We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun vaca!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun vaca!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for a week in August. The resort grounds are beautiful. There is a beautiful patio area with outdoor seating by the water. It's gorgeous at night. We saw sting rays at night swimming near there! This is also where the nightly activies are usually set up. You have access to St. James's pools and restaurants/bars. The main difference from, what I saw, is that St. James is considerably farther from the restaurants than the Wild Orchid.

The resort is only about 20 minutes from the airport which is great! However, Montego Bay is about 1.5 hours from Negril and 2.5 to 3 hours from Ochos Rios. So, unless you want to take a long car trip off the resort, there isn't much to do outside of the resort. We usually like to venture out into the local area for some shopping, but we didn't do that this time. The neighborhood outside of the resort didn't seem to safe or appealing, so we spent the entire week at the resort.

Here are my reviews of some other important parts of the resort:

Food: The good was good, not great. The jerk chicken cart is probably the best food at the resort. There are a bunch of different restaurants. The restaurants are good, but nothing special. The breakfast buffet is great though. Lots of stuff to choose from and omelletes made as you wait. One thing I thought that was odd what that there was no fresh seafood. I expected fresh seafood, but found none at the restaurants. Service is a little slow, but that's not a huge deal.

Bars: There are lots of bars. Some actually have top shelf liquor. Drinks are made strong and yummy! The swing bar is awesome! There are swings to sit on and sip on your drink. They also have bar stools for the non-swingers. The club they have, Desires, has good music for dancing at night.

Beach & Pools: The beach is beautiful. It is a little rocky, however. Nothing terrible or unbearable. The free water activities are great as well. We went kayaking and on the snorkel tour. The pools are good too. The bar at the pool is always nice to have. However, as we got into the weekend and the resort started filling up with people, it grew harder to get seats at the pool and the beach.

Room: I prefer oceanfront views. I asked for oceanfront, but we got an oceanview room. It was set back a little from the beach so that we have a partial oceanview and more of a view of the pool. A lot of rooms have the oceanview rooms and few with an oceanfront. You definitely want to be on the 4th or 5th floor for a good view. The room itself is nice. I asked for a few extra hangers a few times and none came. And room service/turn down service can be a little unreliable.

Activities: They do try to have alot of activities. There are a few different activities daily. However, sometimes the activities don't actually occur. I went to one once and the staff in charge of the event showed up 45 minutes late....


Overall, this was a good vacation!

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor for a decent view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mnk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,127
    1,446
    531
    182
    99
See reviews for
441
4,392
129
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,317)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We traveled to Secrets on our Honeymoon and it really surpassed our expectations. We had a transfer that was included with our package from JTL Tours. The driver of the minibus was helpful and informative. The trip to the resort from the airport was less than 20 minutes, which was awesome! Our room wasn't ready when we arrived to the hotel (we arrived 2 hours before check in time) so we had lunch and came back and our room was ready at that point. Our room had plenty of space in the sleeping area and the bathroom. It was clean and the housekeepers were wonderful. Our room was always spotless and we always had whatever amenities we needed (towels, etc.). We had the breakfast buffet every morning and it had plenty to choose from. For lunch, we actually didn't leave the pool. We had lunch from either the jerk chicken cart or the pool restaurants. The restaurant on the St. James side is more entree-like while the Wild Orchid side had more burgers and wraps. As far as the pool and the beach was concerned, they were clean and it was always easy to find chairs together. The pools can be a little more crowded during the middle of the day, but we still didn't have an issue. We aren't super heavy drinkers, but all of our drinks were good, if not a little strong for me. Some of the bartenders were a little lax in their attitude, but the rest of the staff on the property were fabulous! Always willing to help or answer any questions and just overly very friendly. We also used the gym every day. It isn't huge, but it was enough for us to do our workouts every day. I also did yoga in the afternoons and it was really very nice. We enjoyed the entertainment every evening. The restaurants in the evening were good as well. We had no complaints about the food. We made reservations for the hibachi restaurant, but that was it. There was only one night we had to wait for a table for dinner, and the resort was sold out that evening. One tip, there is a dress code for dinner. They require the men to be in collared shirts, long pants and closed toed shoes to eat indoors. My husband wore nice tshirts with jeans and black shoes and he was never turned away, but they definitely checked depending on how busy they were. Dress shirts not necessary, but polo shirts would work. They weren't as strict with women, I figure they trust us more to dress ourselves appropriately :) We also enjoyed the spa. They have a great hydrotherapy circuit that they reccommend using before your treatment. We had a couples massage and it was very good and very reasonably priced. All in all, we would definitely go back again, alone or with a group of couples.

Room Tip: We chose an oceanview room. We had a balcony and it was wonderful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tigrrrl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I have been to sandals montego bay prior to this stay. We were celebrating our one year anniversary. We found the rooms to be much better than sandals, the food was excellent. The room service menu needs some improvement as well as the barefoot grill needs some other selections like soft pretzels. We liked that at sandals they had a gourmet pizza bar, grille cheese etc. We really enjoyed the food, although a theme each day would be better for lunch at the buffet, lunch tends to get old. Sandals is a no tipping resort ( which we did anyways) they were always very appreciative. We felt that the bartenders and drink runners at the beach were not, therefore we stopped tipping, service was no different. Bartenders were bothered to make drinks, the drinks were extremely weak, or really strong. The beach is a bit rocky. Entertainment was EXXXXCELLENT, the staff was very friendly, especially kiki and dancerboy. We booked through apple and Michelle the apple rep was phenemonal and very helpful. We will def be returning, hopefully with better bartenders next time!!!!!

Room Tip: get a room on wild orchild we had a long walk from st. james
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PEDSNURSE08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My family and I stayed at Secrets Wild orchid for vacation and it was almost perfect. Our rooms were gorgeous and we had the best view of the pools and the ocean. The staff were extremely friendly even speaking to you while passing in the hallways. The specialty drinks were delicious especially at the swimup bar. They also had top shelf like Ciroc and hennesy. The nightly entertainment was also very good. The only thing we didn't really enjoy about the stay was the food. The room service and bar food needed improvement. We we received it, it was barely hot and the meat on the burgers and hot dogs taste different. However, the restaurants that opened at night for dinner were very good. We ate at the habachi grill twice because it was our favorite. We also tried the Jamaican and French restaurants. Last but surely not least, the Jerk chicken chart was excellent. He gives you more than enough serving and jerk sauce. Also he has bread on the cart to make a sandwich if you ask. Overall it was a wonderful experience and we had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was our best trip ever. The service, accommodations, food, entertainment, just to name a few were top notch. We will for sure return again and soon I hope!! I just cannot say enough about how wonderful this Secrets is in Montego Bay. From the time you arrive to the very end of the stay you are in paradise. All the restaurants food was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tepope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Wonderful resort! Just visited on Sept 20-23, 2012. Clean, well maintained, beautiful gardens and views. Stayed in the Preferred rooms looking right out on the bay. Fantastic view both morning and afternoon! Everyone on staff has a great attitude, and jumped to help with any request. Jeffrey, Bell Captain, took care of anything we needed. Donna at the BARracuda bar was amazing, with something new every day and the most fun loving attitude you could imagine. The food was well above average, but I would like to see a bit more options in the dinner menus. Morning buffet was great. Jerk chicken at lunch was also the best. Coffee spot makes a very nice latte first thing in the morning! Evening entertainment was pretty good: beach show, or inside band or DJ. Sat in the square one night and watch movie under the stars. Very relaxing.

It's pretty quiet at the preferred rooms end of the resort, but this is what we wanted. It's also the closest to the majority of the restaurants. It's a long walk from the other end of the resort (St James part).

Overall, we enjoyed this much and can't wait to go back when we have more than 4 days!!

Room Tip: Wild Orchid closer to restaurants, preferred rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diver2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We loved it. The rooms were nice and cool. The property was clean and well kept.
The staff was awesome! Especially Cassie in entertainment, Kareesha in the piano bar, Shelly Ann in the lobby bar, and Alvin & Marvin bar tenders! The food was very good as well. We are p;planning to return as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Upper floors seem quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Normagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
6,175 reviews
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Property: Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Address: Lot 59A | Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing