We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second trip, better than the first!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Huntington, WV
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Second trip, better than the first!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Last year when we stayed at this resort and there was an error in our reservation. We had paid for the preferred section and they were out of preferred rooms. We were supposedly given all of the "preferred" amenities as well as a free return trip certificate for two for 6 nights, all we had to pay for was the flight. Sounded too good to be true but our return trip ended up being better than the first. Since our first visit a lot of improvements had been made to the resort and the food was better, especially the room service. It's not the best food/drinks in the world, but it's all-inclusive, and better than other all-inclusive we have stayed.

In our opinion, paying for the preferred club was worth it. Amazing view and you receive a bottle of wine, vodka, rum and brandy in our room, as well as peanut m&m and banana chips. There is also a full self-service bar in the preferred club lobby that also has food throughout the day. The food selection is not the best, but if you need a snack and a drink, you can't beat it.

Be sure to check out the jerk cooking classes. We did both the chicken and red snapper class. The red snapper class was much better and was probably one of the best meals we had during our stay. The "lessons" are very drawn out, but great when you need a break from the sun.

Our main compliant was the air conditioner in our room. Didn't seem to work consistently and made for a very warm nights sleep. Other thing is that several of the restaurants require men to wear long pants for dinner. I understand them wanting it to be upscale, but it is HOT in Jamaica. If you wear shorts you will be seated outside, which is usually cooler than the un-air conditioned restaurant.

FYI the restrooms in the room are not very private, not sure why they would use frosted glass for a bathroom door.

On the plus side the room service food was much better this time and quicker. The restaurants food was better as well and they had a new "snack bar" over closer to the St. James side (this is where the cooking classes are two days a wk) which has "American type" snacks and beer on tap that you can serve yourself.

I was also a big fan of the coffee bar, drinks all kind of taste the same, but they are all good : )

Overall we had a great time and I would recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlymu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,181
    1,457
    543
    185
    99
See reviews for
445
4,446
131
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,350)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We booked our honeymoon through Virgin Holidays. They have several hotels on offer for a holiday in Jamaica. This one caught my eye as an adults only resort as we wanted something romantic for our honeymoon. After reading several reviews on this resort and several other ones we decided to go with Secrets as the reviews were overwhelmingly positive and the website looked like paradise!

We were not disappointed when we arrived. The resort looks amazing as soon as you arrive!
We were greeted with a welcome home to Jamaica and were given lots of information on the resort. (this was quite a lot to take in after a 9 hour flight). We were asked if we would like to upgrade to preferred club, however when we asked what the benefits were (a jacuzzi on your balcony and a separate dining area in your room) we decided it was not worth the extra $50 per night. They did not push us to upgrade and were shown to our room. There was a special banner on our door which said we were a honeymoon couple which was a nice touch. The room was very spacious with a very comfortable kingsize bed. The room was kept very clean by housekeeping and almost every night we received a special creation of towel art which was wonderful!

The resort has several pools and beached available for guests to relax on. We mostly spent our time in the Wild Orchid area of the resort as that was where we were staying. There is a great swim up bar in the pool where Eric (the excellent barman) will make you any cocktail you fancy or get you an ice cold Red Stripe beer. If you didn't fancy going in the pool or going up to the bar there were plenty of waitresses patrolling the pool deck to see if you wanted anything to drink. Same goes for the beach, they just come round to you! One day there was even a waiter who made his way into the sea wearing a full suit to hand out shots!!!
For lunch we went either to Oceana, which is in the middle of the pool, where you can get lovely wraps or burgers. (shout out the Alix, a lovely young man who is good for a nice chat while serving your drinks and wraps!!!) Or to Sea grill, which is in the middle of the st. James pool, with a bit more extensive menu).

In the evening there are several great restaurants to choose from. We visited all of them and all were very good! As we had 7 nights in the resort we did visit Himitsu twice, which is the asian restaurant where we booked the show cooking which was soo much fun! 1 night we had a private romantic dinner on the beach. For this we had to pay extra, but it was well worth the money! It was very nice and secluded, romantic with all the candle light and the food was amazing!

After dinner there was different entertainment each evening. We thoroughly enjoyed the silver birds steel drum band which played current songs and danced while they were doing it!
The entertainment team are quite persistent on getting you to join in with the evening entertainment which I did not always like and eventually we ended up staying further in the back of the crowd or arriving later to avoid them which was a bit of a shame but seemed to be the only way as they would not take no for an answer.

Throughout the day there was great entertainment as well. Every day we got a schedule to see all the activities that were going on throughout the day. They ranged from beach volleyball to hermit crab racing and giant Jenga... However if you fancied to just relax in the sun this was a possibility as well as the team did not appear to be a persistent during the day and it was more up to you to approach the activities.

There are also plenty of excursions which can be arranged at the resort or by virgin holidays, such as swimming with dolphins, climbing the dunn's river falls, etc

Overall I would definitely recommend this resort to anybody. We had the most amazing honeymoon!

Tip: Bring mosquito spray!!! they are very much present and even though we sprayed up in the evening we still got several bites! they seem to come out early in the evening (around 5pm!!) and even hang around all night in your room with the fan on!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank texasdave85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I thought this resort was extremely overpriced for the amenities it provided. The rooms were full of bugs (I counted 12 mosquitoes on my bathroom ceiling at one point), the pools were dirty, and the restaurants were only okay. Some were better than others, but I was not impressed. The dress code was vague and not enforced uniformly at all restaurants. I will say that one positive was that the entire staff was EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. Overall, I would not spend this kind of money to return to this resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We just returned from our 7-night trip to the Wild Orchid. First off, all the amenities are shared between St James and Wild Orchid (same pool access, restaurants, bars, shows, everything). BUT, Wild Orchid is much closer to pretty much everything. This has it's ups and downs... If you like to go to bed before midnight, stay on the St James side. Some of the Wild Orchid rooms are literally 100 ft from bars and music stages that can get loud pretty late. If that doesn't bother you, then definitely stay on the Wild Orchid side.

The resort itself was beautiful, and you'll have a hard time finding anything nicer. However, we left the vacation feeling very underwhelmed. Most of the staff just didn't seem happy... we had 1 room service person drop off our food and didn't even say a word to us (awkward!), our toilet lid wasn't properly attached, every time we took a shower it leaked all into the rest of the bathroom, the housekeepers didn't give us shampoo until the last day of our stay (luckily we brought our own), the housekeepers only gave us washcloths twice (and kept taking them the next day), and the housekeepers even left our patio door about 6" open one day after they left!!! Thank goodness nothing was stolen!

The food itself was great, the drinks themselves were great, and the beach was awesome... But we left feeling a little disappointed. This one just didn't stack up to some of the other all inclusive resorts we've stayed at.

We haven't stayed at any other resorts in Jamaica but I'm sure there are better ones than this one.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barr5856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We read really great reviews of Wild Orchid and had decided to book the trip through Costco Travel. We opted for the preferred club suite but there isn't that huge of a difference other than getting some complimentary liquors and snack bar in the lobby of the preferred club wing. I will make this short and sweet:

Amenities/Room:
Room services, maid service were great. They came several times a day to make sure everything was tip top and the room services was very prompt. The room itself was quite luxurious with mahogany furniture and stone floors. It had a Jacuzzi in the room that was pretty sweet too. I would recommend bringing bug spray though.

Activities:
The resort has a lot of things to do all day. The entertainment team really does a great job in providing a variety of activities for all types of people. This includes snorkeling, kayaking, sailing, dancing lessons, yoga, arts and crafts, cooking classes, pool sports, beach sports, and bicycling to name several. Needless to say, they always kept things interesting.

Food:
We are from Los Angeles so you have to take this part of the review with a grain of salt. The food by normal standards is quite good. They offer several restaurant style options which are all decent if you don't live in a large metropolitan area (e.g., LA, NYC, Chicago). Our favorite was more on the lunch side of things. They have several poolside restaurants that served sandwiches and wraps and a beach-side grill that had beef patties, burgers and hot dogs as well as red stripe taps. We found this one to be the most down to earth. In addition, all the beef in Jamaica in grass fed, free range, no hormones. That being said the burgers were pretty tasty. We highly suggest to spread out your meals don't fill up at any one place or you will end up passing out before any of the fun stuff happens at night.

Drink:
What can I say.. all you can drink tropical drinks. Pretty great! We highly recommend checking out the Rendezvous Bar inside the Wild Orchid lobby after 5pm. Alvin, the bartender, is one of the most amazing bartenders we have ever had the pleasure of serving us drinks (don't forget to tip).

If you like coffee they have a great coffee bar too. Also don't forget that Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee is some of the best in the world.

Nightlife:
Again, since we are from Los Angeles its hard to write an objective review. If you expect to go to a really happening nightclub within the compound, prepare to be disappointed. But that's not a bad thing, especially if you want to drink and take part in all the other festivities throughout the duration of the day. They have some cool shows around 9pm going to 10:30 or so after that you can hang out at all of the bars and mingle. They also have some fun games for the guests that really put you in the spotlight and let you win some cool prizes (lots of rum). My wife really enjoyed that part.

The Staff:
All very friendly and really help you out with anything you want. If I could say one thing about the hospitality industry in Jamaica it's that its top notch!

Shopping:
Bring all your supplies from home or expect to pay $25 for a bottle of sunscreen.

Misc:
If you go "Off Campus" and need some souvenirs, we recommend you go to "Tropical Treasures" which is on the Hip Strip. They guy there, Sam, is really nice and caters to the american side of things.

Well I'm sure there is more to write but overall this place was great, we had an awesome time and loved every bit of it. REMEMBER TO SEE ALVIN!

Room Tip: Keep your A/C to really low, as it is very humid and if it gets humid and hot the likely hood of bug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pavel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Secrets Wild Orchid in the Preferred Suites for three nights in May 2012. The hotel grounds are huge, and it is joined to Secrets St. James. The room was nice, but not what I would call 4.5 stars - with fixtures missing and less than clean floors etc. The pools are nice, and the beach is lovely. Service is also very good, with friendly attentive staff at most of the facilities. Leonard pours a mean cocktail at the bar closest to the Preferred Club, but drinks are good all-round.
The most disappointing thing about our stay was the food. For breakfast you are forced to hoard into a buffet with everyone else from both resorts, and the food is sitting around open to the elements (ants and flies) for the morning. The bread isnt fresh, the eggs appear to be powdered, and there are fruits, but only standard fruits such as pineapple and melon (no berries). For lunch you have a choice of wraps, ala carte at St. James or the buffet, and none are very good - we didnt even eat sandwiches because the bread tastes like it is a week old. Dinner was yet another disappointment, the French sub-par, the Italian was Americanised and the Asian was bland. We are not really picky eaters, but we do like nice food - we did not get that at Secrets. If only they would make their own bread, or at least get bread in once a day - it would not be difficult, I'm sure, and for the price of this hotel it was the least we expected.
I could go on and on, but I'll spare you my entire story - If you like being sold things at every turn (i.e. timeshare, spa visits, romantic dinners on the beach), bland stale food and loud Americans, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BVICooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The moment I started looking into this resort for our honeymoon I was on this site all the time, but people write way too much about their vacation and not enough info for future travelers. Heres what you need to know: bring snorkey equipment, by the preferred side there is a beatiful jetty to snorkel and see everything. bring a water camera, its expensive but its more expensive if you forget and decide to buy it there. There is a convenient store!!! we were never told and we didnt find my red bull and M&Ms til the last day! Tip everyone, we just gave $2 or $3 to butlers, waitors, and bartenders everytime they helped up out but it def goes a long way, we brought $100 in 1's and it was def worth it! If you plan on doing any excursions, be prepared there are at least an hour away. we went to swim with dolphins (wear a tight bathing suit!) and climb the waterfall (bring water shoes, cost us$17 each since we didnt!) and it was over an hour!! I was told the Bob Marley museum is about an hour too! We never ventured to the downtown area because we heard mix reviews on how sketchy it was so we decided not to. The rooms are climate control by motion activators so if you sweat at night def bring a little fan, but we just made sure to keep the doors and shades closed most of the day and it stayed very cool in the room. you DONT need bug spray I brought a travel size one and it just took up space never needed it! Kayaks could be the best afternoon activity ever! they dont time you so take them as far out and as long as you want! (throw the guy a $5 and you can stay out for hours!) Def will recommend to friends and family especially honeymooners.

Room Tip: Preferred suite, wild orchid. 1401 overlooks all the night life, so you can dance with your man on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MichelleR939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,225 reviews
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Property: Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Address: Lot 59A | Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing