We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Grandiosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grandiosa Hotel
Ranked #16 of 48 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here one night before heading home from a week in Jamaica.

Great Staff and Excellent location to airport. Very helpful staff.

Renny the owner is very guest oriented and willing to accommodate your request.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 154 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Simple, cozy spot off the main strip. Front desk staff was wonderful. Sometimes the bar closes early. Bar staff is a lil moody and unwelcoming. My friend fell in love with the pineapple chicken. A short walk around the corner and taxi down to the strip is inexpensive about $1, but doubled after midnight. I suggest not using the guys (private charter taxi) parked outside the gate if you want to save money. Be sure to negotiate fare being going with them. Not a bad walk down the hill, but I suggest not trying it on the way back- haha. Try it and you'll see what I mean. Pool was dirty, but they finally cleaned it :) Rooms were clean and simple. The view of the city at night is wonderful from the pool deck or the third floor.

Room Tip: Get and ocean view room. I enjoyed coffee from the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phxgirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Poor and unwelcoming service. No adjoining rooms as requested. Food lousy and not consistent - eggs Benedict served sans ham and hollandaise sauce! No hot water on 3 days of 5 day stay. No assistance given with booking of day yours. Full quota f rom towels not replenished.

Room Tip: Not advisable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had a short stay at Grandiosa in December 2012.It s a simple hotel far from the beach,high up on a hill but with a stunning view.You can go to the beach using the elevator of another nearby hotel which is 10 minutes on foot.The rooms are spacious,clean and the staff is welcome and friendly.Excellent local food and good prices.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a stop over our first and last nights in Montego Bay. I only booked our first night at Grandiosa not knowing what it was going to be like and giving us an option for our last night.
We arrived and was greated by Marcia who can not be any more gracious. She directed us when we ask where to go to eat where the "locals" eat. We went for a walk about 30 min or so down hill (you can cab it but NEGOTIATE!) We went to Fishbones and it was definatly where the locals stop to eat from cabdrivers to women in business clothes. I would recomend the fish soup it was very good. They only serve fish and do not have a menu. It was about 30 us for lunch with a drink.
We also ate at the hotel which was fine. If you have the money for a taxi you may want to venture off property. The room was large and clean with AC, Refridge and American TV! It is not super fancy, it is on the main road and by the airport, but the view is spectacular! We also walked down to the Hip Strip. The walk down is about 45 min, I may have that wrong but it is down hill and easy. On the way back we wanted to take a taxi, well 15 bucks! NO, we walked away and was chased down by car and negotiated 5bucks for the 3 min ride up the hill.
There are many choice for hotels down off hip strip if your into chaos and being constantly badgered by the locals :( That is when we decided that we would stay our last night at Grandiosa. Sometimes you have to weigh out the good and the bad. For us the privacy, view and the attitude of the front desk staff won us over. Our final night we had to ask to move, Grace at the front desk was gracious and went out of her way to thank me for asking to be moved. Her attitiude was if there was something wrong they want to fix it and if they dont know how can they. She said without the guests she has no job and was quick to smile and make it right.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank photoMOMontheGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This Christmas will be our twenth annual visit to Montego Bay. The Grandiosa could not be better. The staff are wonderfully friendly and the rooms are perfect. We are both over seventy and enjoy the safe restful location. We could not ask for anything better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lproom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed one nite at this hotel and I woke up with PAIN in my back. to start off, it is located in the back of everything, not close to anything to eat and to top it all off they will provide you with numbers of eatery places however they do not have menu's for you to look at to attempt to rpice items or what you mite want. When you want to make a call you have to continuously call the front desk to have them connect you to the phone card line. The beds where HARD and very uncomfortable. the HOT water never got HOT or WARM. Took a shower with cool water coming from the HOT temp faucet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PuddaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 63 in Montego Bay
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#38 of 63 in Montego Bay
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#23 of 63 in Montego Bay
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
534 reviews
12.2 mi away
Emerald View Resort
Emerald View Resort
#2 of 48 in Montego Bay
256 reviews
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandiosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandiosa Hotel

Address: 3 Ramparts Close | White Sands Beach, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range: $69 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandiosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandiosa is a beautiful 45 room boutique hotel located in Montego Bay on the hill overlooking the ocean and airport area of Montego Bay. The hotel offers 40 beautifully appointed ocean view and garden view rooms, 5 lovely suites, full service restaurant and bar, conference and banquet facilities and other areas for formal or informal gatherings such as wedding receptions, family reunions, dinners and conferences. Live entertainment is offered during high season. Swimming pool and parking.The guest rooms have 2 double beds or one king with full bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grandiosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Grandiosa Resort
The Jamaica Grandiosa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing