We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice resort. Too many conferences at the two hotels. Staff at the resort are great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice resort. Too many conferences at the two hotels. Staff at the resort are great”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Watch out for the misleading sales reps for the Unlimited Vacation Club. Rooms had tons of Mosquitos. Besides these two complaints, the resort is nice. The entertainment is good. The beach is small. Lots of chairs.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRAPINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We are happy that you did select our resort for your most recent vacation. It is great to know that you did enjoy several aspects of our resort very much despite a few nuisances. As we are in a tropical climate, mosquitoes are a natural part of our environment. We do have a daily fogging to try and eliminate them but we do also recommend that guests not leave the sliding door to their room open for extended periods of time as this is the main entry point for the mosquitoes. It is also very good to take insect repellent with you when travelling as well.

Thanks for taking the time to share your brief review with us.

Warm Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,139
    1,350
    483
    142
    111
See reviews for
395
4,300
135
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,330)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We just returned from our stay at Secrets St. James. The resort is beautiful and safe. The staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed Sherece at the St. James Preferred Club Pool Bar. She provided excellent service and took the time to know our names as well.
The rooms are beautiful and very clean. Veronica did an excellent job keeping our room clean, she was friendly and accommodated our schedule.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkbtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We are happy that did give us the opportunity to extend our warm and friendly service to you last month and loved your stay very much. Your praise of our resort overall and your commendation of our staff are greatly appreciated and holds much value to us here.

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have been to Jamaica 4 times in the past 5 years and love Secrets St James the best!! We love Jamaica!! The rooms were great, clean, and a great view. The food was great and the workers were great too!! King Julian is the KING!! This guy can dance!!!! The only down fall that we didn't like is that at some of the resturants men had to wear pants! My husband had $70 pair of shorts that looked nicer than some of the pants some of the guys wore!! Also they were only to wear closed toe shoes and I saw some with sandals on and got in when my husband and his brother had to go back and change into pants. We come to Jamaica to wear shorts. There was actually a lady who had cut off shorts that looked very tacky who was let in those places too. Other than that we will come back for our next vacation to Secret St James!! If you don't like Jamaica or Secret St James than I don't know what you would like! Maybe you need to stay home than!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a great view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went to Secrets St James for our Honeymoon on Sept 10, 2012. Our stay was great! We stayed in the Preffered Club and didn't lack of anything! Rooms were very nice, moderen and clean. The service from everyone was great! We were always well greeted and felt like we were in paradise. There is food and alchool all over the resort!

The italian restaurant was FANTASTIC!!! Alan and the chef Simone were super to us, treated us like king and queen and always had an excelent meal ready for us!

The PianoBar is great night entertainment!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claud86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have been here twice and love it . Very relaxing , great food we were pampered every day we will be going back . Pool and beach and entertainment were great we never left the place . The whole place was very clean .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harleyboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We are glad that you visited our resort once again and enjoyed it just as before. Your review of our food and the relaxing atmosphere provided is greatly appreciated and we do hope that you will continue to visit.

Thanks for sharing!

Warm Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife just returned from a week's vacation at the resort. The hotel, grounds and water are just beautiful. What I will remember most as the best thing is the staff. They all are all smiles and speak to you everytime you see them. They go out of their way to see to your every need. The food is much better than I expected from all inclusive and the many bars served premium alcohol.
I have just two concerns that I would like addressed: (1) I saw and complained about seeing more than one guess placing up to 10 towels and personal items on the lounge chairs early every morning at the main pool hours before they would actually use them. This resulted in no pool front lounges for use by other guess who did not do the same. (2) I did tip my servers a little cash along to show my appreciation and when I needed to change a $50.00 to smaller bills, they told me they had no money. Management should know that this policy hurts the good people that work there.

Room Tip: Avoid ground level rooms as guess walking outside can see inside when you have your drapes open. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just left and we can't wait to go back! We were greeted off the shuttle bus with cold towels and drinks. Weather was 85-86 in January! Such a great break from the winter weather at home.This all inclusive resort has it all. We never left the property, there is so much to do right there. All of the restaurants were good and we found the Jamaican to be the best.
The water is so clear and blue. We also enjoyed the pool and swim-up bar.
Kayaks are free and the glass bottom boat was a small charge. The resort has their own gift shops, however some things were cheaper at the Montego Bay airport.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

It is quite pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the warm weather, beauty and great atmosphere at our resort recently. Your review of our Jamaican restaurant, the Blue Mountain is indeed treasured and we will certainly continue working to ensure that future guests can enjoy this and all our other restaurants equally.

We do hope that you will visit us again and enjoy more of our resort and perhaps explore locations outside our resort walls.

Warm Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
13.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing