We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded my expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Just returned from a trip here. We stayed at the preferred section. The staff were very nice for the most part. We decided to leave tips for the person who cleaned our room every day, otherwise no tips were left during our stay and we never felt pressure to leave them. Like others, we did enjoy the jerk chicken cart. Overall, the food was decent and the restaurants have a very tropical upscale design to them. Not spectacular, but it never is at all inclusives in my experience. The pools were clean. The lounges on the beach could use cushions. They do seem to have a bit of an ant problem. We had a few ants in our bathroom and on a bedside table. None on our bed ever though. We didn't complain about it. If you do complain, they will come spray the room for you.

We encountered no Mosquitos, no creepy bugs other than the tiny ants.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and are appropriately tropical. The hotel grounds are very clean. No trash anywhere. While on property, it feels very safe. The rooms are very nice and while not immaculate like you might experience stateside at a luxury resort, they are clean enough.

If this were a hotel in Hawaii, I would have been disappointed mostly because of the ants and the food, but when you are in the third world (or perhaps you consider Jamaica to be second world), you need to temper your expectations a little bit. With that in mind, this hotel greatly exceeded our expectations. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doodah19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,075
    1,434
    523
    180
    99
See reviews for
430
4,344
128
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,289)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We enjoyed this resort very much. The food and wine selection were very very good . Our favorite restaurant was the bordeau for surf and turf. The piano bar by the outside stage was agood time at night and our server was danielle she was very funny and made us laugh . the best bar tenders were at the oceana pool bar good good marc , eric and rodney . we like to thank our very hard working beach waitress oldfield can t wait to go back and get that great service again. Check in was a breeze quick and informative no line up and made sure we were looked after right away thanks to kerry - ann. Morning breakfast was a t the world cafe and the selection was awesome . Many different cheese selection and my husband enjoyed the smoked salmon. The chefs in the morning were always smiling and cheerful. the best waiter was Romiero very energetic and happy . The booze selection was really good top of the line liquors . Bring your dancing shoes for the nightly entertainment and remember to snuggly with the one you love as this is a very romantic atmosphere. This is the place to rekindly your love or start one. Stanely was the day time pineapple guy and at night the MC for nightly entertainment he was a blast really got the crowd going. Make sure to bring water shoe and snorkeling gear as one part on the beach you can snorkel . Saw many star fish , needle nose fish, lion fish , and even a baby sting ray and baby baracoda that was most amazing as you did not have to go off the resort .

Room Tip: we were on second floor and it was good for the view. We we also next to an exit which was great les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise-Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed here Feb. 15 - 20th, 2012

Let me first start saying DO NOT GO HERE. My boyfriend and I have been to several "All Inclusives" over the years, from Jamaica, Mexico and Dominic Rep. Secrets, Sandals, Excellance, Iberostars…etc.
During on arrival and waiting cheer in after told to sit and wait without a greeting, cool towel nor a drink. I finally asked for 1 myself. Did not have our Anniversary noted....response: sorry. During our wait to check in a couple demanded she speak to a Manager.......not a good sign and keeps worst from there.
Got taken to our room.....the key did not work, waited for a replacement. Did not like room, ground floor near pool bar (alot of loud music). Asked to see another room.....key again didn't work.....waited, but also had another 1 to look at 5th floor. Went up there key worked and loved the view (the only thing nice about this place).
After the first night I asked for the ac to be turned down since I was so hot during the night and they are on a “govern”…….2 days later and several request I had to tell them I had a medical condition to get their attention…..10 mins later they were there. (No medical condition: excuses!)
Mini bar is only stocked with beer, soda, juices. No wine, rum....etc.
Entertainment poor, they had a stage only used once, all there shows are LOCALS singing and loud rap music.
OH! Did I say DO NOT GO HERE?!
Got a wakeup call at 8:30 am for no reason and they could not explain why they called.
Food: Average, no lobster like other resorts. Surf n Turf is 2 pcs of shrimp and steak!
Chairs on the beach…..uncomfortable, no cushions. I tried to take a cushion from the chairs pool side to beach chair and was told NO….only for pool side chairs.
Housekeeping….just does the average cleaning, pick up and restocks!
Room Service…..TERRIBLE! Cannot order specialty drinks only wine, first they tell you $15.00 for Chardonnay or Zinfandel……for free you can get the house brand and only 4 glasses at a time. So we finished them and ordered more…..their response “Didn’t you already have 4 tonight?”
My boyfriend went up to the room after breakfast the day prior to us leaving….try the key and guess what did not work! Only 1 central area of elevation for all building. He goes down to the lobby to be told “Oh, we checked you out” After complaining they said how can we help…..he refused help because it’s all word. That night got a call saying we have a bag to be delivered for you with a bottle of red wine. Boyfriend and I do not drink red wine, so he said don’t worry about it…keep it. They did not offer another option or say “What do you like”. It was delivered with a card attached saying “Welcome Home….we were leaving the next day, are you kidding me!
OH! Did I say DO NOT GO HERE!

Room Tip: Do not go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, ON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at Secrets Wild Orchid from Feb 11-18 and it was great from beginning to end. The resort itself was beautiful. Crazy how clean it was indoor and out. There was always something being cleaned. The food was fantastic from the restaurants to the food carts. Our favourite would have to be the Japanese restaurant. We didn't get a chance to visit the Italian or French but I'm sure they were great as well. We went to the spa twice and the services were fantastic. The evening entertainment was the best I've experienced at an all-inclusive resort. The beach party was our favourite.

The room was great, we stayed in the Preferred section but I'm not sure it was worth the money. One of the main selling features was the tub on the deck but unfortunately ours didn't work, they couldn't fix it and the hotel was full so we couldn't move rooms. We had a late check out and used a non-preferred room as a hospitatily room and we decided it would have worked just fine. They did try to sell us the membership thing but as other reviewers have stated we politely declined and that was that.

I have to say what really made our vacation great was the staff. Everyone was very nice and genuine and interested in how we were doing. Some special notes have to go out to Kaye in housekeeping, LaToya in the Japanese restaurant, Clarvon in the Mexican restaurant, Sue in the nightclub, our life guard Michael and Adrian at the Barracuda. They all seemed to go out of their way to make us feel special and remembered us after day one. Secrets - you should be proud to have such exemplary staff.

There is always a negative (not that it impacts our rating) that should be noted. Our experience with the front desk staff at the prefered desk was frustrating. We didn't visit often but when we did it was frustrating and confusing. With all of our other interactions with the staff being so positive we were really confused by the cold, non-chalant attitude we received from them. It wasn't any particular staff member but all that we came into contact with. Mind you check-in was fine but the rest really brought us down. Oh well - perfect is boring!

We would definately return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MabelRye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We just got back from our trip to Jamaica. The weather was awesome and the staff was great. From Stephanie and Nekeshia at Oceana to Marvin and Keno in the lounge bar everyone treated us great. If you go, make sure you find Dwight who operates one of the VIP Taxis out front. He is very friendly and took time to teach us about his homeland, food and culture.

You could not ask for a nicer resort. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The entire property was well kept. We ate at every restaurant and the food was excellent. We had a great vacation and part of the reason we did was because of the people I mentioned above.

When we go back to Jamaica we will be staying at Secrets Wild Orchid.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the third floor facing the ocean. We had a large balcony that was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

I have been to Jamaica 4 times, and to several all-inclusives to many other islands through-out the caribbean and Mexico, and this place is the best i've ever stayed at. The beach is also the best I have ever seen, including better than Hawaii. The staff was very friendly and always willing to serve you. The restuarants are a little strict with the dress code, which some other resorts i've been at haven't been so picky, but for the most part we had good food, including in the buffett. Their was a guy who came around with a jerk chicken cart, that was very well prepared, and another cart with coconut drinks that came around(no charge). We had a preffered room, which i'm not really sure was worth the extra, so when i go back i would probably just go with a standard room, since our friends had that and both were very modern, clean, large rooms, that had lots of ammenties! Granted this resort is fairly new, but i have stayed at other newly opened resorts, and the staff was just spot on here!

Room Tip: The preferred rooms don't really give you that much extra for the extra cost, and the standard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn-Michigan48706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Beginning with the wonderful welcome, the ease of our check in, the luxurious room - we were treated like valued guests our entire stay. The staff appears trained to say "it would be my pleasure" to help with any question you may ask. They are great people and this being our fourth trip to Jamaica, all I can say is it gets better every time. The Jamaicans are wonderful people, and the people working at Secrets are exceptional.
Our room was on the 2nd floor, facing the beach - we loved it. Down a flight and we were on the beach and enjoying the wonderful weather, nice beach and so many sweet, romantic little areas all around the entire property.
The little carts with food (jerk chicken, peanuts, fruit, coconut) traveling the entire beachfront were really special. Another nice touch were the coolers and kayaks filled with ice cold bottled water and soft drinks scattered all over the area.
The restaurants were so nice and the food was good. We ate at the Japanese, French and Italian restaurants during our stay, and I enjoyed each one of them.
The spa is an adventure in itself. From the steam room, sauna, showers, hydrotherapy pool and jacuzzi to the wonderful massage - its a great way to spend a few hours feeling very pampererd.
I went on the guided snorkel from the beach and would suggest wearing a life jacket unless you are a strong swimmer, its a ways to swim if you are not in good shape. Lots of fish, urchins and corals to see and very cool.
All in all, it was another wonderful trip to Jamaica - I can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T-Ree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#10 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,095 reviews
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Property: Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Address: Lot 59A | Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelsforEveryone and Agoda so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing