We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We loved it. The rooms were nice and cool. The property was clean and well kept.
The staff was awesome! Especially Cassie in entertainment, Kareesha in the piano bar, Shelly Ann in the lobby bar, and Alvin & Marvin bar tenders! The food was very good as well. We are p;planning to return as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Upper floors seem quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Normagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,249
    1,469
    548
    186
    100
See reviews for
453
4,509
133
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,383)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Let me begin by saying that I didn't book the vacation until a week & a half before we left. It was recommended by friends that went there for their honeymoon the year before. I looked at several resorts in Montego Bay that were much cheaper, but something always turned me off about them. I finally decided to spend the money and go with Secrets Wild Orchid. I am so glad I did.
To begin, check in was very smooth and quick. No wait at all. We got to our room to find that it was rather warm in there, 25.6 degrees Celcius. We normally keep it 68 degrees at home, so this was the one thing that my husband had to have....good air conditioning. Maintenance came up right away. It was set on AUTO which comes on & off with motion in the room. They set it to ON and it started to cool down very slowly. It was not too cool the first night, but over the next days it did cool down to 20.5 to 21.5 C. The only way that it stayed that cool was to keep the curtains pulled shut and we did not get maid service because they leave the door open to service the room. This prevented the problem, we only had maid service 1 day mid week. That was fine. We stayed in Building 2 which oversees the pool and had a great ocean view! Beautiful sunset there each evening.
The restaurants were wonderful. Service overall was good, but not exceptional at each place. The only restaurant that requires a reservation is the Himitsu, japanese steakhouse type restaurant. It was wonderful. Lionel was our chef, he was entertaining and a great cook. You can eat there without a reservation, but not at the grill, you must order off the menu.
We had plenty of seating at the pool or beach everyday. We usually got to the beach by 930-10am every morning, but the 1 day that we slept really late, there was still seating available at the pool & beach. Choices are not as many as our earlier mornings, but still found a cabana with chairs on the beach. The water at the beach & pool was refreshinly cool, not warm or hot. The only issue with the beach was that it was jellyfish season. They had guys working there that fished out about 20 out of our cove one morning and about 40 at another cove at the resort. I got stung by a jellyfish on the 2nd day, so not much ocean swimming after that. They were huge!!! Larger than a dinner plate!!
Don't miss out on the fresh fruit stand at the beach, or the jerk chicken wagon. They cut open fresh coconuts & pineapple & sugar cane. The chicken is tender & delish!

As for excursions, we went to the Dunns River Falls & Dolphin Cove to swim with dolphins. I highly recommend both! Especially if you are an outdoors person, you will love it. It was also nice to see the countryside on the ride there. After passing some of the other resorts that we didn't book, we are so glad that we booked Secrets Wild Orchid. We would definately stay there again!
Good luck in your search. Do not hesitate to book this resort. It is beautiful and very laid back and relaxing :)

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the St James Side are quieter. Building 2 encircles the pool and has a beautiful sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebikerchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Beautiful resort ... food was good at the French restaurant 'Bordeaux ' the other restaurants were average. Not a very big beach but the water was so clear. The water was also filled with jellyfish. The staff pulled 12 out in an hour. The rooms were very clean and nice very modern. We did the spa one day and there was no guidance and the staff acted as if they were herding cattle not treating someone to the $300 spa day they paid for. That was disappointing because we had such a wonderful experience at the secrets maroma in Mexico. We did the dreamer catamaran and that was awesome loved it had a blast. We stopped by margaritaville on the way back and for two drinks $28.00 kindve insanely priced drinks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlhsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had one of the most memorable holidays in superb surroundings with the most friendly people you could imagine. This was our fifth visit to Jamaica, (first to Secrets, Wild Orchid), following our marriage in 1996. During our recent visit, the accommodation was top class, the choice of food/quality and taste was out of this world, especially the French restaurant which we visited on no fewer than six occasions, including our anniversary meal. The staff were so friendly and attentive and there was plenty of room to be well catered for around the pool area. It was impossible to pick out any individual member of staff as everybody looked out for us daily during our two weeks stay. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return in the future. We were all fanatical once the Olympics started, especially when Usain Bolt was in action. Jamaicans are top people for ensuring you enjoy yourself whilst relaxing on holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophia011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is immaculate! The food is great and in at least 5 different styles. Seafood, Italian, Blue Mountain (Jamaican), American, Mexican, French, Japanese. Gorgeous sunsets. The beach has beds!!! The lounge chairs are great and there were plenty of them. Three pools and all of them were incredibly clean. The rooms were beautiful! Loved the bathtub w/jets!! They showed outside movies in the store area so you could sit back and relax with coffee, cakes and drinks. Play games, shop, this place has it all. Room Service Rocks!!

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view. You will forget the minor upgrade but remember the view forever!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMCM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is great for couples that are looking for a nice and relaxing resort. Don't expect crazy nightlife or shows cause they don't exist at this place. The service is great. I personally really liked being able to order my drinks while lying down on the beach or by the pool without having to actually walk to the bar... That was great!
The rooms are fantastic... Some awesome channels on TV if you know what I mean ;)
The food is great, definitely much better than other resorts I've been to but don't expect crazy, super fancy meals. They look fancy but taste-wise they are only good.
The Jamaican restaurant is one of the best and is a must go. The others are good too so you're winning no matter what choice you make.
Overall I really liked this place. I don't think I would go back though because I need more action at night. So ya...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MetalchicA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beveren, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 14 days in Wild Orchid, preferred club. We had a fantastic vacation.
The thing you have with the people, working there, is that you have 2 different types of people. You have the "fake" people and you have the "real" people. The fake people are people which stay friendly as long as you give them tips, the real people are the people which "really" are friendly and mean it. Examples of the real people: Jeffrey and Joseph (the luggage guys), siging all day, friendly every moment. Donna and Joy (waitresses), always smilling and ready for a well meaned talk. These are examples from people who gives good reputation to Jamaica and the hotel.
But to be honest, the "fake" people are stimulated to be fake day after day to the fact there are certain guests which are giving tips with EVERY order they do. Mostly people which are staying for a short time and throwing with dollars. I think this kind of people could be cheaper of in a not all inclusive hotel. But OK that's their business and their money, but nevertheless it only encourages and motivates the "fake" behaviour.
But enough.... I certainly recommend this hotel to everybody who wants to visit Jamaica. Well organised, clean, good food, good service. One comment is that it is regrettable the 2 "pool" restaurants (Sea food grill and Oceana) are not opened for diner during "low season".
We will certainly come back!!!

Room Tip: I shouldn't recommend to take swim up room. You have less privacy. But certainly book for the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,272 reviews
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.2 mi away
Breathless Montego Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,437 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Property: Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Address: Lot 59A | Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing