We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It works if you work it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“It works if you work it.”
Reviewed February 18, 2011

If you are looking for 5 star hotel, this is not the place. For example to 2 twins made a king size bed. The hotel itself needs some up keep in the bathroom there is no hot water in the sink, it took 2 days to get the pool clean. On the other hand the waitress name Anakee was awesome and very friendly and helpful. The hotel manager was also very helpful to fix situations, food was good but stay away from the chicken wings. We did the best with situation, the area is full of solicitors can be very intimidating. The landscaping was beautiful if it is your first time to Jamaica its a start also only 5 minutes away from airport pay $15 dont let then get you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flemdog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    61
    68
    36
    34
See reviews for
47
66
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

In a great location in Mo Bay, easy walk to good beaches either private or public. Has nice small bar, great place to meet other travelers. Depending on what you choose breakfast can be included. No lunch, but dinner is well priced. Hey have a great Club sandwich. They will run a tab for the bar and eating, check with the front desk. Everyone there was great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefGeofHolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Doctors Cave Beach Hotel is a landmark hotel....it was also the only hotel open for business on the main hotel strip except for the all inclusive down the road!! It had a great bar and the staff made us feel like family. Definitely for anyone looking for clean, safe place to stay. Very centrally located. Would definitely recommend to anyone on a budget looking for great value in Montego Bay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineday65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

The hotel was located on the "hip strip" in Montego Bay, however, there was nothing hip about this hotel. Although the staff was excellent, the room itself was horrible. The location makes for a busy street, so sleeping was not an option. The room had A/C, except it did not work and I was just uncomfortable the whole time. Even a local, with whom I'm dating, was displeased with the hotel. If you're thirsty or craving for a snack, forget about vending. That doesn't exist. Thankfully a member of the staff was kind enough to walk me to the store next to the hotel. The bar nor the hote'l restaurant was opened until the weekend (Sunday)! What good does that do when I stay during the week but leave on a Sunday. Pay your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetter33647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montego Bay hotels

Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

we moved from a gorgeous 4-star in Ocho Rios to MoBay because we wanted to see some of the real Jamaica. we were disappointed both in the hotel and in Montego Bay.
I would classify DCBH as a 2-star hotel due to its age & facilities. It's right on the street so noise is a major problem (honking cars, thunderous reggae, whooping party-goers).
We had to view 4 rooms before we saw one we'd stay in (make sure you check the a/c is working before you accept the room). Rooms were drab (50's style) but clean & comfortable. Pool is small but clean & new-ish. Breakfast (ours was included) was very poor: inedible sausages, cold tea, soggy bacon & has-been hash-browns. The toast & coffee were good :-) On our second day we wanted the Jamaican Breakfast, but it was off. The omelette was OK. Day Two was waiter-service & took forever: Day One was a don't-help-yourself buffet & still took ages. One evening we came back to the hotel & asked for a pot of tea - not possible, we were told. Go to a nearby hotel, we were told (we probably should have - and not returned...)
We were initially given a room poolside on the ground floor - I had security concerns because the entrance door was the patio door, with a weak lock and no way to jam the sliding door. Also, there were no shears (net curtains), so the room was either viewable by all, or completely darkened by heavy drapes.
Location is good for the Hip Strip (yes, that's what the signposts call this area), and Doctors Cave Beach (which is beautiful but small & US$5/J$450/visit/adult. The beach is private, but has no link to the hotel of the same name). Great snorkelling from the beach to a nearby reef (but the jetsam on the sea floor is appalling, yet so easily cleaned up).
We paid $100/night at DCBH (negotiated down from $112) for a room that really should only have been $60-$70/night. But the hotel that had been recommended to us had closed down! (3 other hotels on the strip had shut - the place is really quite run-down) The whole area is not very kid-friendly (we were forever being asked if we wanted a taxi or a 'smoke' - I wonder what they meant...).
Great Jamaican food at Margaritaville, Pelican & the Pork Pit (rough but good).
Overall, I would not go back to the hotel, but then, I would not go back to Montego Bay - Ocho Rios was better.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2010

FOR a tourist place employees should cut the ugly attitude...save that crap to go home with! especially the night lady security guard that wears black. Jamaica is a beautiful place but i dont recommend this paticular hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serenity48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We had a wonderful time in this Hotel the room was nice and clean, the air conditioning system was super cold the water was hot and staff was very friendly and helpful. It is located on the main strip which gives you access to good eating places and shops....I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyda12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#33 of 63 in Montego Bay
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#25 of 63 in Montego Bay
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#31 of 63 in Montego Bay
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doctors Cave Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Property: Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Address: Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Doctors Cave Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel is centrally located on Gloucester Avenue, locally referred to as the "Hip Strip" because this is where you will find many of the shops, restaurants, beaches and nightlife that Montego Bay has to offer. The hotel is moderately priced and offers clean rooms, friendly staff and all the conveniences of a full service hotel, such as a pool, Jacuzzi and a small fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doctors Cave Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Doctors Cave Beach
Doctors Cave Beach Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing