We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We wish everyone could have this experience! We cam back totally relaxed and refreshed. We didn't have to lift a finger the entire time!
The front door men were particulary amazing, and very friendly.
The entire place was kept spotless, the grounds were amazing.
We are definiely going to ba going back...and soon!

Room Tip: We had "ocean front junior suite"...absolutely stunning view!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim and John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

We are more than happy to have shared this experience with you!
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we can’t wait for your return.
Look forward to seeing you.

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,437)
There are newer reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,281 - 4,287 of 6,438 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just outstanding. I cannot understand some negative comments made by some guests. We arrived at the hotel on Feb. 11/13. We were greeted by Shanae Reid. She was a great person. She discovered that we were repeated Secrets guests, from other areas. To our surprise on Feb. 14, Valentine day when returning to our room after dinner, we arrived to discover the Jacuzzi tub was full of hot water, with our room fully decorated with rose petals and a nice bottle of Champagne with two glasses. The service from the employees, the food, entertainment, accommodation,were the best we have ever experienced at any other hotel chains. I also had the pleasure of meeting the General Manager, Emilio Huhn and after telling him about our happiness, he simply commented that the Secrets does everything possible to please their guests and it was quite obvious....I wish to extent a sincere THANKS to all employees. Unfortunately, I don't have all the names to mention but a few Shanae Reid, Omar Black, Damon, Monique, Wayne, Dwayne certainly made our holiday a time that we will never forget. To the management, you certainly need a word of congratulations....You are doing a great job in training the staff and motivating them. We never got the feeling that the service provided was contingent upon receiving a tip. Again, Claudette and I want to express our sincere thanks

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Reno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Guests’ satisfaction is of highest importance to us and reading your review does make us feel fulfilled to know that our aim was accomplished.
It is great we were able to make you happy throughout the entire time of your stay and at the end you were able to say it was the best experience yet.
At Secrets Resorts and Spas our commitment is to make our guests feel at Home.
We look forward to welcoming you back with open arms and big smiles!

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I took my wife down to this wonderful resort for what was supposed to be 5 nights, but was extended to 6 nights, only because we didn't want to go home. I hope our concierge Nadia reads this, because she was wonderful and when I left yesterday got the biggest hug from her, what a love this girl is! She handled the flight changes with Delta and managed to get us a room, no problem mon!!!! I also would recommend the upgrade to preferred status, well worth it for the service and the non-stop buffet in the lobby, great to have coming back from the beach or pool, or for breakfast, if you don't feel like walking to the buffet. You don't me to tell you to not miss the daily jerk chicken cart that comes down the beach every day, but I will any how, it's awesome. The property is beautiful and clean, peacocks roam freely around the grounds. The service, from top to bottom is fantastic, wonderful people, wonderful culture, and as the Jamiacans will tell you "respect mon". Great activities everyday, if you're so inclined, if not just sit back and soak in the sun! Stay with fish dishes at the restaurants, otherwise food is okay.Met a lot of great people and made friends with folks all over the states and Canada. Making plans to go back next year...Nadia, i love you!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in St. James for the quiet, all of the restaurants are around Wild Orchid.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JerseyLonghorn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to write this review and sharing it with us.
Here at Secrets Resorts & Spas, we offer excellent service with fact not only words and we are happy to hear Nadia was able to provide you with this kind of service.

It is great to know that you had a wonderful time here at our resort and you are already making plans to come back next year.

Thanks again for sharing your experience and feedback!

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was by far the best experience I have had while traveling. Most hotels are good enough or really great....but...... There are always a couple things that were just kind of annoying the whole time. Everything about secrets was amazing. The staff was calling me by name by the 2nd day, the food is excellent, when they say "all inclusive" they mean it, the property is clean, the staff is friendly, and there is plenty to keep you entertained. The room was great in almost every way as well. I highly encourage this hotel for anyone traveling to Montego Bay.... Unless you are traveling with children. There are no children allowed. It is amazing! Check it out!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Since I read a lot of reviews on Trip Advisor before selecting our vacation this year I thought I would pay it back by giving my impression of our stay at Secrets - Montego Bay

We had booked a ocean side suite on the St James side as we heard it was the quieter of the two resorts. When we got into the checkin area after a very short drive from the airport ( big plus - private car was only $25 to boot) we could tell that something was up as obviously they had overbooked and there was not a room for us. So I wandered off to get a drink while they sorted it out - when I got back they had to switch us over to the preferred club over at the Wild Orchid which I wasn't that psyched about so we asked to get switched back over the next day and they said they could take care of that for us.

The room and view over in the room was great though and very quiet at night to sleep to and hear the ocean lapping on the beach from the balcony was great so we decided to just stay where we were as all of the restaurants and bars were right outside the front side of the building. Rooms are nice, but a little smaller then other 4 and 5 star resorts we had been to before.

The food is pretty good here (I was an executive chef at a couple of fine dining bistro's a few years back) not over the top great but certainly very edible which is not always the case at all inclusives. As many reviews state the best thing is the Jerk Chicken cart that roams the property for each lunchtime - our mouths would start salivating as the smoke would drift down the beach each day around noon. The sitdown restaraunts were all very decent but I was not impressed with the Japanese Hibachi it definitely was the weakest meal of the trip. Definitely can recommend the Jamaican one and especially the Curried Goat Stew - very good.

The staff all are very friendly as were all the other guests and a major plus to have no kids around - we participated in a lot of the activities and the entertainment staff (especially Happy Feet and Mellow) made sure we had a good time, poker tourneys, pool volleyball, talent show and even won a few bottles of Rum along the way.

The nightlife is definitely early here as most guests and entertainment wound down at 11 or so - so if you are a party until 3 am type this probably isn't the best choice for you. But if you like a nice meal, a few drinks, listen to some good local live music then retire to the room with some fairly top shelf booze this is your joint.

The resort is very secluded which has it's pro's and cons - Pro's being that there aren't any locals hovering over you all day trying to sell trinkets, excursions like most all inclusives in a resort crowded area - Con's being that the beach is man-made that they built into the bay so the long walks down the beach aren't there to be had. Beach is small but nice and the staff serving you drinks in the preferred sections was great. Plenty of chairs so you don't have to do the wake up at dawn to do the towel dance. We generally got down there by 9-10 each day and got two chairs each day.

Upgrading to preferred was worth the extra dough for the quieter beach, great view from the balcony, and the great location to all of the action.

All in all a great escape and definitely worth considering if this resort is on your hitlist!

Room Tip: Preferred club on the Wild Orchid side - near the action but still quiet at night.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chapdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was my 50th Birthday with 12 friends. We had a wonderful time! Friendly staff, rooms clean, terrace view excellent, great bars and the jerk cart was a highlight everyday. Food was ok....planning on going back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jay50th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Been to Negril, first time in Montego Bay. Stayed at Secrets St James in Mobay. While Negril is known for their beaches, SSJ was a great vacation for many reasons, Very clean and upscaled rooms, great room service by Oscar, Great swim up bars with more than generous drinks, great pool staff and large pools. Plenty of chairs at the pool and beach. Very large resort so it takes a little bit to get from one side to another, but what a view. I would absolutely stay here again without reservation.

Room Tip: Really all rooms have ocean view, we stayed pool side and was awesome
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
13.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
8.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,817 reviews
6.6 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#16 of 64 in Montego Bay
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $398 - $800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing