We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secrets St.James Montego Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just returned from this great resort. It lived up to all the reviews I read before traveling. It is close to the airport but very private once you arrive. The rooms are kept updated and very clean. The grounds are maintained and beautiful. The food is very good which is unusual at an all inclusive. A word about packing! The dress code for evening dinner is very strict. If the guys do not have long pants and a shirt with a collar they will be turned away. The women are very dressy in the evening also. I would have packed less shorts/tops and more dresses if I had known. The beach is not wide but very nice and they have a lot of chairs on the beach. As any other resort you need to get down to the beach early and claim your spot! Ther is watercraft that you can use at the beach and was fun! The hotel staff are very friendly and respectful. The only place we did not experience that Jamaican charm was at the check in and check out. Nice enough but not what we saw with the other staff. Overall a Wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at floor 3,4 or 5 for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JAB1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

As a valued guest, your opinion is very important to us and does help us to ensure that we are giving quality service. Thank you for highlighting the many wonderful things you loved about our resort and I can assure you that we will do our best to maintain and make improvements where necessary and possible.

Thanks again for having selected our resort and for sharing your recent experience here. We do hope that you will come again.

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,552 - 4,558 of 6,702 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

This resort is great. I stayed on the Secrets Wild Orchid side which is a little close to night time entertainment and restaurants, but not much. I do recommend Clive transportation, as we only paid $50 for round trip airport transportation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeeMee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest:

We thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience via Trip Advisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and trust that we will have the pleasure to be of service to you on a future visit.

Warmest regards,

Caulette Mornan
Social Networking/eConcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Secrets St. James - Preferred. We absolutely loved our stay. We were HOME! The staff were friendly, courteous, helpful and welcoming. It was a well-received change to comfortably relax without screaming children (and parents) running about.

The room always looked beautiful, especially with the fresh flowers that decorated our bed. The bed? We would graciously return just to sleeeeeeeeeep in that extremely comfortable bed; it was truly perfect!

Being of Jamaica parents, the mere idea of having the opportunity to nyam on some good food excited me. Unfortunately, I'd forgotten that hotels cater to a bland palate, so I was saddened and disappointed by the battered-bammy, the ackee spring rolls, and the jerk-less chicken; however, the grater cake, breadfruit, and cocktail patties made EVERYTHING taste better. Mmm!

We look forward to celebrating future anniversaries at Secrets.

(I'm keeping my fingers crossed that they'll have a smoke-free section to go with their beautiul beach, so non-smokers could enjoy the sweet smell of the ocean breeze without it being tainted by cigarette smoke fumes.... Just a thought. ;-)

Room Tip: Opt for the room service! You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SimoneSimone121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

As a team we do take much pride in the charm that exists among our staff. It is great to know that you appreciated this very much and in a small way it did enhance your stay. Many of our guests often love the sleep quality that they experience so your sentiment is shared by many and which makes us happy. I am happy that you were able to enjoy some of our food selections. We do regret that you did have some disappointment in the culinary department so on that note, we will continue to work at improving on the taste so that all can be pleased.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us and we hope to welcome you Home again for future visits.

Warm Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Overall, we had an enjoyable experience, though a few things rankled: We stayed in Preferred St. James and at check-in we were informed of a breakfast and tour of facilities which would show us other things the chain offered, with "upgrade" packages we could in the future be interested in. It was mandatory to bring and "flash" our credit card ("That's all!") and also a photo ID. We absolutely would not be asked to buy anything. Chalk it up to experience, but once we got marched to the "breakfast" place, it was obvious that we were in for one of those intense sales pitches. This was confirmed by other guests subsequently. We left immediately; back at reception they were unrepentant, insisting that we had no obligation - hello??? Not the point.
Staff: most were friendly, and were were polite, leaving tips when extra appreciative. However, there were a few surly and unsmiling employees, enough to put you off. We paid extra for the Preferred, so expected better-screened personnel.
Beach: beautiful white sand and the water glorious. Photos around the pool show comfy cushions and we expected them on the beach chairs (where we spend most of each day), but were informed that the hard wooden chairs were all they could do for us. One day, after being bounced around from one person to another, including Preferred reception, someone reluctantly brought forth one chair cushion, which I dutifully returned at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Secrets in January. This was our first trip to the Carribean. The grounds of the resort are absolutley immaculate. The beaches were great with plenty of chairs at all times of the day. The check in is a bit annoying, as has been mentioned, but the servicce was great beyond being bothered by the receptionist to go to some free breakfast tour. The rooms were big and nice, with the hotel only being about three years old. We were almost never in our rooms so they did not interest us all that much.

There is a great reef just outside of the swim area that they will take you out on a guided snorkeling tour for free. I highly recommend this if you are interested in snorkeling at all. We paid for another snorkeling tour in Ochos Rios, but the reef by the hotel was much better. One day, we were waling out on the man-made rock peir by the Wild Orchid preferred side, and one of the lifegaurds went into the water and showed us a big jelly (he picked it up!) and handed us starfish and some other wildlife. That is where all the sea creatures can be seen without snorkeling.

The entertainment at night was great. While we were there, they had a steel metal band, a reggae group, and some acrobats. The food howeever, was mediocre at best. We tried four of the five restaurants and we only sort of liked the Jamaican and Italian, although others could not stand the Italian. The jerk chicken cart was great though, as well as the fresh fruit stand out over the lunch hour.

We did get out on a tour, but did not take the time to get into the "real Jamaica," which we only regret a little. The tours are expensive and many attractions are a long way away. We went to Dunn's River Falls, which was amazing, but over two hours away.

Overall, it was a good resort to relax, drink, and be near the ocean away from all the snow and cold up north. I would recommend it if you get a good deal and are not worried about the culinary arts.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimmY38474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My now husband and I stayed here February 11th-February 17th for our honeymoon, and I cannot say enough good things about this resort. I would tell my best friends and family that they MUST stay here if they decide to go to Montego Bay.

We are a young couple and decided to stay here on our honeymoon. The room was extremely luxurious, and very true to the pictures you see online. We stayed on the St. James side, but there is very little difference between St. James and Wild Orchid (which we didn't realize are connected). The beach was private, so you never have people trying to come up to you & sell things. And there are tons of water activities to fill up your day (glass-bottom boat, snorkeling, para-sailing), so if you want to be active...there are lots of opportunities!

The food I would say was the worst part (but I think that is usually the experience with an all-inclusive). I would give the food an 8/10, and we were usually so hungry at the end of each busy day that it tasted just fine! We only did room service one night for dinner & one morning for breakfast, but we HIGHLY recommend room service. It was timely and was very delicious. The facility itself is VERY well maintained. The staff is extremely friendly and they make you feel so welcome and 'at home.' I love to work out and was pleasantly surprised that the workout room was never too full...there was always a machine open and you don't have to wait forever to claim a spot.

The best part about this resort is the location…It took us less than 10 minutes to arrive at the airport once we left Secrets on our last day. The resort is very close to the “Hip Strip,” but still feels secluded, private and safe. We decided on a rainy day to go on the “Shopping Tour” of Montego Bay, and had a great time. It was nice to get out of the resort with a safe group on a safe bus & we were able to see a little bit of the “real” Montego Bay. I highly recommend this tour & it’s the perfect time to get gifts for family and friends.

Overall, we give this resort a 10/10. We both have traveled a lot outside of the country…and Jamaica truly has it all: friendly people, luxurious resorts, beautiful beaches, and wonderful local food. Go as soon as you can!

Room Tip: I preferred the St. James side over Wild Orchid. St. James is closer to the workout area, spa, tenni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at Secrets St.James (Preferred Club) in Montego Bay, Jamaica from January 5th -12th 2013. We had an amazing time at the resort.
The Staff:
Very friendly and helpful. Shout out to Nordia, who provided us with excellent service and helped us switch to a room on the 3 floor with an amazing view. Everyone else at the resort was super friendly, laid-back and always ready to help. We must also mention Marlin (the chef at the Japanese restaurant), very entertaining and prepared a great tasting food. Then Michael, the bell man etc.

The resort:
They thought of everything when they built the resort. The layout is very beautiful. The grounds are always in superb conditions. The beach is beautiful. The sun beds were the most comfortable items on the beach which make you enjoy soaking up the sun or watching the sunsets. The Center Stage is incredible under the stars at night and the shows are very entertaining. St, James is in a more quite area of the resort, which we thought was a great feature to have since it gave us the option to relax when we wanted to stay away from all of the entertainment spots. There is always something happening at the resort, and that includes water sports and activities.

Food & Drinks:
We loved every restaurant we tried, but above all the Italian and the Japanese to us were the best. Room service was also great quality and selection for both breakfast and dinner. The fresh fruits and coconuts offered around lunch time were an incredible treat every day. We thought their seafood in general was a little salty, but we loved their pork meat dishes at every place we tried it. Seaside Grill was great for lunch. Drinks were very delicious.

Tours:
We only did one tour to Negril. Overall it was OK. We thought that stopping at Sandals beach for 3 hours and two shopping locations before going to Rick's Cafe was unnecessary time to waste, but since tourism is Jamaica's main source of income, it makes sense that they would plan the trip that way. Ricks cafe is a very crowded place, but worth watching the sunset. Great pics :)

One little complaint:
Although we were in the preferred section of St.James, towards the end of the week, we noticed that the crowd was getting louder in that area as well, which became a little annoying after people started doing tequila shots in groups. Although every person has their own definition of a good time, we felt that the resort could address this issue by respecting others piece and quite time on the beach by putting up signs or smth of that nature.

Overall, it was a wonderful time and we would definitely go back.
Thank you to everyone at Secrets for making our vacation a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Best Ocean views are on the top two floors at St.James (3rd and 4th)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Niku C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
8.7 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
6.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,147 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $356 - $788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing