We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful All-Inclusive in Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
St. Albert, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Wonderful All-Inclusive in Jamaica”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Secrets St. James is probably the best all-inclusive resort one could find. This relatively new resort is located about fifteen minutes from the airport in Montego Bay, on a peninsula with fantastic views of the ocean and the Jamaican hillside. Check out the photos in the resort website or the ones posted on TripAdvisor for an idea of its beautiful location and facilities.
Our late-afternoon check-in was smooth: the staff made us feel welcome, and provided us with lots of information. Somehow, we signed up to participate in a vacation-club presentation, to be held two days later. As it turned out, the salesmen at the presentation were not high-pressured, and, upon later checking reviews of the club on line, we were glad that we had turned down the opportunity to invest seven to fourteen thousand in this vacation club. We did, of course, appreciate the "gift" for having participated.
Every positive comment that you may have read on TripAdvisor about Secrets is true. The rooms are modern, spacious, and clean. The service is outstanding. The beaches, although not long, are clean (and the water was crystal-clear and warm). The pools with their swim-up bars are relaxing and fun. Five a la carte restaurants (which do not require reservations) provide lots of variety in dining choices. We really appreciated the opportunity to eat outside, especially in the evenings when the weather was always mild, and the lights on the hillside across the bay added to the ambiance. Breakfast and lunch were available at the buffet, where outdoor seating was also available. Three additional grills were open during the day for lunches or light snacks.
Entertainment consisted of shows most nights in the theatre: these we found not to be the best we have seen at resorts, although the two house bands were outstanding. The Piano Bar was always a busy venue in the evenings and a relaxing and entertaining place to end your day (again, with indoor or outdoor seating).
The staff at the resort were wonderful: always friendly and helpful, whether they were serving food in the restaurants, providing bar service on the beach, cleaning the suites and grounds, or providing assistance at the front desk. Being greeted by name by the front desk people through out the week gave us a warm and welcoming feeling.
We would highly recommend Secrets St. James or the adjacent Wild Orchid to anyone wanting the best of a Jamaican holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean-view, but those on the third to fifth floors would be the best. Ocean-front roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RAL46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,198
    1,370
    497
    147
    119
See reviews for
405
4,372
140
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,368)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We traveled from JFK to Montegto Bay from Feb. 18-23. Flights were excellent (Delta going, and Caribbean Air, returning). The only problem was that when we arrived at the Montego Bay airport, so did everyone else, we also heard there was a slowdown of gov't employees, so it took us over 2 hrs to clear Immigration. The resort is a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport, that is good.

We were greeted promptly and very courteously, we were supposed to be in St. James, our room was not ready so they put us on a 5th floor unit in Wild Orchid. We were in room 2505. When you arrive they meet and greet you, give you a drink of your choice, and then try to pitch you on an upgrade to VIP for $50 per person per day, I did not like this, did not want to get a sales pitch when I arrived. Also a sales pitch on a breakfast, we did not do this either. Nor did we do Preferred. For Preferred you get different color towels, perhaps better views of the ocean, others will have to comment on this.

Room: We were on the 5th floor, room 2505, the shower did not work that well, the rain shower part did not come down evenly, and the floor was extremely slippery, we asked for a rubber mat so we would not slip, they delivered this to the room, would recommend hightly because the floor in the shower are extremley slippery when wet. The safe did not work well, we had to have security come to the room to open the safe 3 times during the trip. We did not use the jucuzzi tub. The bathroom had a double sink, and the toilet bowl is separate, but it has a translucent glass, a little weird for me.
Our view from the balcony was a partial view of the water and the grounds, a good view. Suggest you get a high floor, better views. Beds were comfy, a little soft for me, but the wife enjoyed it. Your get the Playboy channel on the tv, free, I will leave it at that.

Food: Some places better than others, overal good, not great. The desserts were just OK, very abundant in variety but not that tasty, we are de-caf drinkers, it was bad, except for coffee bar, which was good, but sometimes out of decaf. The most popular restaurant, due to wait times was Bordeaux, we were very dissapointed. Service was slow and food was bad. We both ordered the red snapper, and had to turn them back, they were cold, the potatoes, and veggie both cold, the new plates that came out were not any better, we were surprised. We liked the Mexican place the best, went there twice, and also the Japanese restaurant, which was OK, but you can do this almost anywhere. Breakfast and lunch were at the World Cafe, buffett style with a good selection. They have more bars than you can count, can get a drink anywhere. I counted 2 swim up bars, we are not big drinkers, but the people at the swimup bars were very happy. The wines at dinner were poor quality. You would have to buy a bottle if you want decent stuff. Plenty of places to snack all day long. Red Stripe beer is on tap.

Facility: Beautiful beach, not a big beach but well kept up, very clean all around. The staff is very friendly, they have some local people selling stuff, but they do not hawk you on the beach, I hate that. Lots of starfish at one end of the resort, very cool. They have a small but modern fitness center, one tennis court, the pro is there on Mon and Fri in the morning and late in the day for a clinic. Also have a basketball court. They have yoga, reggae dancing, and other fitness classes, my wife liked them.

I would probably not come back, too many other places in the world to see first.

Room Tip: choose a high floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My first contact was with Marlene Dixon...I was sold immediately! It was therefore a no brainer when I recommended a friend who also made reservations for his daughter's wedding. Miss Dixon puts the definition in "Superb Customer Service" and very good investment to Secrets being at the forefront of this wonderful resort. Her staff (friendly) did not disappoint as they mirrored her attention to detail and ensuring that the guest was "Special". The food was divine, rooms were very neat and clean, very appealing. I almost did not want to leave the room had there not been so much to see outside those doors and on to the property. The service was superb and I was pleased with every area of my entire stay and would not hesitate to make Secrets my home away from home on my next trip. Thanks to the entire team that made my stay a memorable one!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Secrets St. James was amazing. This was our first trip to this resort and we were not disappointed in the least. When we arrived we were in a first floor room looking at the back of the pool bar. When we said something at the front desk they could not move us that day, but we were assured that the next day they could move somewhere with a nicer view since we had booked an oceanfront room. That evening when were getting ready to go to bed, we had a housekeeping issue in our room. Even though it was after 2am, someone was there to take care of it and first thing the next morning we were given the option of moving to a room in the Preferred building or a room on the 5th floor of our current building. The view from our new room was well worth giving up a Preferred room.

The food was very good. The breakfast options were limited so that started getting a tad bit boring by the end of our trip and the desserts were average, although that is not necessarily bad because we didn't eat as many. Dinner and lunch were always great though and there were plenty of choices. If you want the hibachi make sure you book it the day you get there. We got there on Friday and the first time they had was on Monday. Otherwise you shouldn't even really need reservations. Drinks are plentiful, but some brands aren't always available at all the bars. For example, my wife only likes Bacardi but they only have Bacardi at a few of the bars.

Everyone we ran into there was great and very friendly, but especially Ezekiel out front and Karen at the main bar. Despite all the people that come and go Karen always remembered my wife and I and had drinks waiting for us before we even asked.

We didn't spend much time there, but the pools were nice and the beach was okay if a little small. We spent a lot of time off the property, but there were plenty of things to do at the resort. I even broke down and got my wife and I massages in the spa which was great. In addition to the massage, you also get to make a run through the hydrotherapy circuit (steam rooms, saunas, whirlpool, cold water pool) which was a nice bonus.

My wife and I both had a great time at Secrets we would not hesitate for a second to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeb6294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We were at Secrets St. James on January 21st-25th. It was our 3rd visit. It was wonderful!! The people are amazing, the views are beautiful, the food is great. We met some awesome people that I had been chatting with on Facebook. We all met up at the Piano Bar for drinks. Chocolate Martini!! Make sure you try the jerk chicken.

Great place....Will definitely return!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dalyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

What an awesome place! The rooms are very clean and pretty, up to date and spacious and if you stay in a honeymoon suite, you get an outside jacuzzi and amazing views of the caribbean.
The service is very good and I recommend to upgrade to the Preferred Club, that way you can enjoy a private pool and bar, snacks, premium drinks and private concierge.
Food is very good and you find stuff for any taste. They even have a restaurant right on the beach where you can order wraps if you don't feel like going to the main restaurant.
There's also a lady who each afternoon walks around the hotel with fresh fruits and a guy who offeres jerky chicken. I'd love togo back soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACM_PUJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Recently returned from a week long stay at Secret's St. James. The resort met all of my expectations and was definitely 5 star! The staff were incredibly friendly, the food was excellent, the rooms clean and well appointed. Pool areas were also very nice and the weather was awesome too!

I would definitely return to this resort if I ever return to Jamaica.

Take some US bills to tip the staff - they are too good not to tip them! Bob Marley is an awesome drink but try everything on the menu! We ate at all the restaurants and they were all excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views but I suspect the higher rooms have a better view. We stayed in building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake007Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
138 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing