We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected in many ways but room for improvement in others”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than expected in many ways but room for improvement in others”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Overall - and for an inclusive resort - met or exceeded all of our expectations. The staff is incredibly helpful - no need went unattended - and the facilities and view (except for the spa) were excellent. Water sports abound and the pool and beach area is so relaxing that we could have spent all of our time there. on the down side - the spa was disappointing - very institutional looking - though the treatment was good. Poor lighting in the rooms and very slippery floors due to humidity issues were downers. The variety and quality of the food was great and we enjoyed all of the bars and restaurants we attended. Overall a very good value and we would recommend to others but don't come if you are expecting 5 star luxe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,194
    1,370
    497
    147
    119
See reviews for
404
4,370
140
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,367)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Wonderful hotel, staff and food, lovely beach and such friendly people! Great snorkelling on the reefs which are close to the beach. lovely warm sea ideal for sipping cocktails in! request a high floor room, lovely views of the ocean and pool. Now just need to win the lottery to go back!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Johnanita2013 C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just stayed at Secret St. James for our Honeymoon from Nov. 4-11. We had an amazing time and weather was great. The people that work there are so nice and always checking to make sure you are having a great time. There is so much to do that you don't ever get bored. The staff at the pool bars made sure we always had a drink if we needed it and were very enthusiastic and seemed to love their jobs which is always nice to see. The activities offered at the pool were pretty fun. We played Minute to Win It and Jeopardy and had a blast. Would definitely recommend this resort to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOhmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed at Secrets St. James from Sep 30th - Nov 7th 2013. Will try to hit on the high points and the few lower points.

We stayed in the preferred section Rm 4323. This was the far right building, and was actually the furthest room to the right on the 3rd floor. Good for privacy, as there was not a room to our right since we were the last one on the floor, but you do not have a view of the preferred club pool. Just some lanscaping and the ocean in front of you, which wasn't that bad at all. For people looking to have a view of both, you will want to be in the rooms more above the preferred club check in area and lounge. Not sure what building number that is, but I'm sure you can request it.

Room was nice and well kept. Three bottles of liquor on the dresser counter. A vodka, appleton rum, and I believe a scotch as well. Fridge underneath had waters, caribe beer, club soda, and some cola soda's as well.

There was a tub on the balcony, it is not a jacuzzi. There are no jets in the tub, it is strictly just to fill with water and use as a soak tub. The tub in the room did have jets, but we didn't use it. Shower size was nice, and included a wall and rain shower.

Bed was soft and comfortable, and AC worked absolutely fine. The daily housekeeping service was done well, and the room was always kept clean with nightly turndown service done as well. Overall, I think the room was nice, but I would put it a step below the Preferred Club Ocean View Swimout Suite that I stayed in at Excellence Riviera Cancun (that room was real nice)

The Preferred Club pool area was great. Clean and well kept. Poolside drink service was pretty good. It seemed as though sometimes they would be around every 10mins, and other times it would be about every 30 - 45 mins...just depending on how many other people at the pool and beach they had to cover. Overall though...I thought they handled it pretty well.

Food - would probably say that the French Restaurant was the best, Asian next, Italian after than, and then the rest...I wouldn't say the food was great, but I would call it good..Definitely didn't have anything to complain about.

Overall...it was a good trip...everybody was nice, and it had good facilities...Please feel free to ask me any questions, and I will try to answer as best as I can....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

After reading a lot of reviews before our trip, there is nothing more I can add to all the others - we agree with all of the positive comments. What surprises me is: where in the heck did the negative ones come from?? My conclusion: the resort is outstanding, and doesn't change. While there were a few hicups, that's life, and the staff did everything possible to correct any small glich ASAP. The difference is in the guests and their expectations. Most probably know that lemonade comes from lemons, but don't understand that they have to make it!!! Sometimes what seems to be a problem, can turn out to be the most memorable part of your trip! I do wish, however, that the spa prices had been a little more reasonable, but that is MY conception, and of course, the spa is a choice. If you choose a massage, Nicholas is excellent. Nordia was our exceptional concierge, and Dr. Phil, Michael, and Richard are great at Manatees bar. It seems that "Secrets" lives up to it's name - most people we talk to has never heard of it. While we would return to Montego Bay, we now want to check out other Secrets Resorts in areas we haven't visited.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konasmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The quick recap:

Airport arrival was a breeze. We did Club Mobay and had private transfers all arranged by
Amy at Dream Makers Vacation Services who was awesome as always.

PRO: Everyone was extremely friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Phillip & Romario at the Manatee bar and Sherese & Simone around the pool were great. Sparks and Megatron were great too!
One of the most comfortable hotel bed's I've ever had so we got three nights of great sleep. Since we can have all the other cuisines at home, we at at Blue Mountain (Jamaicain) three nights in a row. Food was very good and the service was outstanding!
DO NOT miss the jerk chicken cart. It was fantastic for lunch ( and a snack 30 minutes later) every day. The fresh coconuts were great too. Hit up the pool bar for a few shots of coconut rum to make it even better.
Beach drink service was quick and friendly and there was never a problem finding a spot at either the beach or pool. St. James was a few minutes walk from the restaurants which I kind of liked since the grounds are very scenic. I even won $200 in the small casino
while we were cooling off for 10 minutes before our airport pickup.


CON: Very few, but if I must...housekeeping didn't make the room up until late(4-5pm) in the day.The food, while very good, could e inconsistent. Between my wife and I we had goat all three nights at Blue Mountain and it tasted slightly different each night.
The marble floors, while beautiful, can get very slippery after it rains and water gets tracked everywhere. Some more caution signs might be a good idea.

I would go back in a second and have already recommended this resort to family and co-workers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I went to Secrets St.James for the first time 3 years ago and have returned every year since, sometimes twice in the year. We are headed back there tomorrow and can't wait. This resort is an absolute gem.

When you think of an all-inclusive often you may conjure up the idea of not the best food and not the best liquor. Not at Secrets St. James! Here the food is phenomenal with an extremely wide selection - over 7 restaurants to choose from. It is very well presented, and extremely tasty; the liquor is all top shelf. They make amazing cocktails, our favorite being the Jamaican Smile. Also look out for the Jerk Chicken cart that comes around very day by the pools and beach from about 11am - delicious. Also good are the beef patties, the snow-cone cart and the coconut cart. Don't miss these!

The hotel's decor throughout is beautiful, modern and stylish. Everything is kept very clean and well presented.

We always stay on the St. James side (Wild Orchids is really part of the same resort, just across the lobby entrance and that's where you eat), because we find it quieter being a bit further from the restaurants and night life. Just depends what you like. We haven't stayed in the Preferred Club so I can't comment about that, except to say I am not sure it is necessary having read some of the other reviews about it here.

The only downside I would say is having to pay for wifi - it's pretty expensive (around $14.99 a day I think) and you have to go to the business center to sign up. You only get one log in so only one of your party can be logged in at the same time, unless you purchase more than one log in for double the price.

The staff are wonderful. Very friendly and kind. We have made a number of friends there and always look forward to seeing them again every time we go back.

Can't recommend this place more! It's only 15 mins from the airport - another plus. No long drives after a long flight. And Jamaican roads aren't the best so you will appreciate the short trip. We used to take the coach from the airport but have decided we don't like the time you waste having to wait for it to fill up with the other travelers so this time we have booked a private car to pick us up - it's actually not that much more expensive and am sure will be very much worth it.

LOVE this resort!

Room Tip: People tend to recommend a room higher up, we prefer the ones on the ground floor for easy access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tgal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
138 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing