We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Collinsville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Vacation”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We just returned from our second stay at Secrets St. James in Montego Bay Jamaica. This vacation was one of our best. The resort was beautiful and the staff was amazing! They made the vacation very special for us. Simone Brown was our server for the week (and for our previous stay as well!). She made sure we had everything we needed or wanted ( we were a group of 10). She planned a special day to celebrate one of our birthdays at the beach and even arranged for the talented Oraldo Mullings to sing for the birthday girl. Oraldo and Kerry-Ann Mullings also sang for us at our breakfast buffet! They had amazing vocals and harmony. Alister was our entertainer at the pool. He was quite a commedian and we loved his energy and creativity! We laughed continously at his antics! Blue was another entertainer who we enjoyed very much. The Japanese restaurant was wonderful. Our cook Lionel entertained us while he cooked our delicious meal. We also enjoyed the talented live band. It was a vacation we will never forget.

Room Tip: A front view of the ocean and pool is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,139
    1,350
    483
    142
    111
See reviews for
395
4,300
135
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,330)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambria Heights, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I recently did a quick get away from it all at Secrets St James in Montego Bay. This resort came highly recommended by Douglas Gordon, editor of Ocean Style Magazine (like them on fb!). This all inclusive, adult only resort exceeded our expectations. A very luxurious spacious room with and unforgettable view of the ocean and pool was just the beginning! The dining and food were amazing, you have a number of fantastic restaurants of your choice... I loved the lobster night!!! Premium spirits served at most bars... customer service/staff was impeccable! The day and nightly entertainment was incredible, my husband and I enjoyed ourselves completely. I will definitely be back to Secrets with my husband and also will be planning my "girls trip"... they have the best spa amenities!! Trust me when I tell you... this is the best kept secret around!

Room Tip: We had a second floor ocean/pool view room... we loved it! I really don't think they have a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toonyce7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

From the moment we arrived with a welcoming drink after a long 10 hours flight from Manchester, UK, the staff were so attentive. The place was everything and more. We went on a all inclusive about 7 years ago and we were not happy with the canteen style buffet restaurant, so did quite a bit of research into this resort. We were very happy with the standard and service that we received in all 5 of the restaurants that we visited. The lunch time menu was also very good and the breakfast whilst a buffet, you were seated at a clean table and greeted by singing happy waiters. Had such a good time and will definitely be going back again, soon i hope.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peteandsam20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Secrets St James & Wild Orchard are amazing, amazing resorts. After researching all inclusive resorts for hours and hours, I am so glad I booked this. We definitely recommend visiting and look forward to returning ourselves. Although they are two "separate" hotels, it really all feels like one as the pools and pathways flow together seamlessly. Here's what I would have liked to know when choosing which to stay at...

- St James preferred: stay here if you like relaxation, no trouble getting a seat at the pool (has both a heated and regular pool and hottub), easy access to snacks and drinks throughout the day, closest to the gym, spa, tennis and basketball courts; furthest away from restaurants, piano bar and nighclub
- St James regular: stay here if you want more activities during the day- has a restaurant at the pool and a swim up bar
- Wild Orchard regular- very similar to St James regular, but had more action at the swim up bar (very entertaining bartenders)- Wild Orchard is closer to the restaurants and nightclub than the St James side (although it's all a very short and beautiful walk whereever you stay)
- Wild Orchard preferred- stay here for the swim up rooms, although the pool is very small, best sunset views, closest to the restaurants, piano bar and nightclub- the nightly performances are in this area too. Not sure how the sound carries, but could be loud late at night .

We stayed at St. James preferred and at first I was worried we were too far from the action...but in the end, that was what I loved the most. Our area was relaxing and peaceful, we always got a seat at the pool. And the action was just a few steps away.

Room Tip: First floor rooms run the risk of having the peacocks on your balcony...they're beautiful, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have stayed at 2 different Secrets resorts and both have completely matched my expectations of what a 5 Star resort should be like. Spacious rooms with amazing views. A wide selection of restaurants and bars serving excellent a la carte food and premium brand drinks to ensure you have plenty of choice. First class and friendly service. Secrets St James is a wonderful, relaxing and picturesque resort and you should definitely go.

Room Tip: The Italian restaurant isn't the best but all others are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for having selected our resort as your destination of choice. Excellent service is what we aim to provide and it is very pleasing to read that our facilities and amenities satisfied your expectations.

Your comment about our restaurant options, suite and our friendly service is much appreciated. It is our hope that you will visit us again to enjoy more of what we have to offer. Thanks for sharing your review.

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
191 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We recently honeymooned at Secrets St James in Montego Bay Jamaica. This all inclusive resort was amazing! The room was open/spacious/clean. The resort felt very safe/secure. The food was amazing - especially the Italian place. It was connected to Secrets Wild Orchid and shared two swimming pools a long beach, watersports, etc. We went during September and had beautiful weather. It wasn't too crowded at that time of year; we got beach chairs/towels anywhere we wanted each time we went to the beach. The bay/ocean view was gorgeous - so was the sunset. The water was so close to the hotel which was great. The resort had a shuttle to/from the airport which wasn't too long of a drive, but the scenery was great. We will definitely go back someday!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

It was indeed a pleasure to have hosted you at our resort last year. I am pleased that you enjoyed our resort amenities and facilities and would definitely want to visit again. Thank you for sharing your kind review and we do look forward to welcoming you back for your next planned vacation.

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is my first stay at a more "luxury" all inclusive hotel
Amazing place, amazing staff food and beautiful grounds

The resort is divided in two main hotels; the Secrets St-James and Secrets Wild Orchid
Both have two beaches were one is more for the preferred members, you can still go there and swim of course, same for the St-James
Both hotels share the same restaurants, the food is amazing
you can get from Italian to Caribbean food, ans since I am a sea food lover I was very pleased with the choice

The staff is amazing and I will like to mention some by name if you don't mind
First from the St-James front desk, Tiahna Manderson, great customer service
at the pool bar, Mark and all the staff there.
The two wonderful waitresses for the St-James pool and beach section; Nadine and Kadine
My room lady (housekeeping) Lorna
Allando at the St-James cocktail piano lounge (lobby)
Andrew at the Wild Orchid and all the staff at the El Patio and Blue Mountain (wold cafe)

There you have it, I will definitely return very soon

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eltripo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
13.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing