We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Average priced hotel. Good to stay for one or two nights especially if you plan to spend a lot of time outside.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asiahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 241 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2009

The rooms were very misty and outdated. Not what I expected.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sun_sand_and_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

No frills, clean and friendly, location is excellent to midtown and the airport. Great for a complete getaway from the hassles of every day life. Beach is nice and clean. If you're looking for a resort, not the place to go. We traveled the island and returned before we left the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbwrks29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

The Beach is great but the hotel......hmm.. The beach is sooo beautiful..It was a little crowded though so I planned to go to Portland for Jamaica's Most Beautiful Secluded Beaches. My trip was superb! Because of that I want to share it all with you guys. Check out www.Squidoo.com/jamaicavacations for some great tips and insights on the best beaches and vacation spots in Jamaica.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Have stayed at this hotel twice. The location to Doctor's Cave Beach cannot be beat. Not fancy but adequate for the price. My complaint and warning...I have been getting MANY phone calls on my cell from Jamaica since my visit telling me I have won money, resort stays, a million dollars, etc!! They are from the 876 area code. I do not answer now if I see that area code but they also call and withhold the incoming number. They call at random hours and have cursed at me when I ask them to not call! THE ONLY TIME I GAVE OUT MY NUMBER WAS WHEN I REGISTERED AT THE HOTEL. Beware!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

I thought it was a decent hotel, However, They got a little scam going on & it involves break-ins to the rooms so if you have valuables, you'd better hide them good. When you get home, keep an eye on your charge card, because you just might discover a small miscellaneous charge & then very large ones after your card passed the test. Advise; Pay with a money order.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rozeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Stayed here for a girlie week away over the new years period. Would NEVER return to the hotel again. No record of our booking on arrival. It took five days into our holiday for this to be sorted and we were so worried that we spent a lot on costly phone calls to On The Beach Holidays back home as the reception staff were so unhelpful. We were given a room that was unclean, bugs behind the bed and on the windowsill. Room was dark and smelly. Staff were unhelpful, especially the receoption staff. We did not feel that we were unable to unpack.
Breakfast, althought the coffee was pleasant the wait to be served was awful of a morning. We waited 40 minutes one morning and were continually ignored. Wait most mornings was abot 20-30 minutes even to be presented with a menu. Staff refused to make eye contact with you. My friend asked for milk in her coffee one morning and the waitress rolled her eyes!! Attitude of the staff towards us was shocking with the exception of the Reservations Manager and the Guest Services Manager who seemed to be the only two people who were helpful. We finally got to talk to the General Manager of the hotel only after a very expensive bottle of make up went missing from our hotel room. After he had spoken to the Executive Housekeeper we were told that it had been broken, not by the housekeeping staff but that they had found it broken under the bed. All lies, as we did not break the bottle. We searched the room everywhere and moved out the beds only to find a mass of dead insects at the head of the bed. The General Manager whilst apologetic seemed on automated response and refused to let the hotel pay for the broken (missing!!) make up. So basically he claimed we broke it ourselves. We did not.
The noise from the main road is terrible and whilst it is in close proximity to the very beautiful and clean Doctors Cave Beach its not a good hotel so do not expect a good nights sleep. The noise seemed particularly bad late into the night, which we assumed was when the police presence had gone off shift. As two young women travelling alone. We often felt threatened, and unsafe, even being in the room. Ground floor, flimsy lock, Montego bay and the hip strip, shabby run down, imagine the noise from the road is bad in any of the hotels along the strip. The only nice thing was the lovely beach. Go for the day to see that beach but DO NOT stay at the Doctors cave beach hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank scousemouse30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 64 in Montego Bay
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#30 of 64 in Montego Bay
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#24 of 64 in Montego Bay
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#31 of 64 in Montego Bay
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 64 in Montego Bay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doctors Cave Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Address: Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range: $102 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Doctors Cave Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel is centrally located on Gloucester Avenue, locally referred to as the "Hip Strip" because this is where you will find many of the shops, restaurants, beaches and nightlife that Montego Bay has to offer. The hotel is moderately priced and offers clean rooms, friendly staff and all the conveniences of a full service hotel, such as a pool, Jacuzzi and a small fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doctors Cave Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Doctors Cave Beach
Doctors Cave Beach Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing