We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Brand New, Relaxing, No Worries”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We spent four nights at the Preferred Club St. James and would go back in a heartbeat. I know the resort is brand new, but they are getting better everyday. The ONLY issue we had was that they didn't bring our coffee one morning after we ordered from room service. The staff was friendly, the food was good, the service was good. The pools and beach are beautiful and this was a very relaxing vacation without the kids for my husband and me. If you want to socialize, it's easy too. We met many nice people from all over the country and had a great time(s) at the pool bar every day. If you don't want that though, there are plenty of quiet spots away from the party. It was a resort that offered the perfect balance of fun and peace and quiet, you just have to walk a few hundred feet to space it out. If I could give one piece of feedback to the Ops Team it would be to average out the number of nights people stay and rotate your daily pool music so you aren't hearing the same music every day. The Preferred Club at St. James was nice and quiet. We could head down to one of the two pool bars if we wanted some action and there are plenty of activities to choose from if you choose to be active. The spa was very good and if you are a spa guy or gal (like me) you will like the spa. Go at least one hour ahead of time to enjoy the plunge pools and steam room. I would suggest taking your own shampoo and blow dryer if you want to finish your spa session with a nice shower and leave with clean dry hair. If you are looking to get away from work, worries, and need a break from being mommy and daddy for a few days you will not be disappointed in this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,474 - 6,480 of 6,695 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2010

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljblack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Wise2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

The staff as well as most of the other guests were so friendly! Not one of the staff members we encountered was rude or grumpy. Everyone was full of smiles and willing to do whatever he/she could to make your vacation a pleasant one. The service was great. Oral runs the swim up bar at the St. James and he did a fantastic job taking care of us. They are more than happy to make any drink a double! All you have to do is ask.

The food was great. We ate at Bourdeaux, Portofino and Himitsu. Try the filet at the French restaurant. It's quite tasty! The hibachi chef we got basically just cooked the food in front of us, but one of the other hibachi chefs put on a great show and really made it more of a performance in addition to cooking the food. If you want to do the hibachi table, then be sure to make a reservation early. We waited until the morning of the day we wanted the reservation and there were very limited time spaces available. Room service was 24-hour. We got back from Desires around 2am one of the nights and totally ordered two burgers from room service. They were delivered about 1/2 an hour after we ordered them. Nothing like a burger after a night of partying! The room service menu is limited still, but they were working on expanding it and adding items like pizza.

We didn't really see the advantage of being a preferred guest. We stayed at the regular St. James and didn't see or feel like we were missing out on any cool perks by not being a preferred member. The two swim up bars were in the regular St. James and regular Wild Orchid areas, so the preferred members ended up coming over to the regular areas a lot.

We went snorkeling and saw an octopus and two puffer fish. You don't really expect to see such cool sea life so close to the resort. I'd recommend snorkeling if you enjoy that sort of thing. We certainly had fun doing it! Check out the starfish along the ocean by the restaurants. Very cool.

Be sure to get the Sun Dial each morning, which tells you what activities are going on for the day and gives you all the hours of the bars and restaurants. The house band that plays outside by the piano bar was quite entertaining. Desires was also fun if you like to dance. It has more of a club feel to it. It was the perfect next stop after the band finishes playing outside.

Red Stripe and Red Stripe Light are the only beers on tap. You can also get Heineken, but only at certain bars. We mostly stuck to the fruity, tropical drinks, so it didn't bother us at all. It was nice that you could order a drink from one bar/restaurant and just take it with you wherever you went. You didn't have to finish your drink at the restaurant if the band starts playing outside by the piano bar. You can just get up and take it with you.

To sum it up: Friendly people, beautiful pools and beach areas, yummy food and drinks... We had a blast!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TropicalParadise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aja333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pseudoLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
8.7 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
6.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,138 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $358 - $788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing