We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“loved it!!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Went to Jamaica on 26th Dec 2013 for 2 weeks. Originally booked Royalton White Sands which was useless and moved to Secrets St James. Loved everything about it. We upgraded our room and it was great. Restaurants were very good, lots of choice, good food, good service and no waiting more than a couple of mins for a table. The beach was amazing, no shortage of sunbeds either on the beach or by the pool. Drinks served all day. FAB. The staff were all very friendly, Jamaican's have a great sense of humour, lovely people. Have been to Antigua and Barbados but this was better! Have booked to return this New Year but at Secrets Wild Orchid as booked with Virgin and they don't sell Secrets St James. Its just one resort using same restaurants etc, if this NY is a good as last it will be amazing!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,140
    1,351
    484
    142
    111
See reviews for
395
4,303
135
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,331)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2014

For anyone that is trying to decide where to go on their honeymoon, I highly recommend here. They treat you like absolute gold. You get R&R and fun all in one. Food, service, just everything is excellent! The property is absolutely beautiful and very, very well taken care of. The spa is absolutely amazing, highly recommend taking advantage of that. If you can spring the extra few bucks, I would say get a room in the Preferred Club. The amenities that come with it are absolutely worth it. If you can get a Master Suite, you will enjoy the professionalism of some amazing butlers. Dalton and Patrick of St. James are great and tend to everyone of your needs. When everyone says they tend to your needs, they are not kidding. THEY REALLY DO!

The restaurants were absolutely fantastic. The food is great with a wide variety of cuisines to choose from; French, Italian, Japanese/Hibachi, Mexican. You name it they have it.

Overall, this is the best value for anyone willing to spend just a little more. I would definitely recommend booking roundtrip transportation to and from the airport.

In any case, if you decide to go you will not regret it -- prepare to feel at home and like gold!

Room Tip: GO PREFERRED, If you have spring for a master suite, or even the Presidential Suite, DO IT!! you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is a very special place in an amazing location run by a fantastic team of people. We celebrated our anniversary on 1 Feb and we were made to feel very special. The restaurants and and standard of food is exceptional. And it's so nice to be able to choose branded alcoholic drinks.Inclusive wine choices are limited but are quite nice.
Some of the extras are expensive particularly wifi and the spa.
I had expected a more relaxed atmosphere at St James. I understood the party part of the hotel was at Wild Orchid but it crosses both hotels so there's no calming pool, experiences unless you choose to stay in the Preferred part of the building.
My only real criticism is that the beach could be kept cleaner - there's always quite a lot of cigarette butts and the beds are a bit sticky with suntan lotion.

Room Tip: If you want a peaceful place to stay at Secrets stay at the Preferred Club part - it's the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 52Patsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I came to Secrets St. James for our honeymoon Jan 5-11 and it was absolutely incredible! The staff went above and beyond to make our week the vacation/honeymoon that it was and we will speak about this trip for many many years to come with every intention on coming home as soon as possible!
The room was gorgeous and all of the special touches that were added for the honeymoon were very much appreciated.
The resort itself was beautiful! We loved all of the dining and entertaining each day And night!
The food was delicious with an assortment of restaurants to choose from! One of our favorites being Blue mountain for a taste of the Jamaican culture!! Along with the jerk chicken truck that comes through during the day!
The excursions were awesome and we did the off shore snorkeling which was beautiful to see what was beneath the clear blue waters. We also took a catamaran trip over to Margharitaville which was great!!
Everything was amazing from start to finish. From baggage check in to the waiters and waitresses to the dining and entertainment to the staff in the shops and to especially the bar staff! The atmosphere everyone provides for you to enjoy is just so laid back, carefree, and fun!!
I can not put into words how much this island, this staff, and this resort has stolen our hearts!! We will be returning hopefully very soon!!
One Love,
The Dawson's

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megd813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The resort is clean, the rooms are lovely and the location is fantastic. The staff are, for the most part, attentive and helpful. We did not have a "preferred room", but our 5th floor room was central and had a great view of the ocean and pool.

As a world traveler, I found the food average, the complimentary drink selection (especially the wine) poor and the mini bar useless. It was stocked with soft drinks, water and Miller Lite, and nothing we said could get us any other choices.

Many restaurants and cafe's - so the food is plentiful - but the quality needs some work. Our best meals were buffet food on the beach and at the lunch restaurants. The entree's at the restaurants were very average, including our Fillet Mignon and Lobster at Bordeaux. The fillet was chewy and the lobster flavorless. Our best meal was at Portofino (the Italian Restaurant.)

The front desk was sometimes helpful, and sometimes not, depending on who happened to be there. The spa was wonderful, and we had a couples massage which was luxurious. The hydro therapy room was great, I recommend it. We enjoyed complimentary Hobie Cat sailing, and the beach and pool activities are plentiful.

This is a great "party hotel" with lots of daily group activities and night life. As a quieter more mature guest, my focus would be on more consistent service, upgraded dining and wine selections (included in the cost) and free WiFi.

We had a good time, but we will not return to this particular hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main pool can be noisy during the day, but quiet down at night. Preferred Rooms apparen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

St James is a beautiful facility. Wonderful rooms, great food, helpful staff. It is very secluded, if that's what you like, this is the place for you. If you prefer a less private beach with easy access to bars and resturants, you might want to try another resort. We were on Seven Mile Beach for the first part of our trip so the beach at St James seemed claustraphobic in comparison. We've stayed at this Secrets 3 times and I really don't have anything negative to comment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Our first time in Jamaica & our first time at a secrets resort. It was honestly the best all inclusive resort we've ever been to! Great service, great rooms, awesome pool & fun entertainment. From beginning to end we were treated like royalty. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. We had a blast everyday. The rooms were clean & one night for our turn down service we came back to our tub filled with bubble bath and rose petals. Room service was hot & quick. The spa there was top notch. We had a couples massage there and it was honestly one of the nicest spas I've ever been to. Of all the all inclusive vacations we've done, this one tops them all hands down.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
13.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing