yrs ago for our honeymoon and only have been back to the island twice. So we knew that we would love it . The people here are amazing!! So friendly and professional especially here and they speak english which is a bonus especially if you have any special requests. We had an amazing time. We do travel a lot to many islands, so we have many things to compare too, and this place is right up there. The room attendants paid extract attention to the fact that it was our 25thanniversary and husband 50th birthday, and made it that much more special. The room attendant even called our room when she off to make sure that i received the item that she picked up while off work to help decorate our room for my husbands birthday, that is really going above and beyond. They gave us a complimentary dinner on the beach and it was so nice. All the staff here always say hi how are you doing from the wait staff, pool attendants. cafe attendants, to the gardeners to all the staff and they are just not saying it they really mean it!! We took a bike tour with Isaac and his co-worker and your can tell Isaac loves his job and his country!! I am not going to go into things that others have already said but here are a few great mentionables "The jerk chicken chart" was so yummy, "fresh coconuts cart" where do you get that and it is all free. The drinks yummy . You never had to fight for a chair! This place really couldn't have done anything better to make it even more special. At one point i saw the gardener cleaning up feathers from the parrots cage and I asked him hey can I have those my Dad ties Flies for fishing and they are perfect. No problem man. The next day he found me in this big complex and gave me another bag with twice as many more. Now that is treating your guest like they are special. Thank you secrets for giving us a wonderful holiday! Please don't believe some of the negative reviews this place is awesome is it 100% no and you should expect it to be because nothing is perfect it but it is petty darn close!!! It is all what you take from it!! We will be back!!

Room Tip: Just relax and enjoy everything at this resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6starrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The service and alcohol were awesome! The breakfast buffet was one of the best I had, definitely check out the Portofino Restaurant. Look for Kedeisha by the poolside, and the Piano Bar by the Desires nightclub. Overall, had a Great experience

Room Tip: Junior suite on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean-Luc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for having selected our resort for your most recent vacation. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here and highlighted the areas and people that had a huge impact. Your feedback is much appreciated and we will continue to work hard so that other guests are impressed as well.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us and be sure to visit again.

Warmest Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
8.8 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,533 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,929 reviews
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.2 mi away
Breathless Montego Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Address: Lot 59A | Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $419 - $1,205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing