We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a amazing vacation, look no further! This place is heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you want a amazing vacation, look no further! This place is heaven!”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Secrets St. James in Montego Bay and we loved every minute of it! I will first say that this place was 99% couples, or groups of couples. Everywhere you looked you saw people in love. Because of the time we visited Secrets also about half of these couples were celebrating their honeymoon which made us feel right at home. There were so many wonderful things about this resort that I hope to address in the review.

First thing, we stayed in a junior ocean front suite in the St. James side of the resort. It can be kind of confusing trying to determine the difference between the St. James side and the Wild Orchid side of the resort while you are researching. While we were there you are able to go wherever you like St. James or Wild Orchid. You may go to any pool, any beach, any bar, any restaurant. So it really feels like one big resort. The St. James side is further away from the restaurants, it is about a 5 minute walk max and it is the most beautiful walk. We would have taken that walk regardless of where our room was. We really enjoyed staying in the St. James over Wild Orchid for one big reason. Wild Orchid was more lively at night with shows, restaurants, and late night activities. Which is great if that is where you want to be, but we liked to retire to our quiet room where all you could hear is the waves from the ocean when we were done with the night life. Since

The rooms are amazing. The best is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on! If you want robes in the room just request them with the front desk. We stayed in room 3342 and had amazing views.

Food is also great. Best food either of us has had at a resort before. The best restaurants we thought were the French and the Japanese, though we never had a bad meal. Make a reservation for the Japanese restaurant on your first day. For the other restaurants they are first come first served, the earlier you go, the faster you will sit down to eat. We found that if we went by 7:00 we were seated right away, but if we waited until 8:00 or later their was a long wait at all the restaurants. The mexican and carribean restaurants share time hosting the buffet for dinner, so check the days each one is open for dinner as a speciality restaurant. The mexican place was great. The buffets are also great for breakfast and dinner, they have mimosas waiting for you at the buffet in the morning. The coffee shop is great, great place for a morning coffee or after dinner coffee drink. Leave time for some room service though, that is always fun.

We really enjoyed all the staff at this resort, everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our room was cleaned everyday and we got turn down service every night. The beach is great especially on the St. James side, pool is also wonderful. You don't need to be up with the sun in order to get a chair by the pool either which is nice. On our way to breakfast we grabbed our towels and put them on some chairs to come back to after we ate. Thank you for an amazing honeymoon Secrets, we would love to return again soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrsfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,235
    1,383
    504
    150
    122
See reviews for
414
4,420
140
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,389)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newport news
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The resort was wonderful. Lots of activities to get involved in. The rooms were very,very nice with very comfortable beds.
3 out of 6 nights we didn't receive washcloths even after requesting them from housekeeping.
We had a large group of family &and friends(17) and tried to dine together,but the staff was not accommodating at all. Some of our group were denied entrance to some restaurants due to dress code yet other diners were allowed to eat while having on the same attire--very much a double standard.
There were truly some very good employees that that assisted us throughout our stay. Michelle(Apple Travel) and Devan and Billy Love went above and beyond to assist us whenever they could and left us with some great memories.

Room Tip: All of the guest rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank love043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed at Secrets St. James (non-pc) from July 14-20.

Staff: 5 Stars. All of the staff members we encountered were very professional, friendly, and helpful. The ladies in the lobby were always professional and a pleasure. Room service was always on time and brought with a smile. Waitors/Waitresses were always working hard at the pools, beaches, and restaurants. Housekeeping was excellent and always had our room cleaned for us open returning from the beach/pool for the day. Staff does not except tips, but we did tip for most services.
Room: 5 Stars. The room is as pictured in photos. The soak-in bath is really nice, and we received a robe and slippers which were used daily. There is an umbrella too in the closet; this comes in handy during the afternoon rains.
Pool: 5 stars. We stayed at the St. Jame's pool mainly because it was closer to our room. One side is heated with a swim-up bar and one side is non-heated. Waitresses walk around the pool throughout the day asking if you need drinks. The resort provides rafts, but these sometimes can go quickly. As a suggestion you may want to purchase a cheap raft at home and they can blow it up for you at the resort.
Beach: 3 Stars. The beach is adequate, but nothing special. It's small and the Wild Orchid side is rocky. The beach serves its purpose, but does not compare to other longer/wider beaches I have been to in the Dominican Republic and Mexico.
Spa: 5 Stars. We had a couples massage done with the hydrotherapy circuit. The spa is the nicest I have been to. It's more pricey than at home, but it's something you may want to splurge on for vacation; it will not disappoint.
Entertainment: 4 Stars. The entertainment at this resort is pretty good. The staff really goes out of their way to make you have a good time. Shows we saw ranged from a newlywed game show, singer, silver bird steal band with excellent dancing and circus act. There is also a piano sing-a-long at night with a night club option too.
Food: 2 Stars. Sadly, this is where we felt the resort fell short- way short. The quality of the food is simply not what it should be at a 4 and a half star resort. The breakfast buffet is basic, nothing special. Have been to resort buffets with large selections of smoothies, different flavor pancakes, greek yogurt, lox, etc. The lunch buffet is not better either. The hamburgers, hotdogs, tuna and sandwhiches are like eating cafeteria food. It is a quality issue. We ate at the buffet for dinner one night- it was ok, definately better than breakfast and lunch, but still not that good. We also had the Sea Side grill for lunch a couple of times, which again served up cafeteria quality food. I ordered a club sandwhich that was missing mostly everything stated on the menu, and another time ordered the fried fish sandwhich which would have been tasty if it had more fish in it. Ordered the chicken parmesan at Portofino; the chicken cutlet was tasty, but the sauce was horrible- it was like eating jarred tomato sauce with no flavor. The french restaurant was good however, we had our best meal there. My boyfriend had the lamb and said it was good and I had the beef tenderloin.

Overall, the resort is very nice with wonderful staff. However, based on the poor food quality we would not return. We have been to the Dreams in Punta Cana where the buffet and restaurants were 10x better for much less money! We would visit a Secrets chain again, but not this one based on the food.

Room Tip: The Wild Orchid side is closer to all the restaurants and entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank njk1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Just returned from a week vacation at Secrets St James (not preferred club) and we had an incredible trip. We were a group of 4 (2 couples) in our late 20's. From arrival to departure we were in paradise. Billy Love gave us a very warm welcome, as well as a very exceptional serenade to the wife of our traveling couple, thanks again for everything Billy! Trip was only about 20 mins from the airport. We asked for rooms close to each other and were right down the hall from our friends! The rooms were absolutely amazing. Bed was very comfortable, plenty of options on the tv (including some adult channels....), mini bar was great (stocked almost every day, except 1 or 2, but no problems mon!, plenty of places to get whatever you needed elsewhere). We also called room service one morning to get the mini bar re-stocked to make sure we had lots of road sodas for an excursion and caught the mini bar man on our way out and grabbed a bunch to take with us! Didn't receive the robes but I'm sure if we had asked for them we could have gotten them, I'm not going to the resort to sit in a robe! Beach/pool was great, never had an issue finding somewhere to lay on the lounge chairs and we didn't get out until 11 on some days. Food was great but did fall short in a few areas. Breakfast was awesome, huge buffet with lots of options. Lunch was good, the grills next to the pools were ok but the food was not exceptional, however met our needs. Didn't hit the lunch buffet but I'm sure it was fine, we did get room service some days for lunch and was great! Dinner was really where some fell short, but only because of one or two things. The dinner buffet was ok but we definitely received some under cooked steaks from the guy cooking steaks. This however didn't ruin dinner, just make another trip to the buffet! All of the other places were great, portofino was very good, bordeaux was good, we did the hibatchi and Himtisu and it was awesome, did blue mountain twice and it was great. I could have cooked a better steak at Blue Mountain however the sauces were incredible and made up for what the steak itself lacked, really not horrible steak just not perfect, no problems mon! Definitely hit the jerk chicken man up, it was incredible, get the magic sauce! Desires and the Piano Bar were awesome places to hang, nightly entertainment was great, western dancers were great, steel drums were awesome and the couples game was hilarious! We did two excursions, trip to negril and dolphin cove/dunns river in ocho rios. Both were awesome, cliff jumping at ricks in negril was incredible and swimming with the dolphins was a great time. Dunns river was also a great climb up the falls. The wood carving/painting vendors are only there Wednesday/Friday so if you want something from them make sure you get it one of those nights! I'm not sure where some of the negative reviews came from however you obviously aren't going to please everyone. There were some very minor things, like the missing robes, some dinners (mostly steak related, but nothing major in my mind) that weren't perfect but didn't affect our trip at all. We had an exceptional time! The only real place that I feel the resort could be better was the food but it met our expectations and really only was a miss one or two of the 7 nights we were there. For a group of late 20's couples this was a perfect place to vacation and I would definitely return to Secrets! As far as where to stay between St James and Wild Orchid we all liked St James. Wild Orchid was closer to food/bars/nightly entertainment so that would be the only thing I could speak to for Wild Orchid. Beach area was nicer/ bigger at St James, water activities and daily activities are at the St James side, and the rooms did appear to be a little nicer than Wild Orchid. That pretty much sums it up. Great trip and would certainly return to Secrets(either St James or Wild Orchid).

Room Tip: Room on the 3rd level or above provide the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NEMeansNecessary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We spent 2 weeks for our honeymoon from the 27th June to 11 July and had the best time. We stayed in the Preferred part of the St James. The room was great and had a good view of the ocean and pool. The room was a good size and had good facilites. The food is great with great selection. Only issue is it can get busy at times 7.30pm to... 8.30pm and may have to wait an hour or so, so either get in early of later.
The staff is really where Secrets really come into there own. The Marlin bar has three main staff Joshai, Niron and Eric, the warm atmospere and great surrounding gave us very little reason to use any other bar although you do have a great selection. If you want to feel part of the family look no further, Alvin in the lounge bar was the only barman that made an impact outside of these three.
For evening events the best place to drink is the Piano bar, sit back and relax and let Diandra B and Kadion W look after you, take time to talk to them they are great fun and warm cannot do enough for you. They will be missed as they give you taste of the warmth and passion of Jamaica without leaving the complex for all those that do not feel comfortable to do so or are just looking to have some real rest and relaxation.
We we're lucky enough to have a spa session with couples massage and facial, I would say if you get the chance do this, I have visited spas in London and this experience surpasses anything I have experienced.
In summary I couldn't thank Secrets and the staff mentioned enough for making our honeymoon as memorable as you have. A great first trip to Jamaica, I would use Secrets again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Wild Orchid rooms had good sunset views, however little noisier. The preferred St James is out of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardEllis31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The resort is nice with friendly and helpful staff. We went for my parents 40th Anniversary Vow Renewal Ceremony. There were some problems with my parents room due to unclean bedding and mattress. After speaking with the resort manager Billy Love he did an excellent job of rectifying the situation. Eventhough we experienced these unfortunate circumstances with my parents room, the manager made us want to come back and visit with them again due to his sincere actions and solution to our problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tetedst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This resort is beautiful and the people working there are wonderful. We went for our anniversary and had no complaints at all. The food was good, always a variety. The room was beautiful and the turn down service by Jacqueline was the best. She left us a personal note, how often does that happen? Petal, Simone, Janeek at the Preferred Bar were amazing and we felt so welcome. Clive at breakfast buffet was so wonderful and always welcomed us. Anyone who has a bad review must have stayed somewhere else. We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mpruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing