We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short stay but no more than 3 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed with my family for 7 nights for Christmas break. Room was small but clean, however, the shower didn't work properly. We did not get hot water for two mornings in a row. After we complained the first time, the staff told us that they would 'restart' the boiler. The TV remote broke 3 times and on the last night, the TV stopped working altogether!
The hip strip isnt what it used to be, a lot of the bars had adult only nights so there was little to no entertainment on the strip or inside the hotel for families. If you have young children, its best to stay at an all inclusive. As this was a last minute trip, we decided to stay there as it was within our budget.
The staff are very friendly and were very kind to my children. We enjoyed the gardens and slept well, even though the A/C unit was very old and noisy, I had to stand on a chair to turn it off as it was not remote controlled. We were given a room at the back of the hotel so we did not hear any street noise. Parking there, however, is awful. The car park holds about 6 cars total and we had to fight to get a parking space. On the last night, we had to plead with the front desk to ask the manager to move his car for us to park as we didn't have a permit to park on the street and would of gotten clamped and towed.
The bartender seemed bored with his job and was a little short when I asked him to make chocolate milkshakes for my children, which he made with ice and milk instead of ice-cream so they did not taste very nice.
The hotel isn't related to the Beach Club, so you have to pay to enter that beach but we found it over crowded and expensive so we went to Cornwall Beach which is a 2 sec walk in the other direction, much cheaper a lot cleaner and better.
The location is excellent, within walking distance of all shops. If you have a car, go for a drive into the town centre and you will find other fast food restaurants if you are sick of Burger King or paying a lot at the restaurants.
The manager was extremely friendly and nice and made our stay comfortable.

I would go back alone for a stop over but not for a long holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Rooms there are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kp19810317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 243 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Rooms are clean
friendly staff
small breakfast included (toast, butter, cheese, jam)
Dr. Cave Beach is not so far (entrance 3-5$)
ambiance wouldn't be enough, that I would like to stay longer than 1-3 nights - not "best hotel ever"

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I'm not big on spending money on expensive hotels. If you're looking for a resort, this is not for you. If you're looking for a place to sleep and go do things away from the hotel, it's great. The hotel was quiet, bar was dead, and the staff was fine. The only things I should note, "free breakfast" is toast and coffee, nothing else. Also, Do not use the hotel's "authorized driver" that the hotel staff recommends. He tried to charge me 40$ to drive down the street. Use a red license plate taxi while visiting Montego and always bargain the price. Bathroom and room was clean. TV, furniture and room was outdated from the 90's, but again clean. There is only WiFi in the lobby. Bar is open until 10PM. The shops nearby are very expensive for food, and trinkets. Staff is friendly and offered advice all the time. The pool is very small, but if you're in Jamaica, go to the beach. There is two beaches you pay to get into. There is two public beaches farther walk away. There is a few restaurants a short walk or cab drive away. If you take a cab from the airport it shouldn't cost more than 10$

Room Tip: There is two kinds, pool side or garden... dont waste money on the pool side, it faces the street an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wojdacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I was on my first ever trip to visit Jamaica alone, middle-aged woman from Canada. Having a small budget for my trip, I wanted a hotel in the centre of Montego Bay, with secure parking for my rental car, at an affordable price. I was fully satisfied with Doctors Cave Beach Hotel. The room was simple but clean and comfortable. Only downside was a noisy air conditioner which I had to shut off to get to sleep. Breakfast was toast, banana bread and coffee or tea. Additions of juice and a few hot items would be great. I felt totally safe and for the price I paid, I felt I got very good value. You should note it is on a busy street, not the beach. All staff were helpful and very pleasant and friendly. I would return if I visited Mo Bay again on the same budget!!

Room Tip: You may wish to listen to the volume of the air conditioner in your room - perhaps I just had an esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 322Josephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I are returning April 2014 for our 3rd visit prior to going to my villa near Round Hill. We feel so at home. The staff remembered us on our second visit this past summer. Perhaps because we are from Nicaragua. Everyone is just plain nice at the hotel. Some have been there 30+ years. Of course it does not have all 'the frills'. I have been coming to Jamaican since 1992. Alway wonderful to return. The location is perfect for strolling around Montego Bay.

Nicaragua folks

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicaraguafolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved staying on the old strip. Much more interesting than the resort area with all the all inclusives. Beautiful beach right across the street, but they do charge to get in. However if you go next door to the Twisted Kilt restaurant, they have a beach entrance that is free right next to it. Many restaurants and bars, and a beautiful beach. Not for the faint of heart or inexperienced traveler, as the locals will badger you to buy stuff. All you have to say is I am good Mon, however and they will leave you alone and are very pleasant folks. The hotel is plain, and no frills, but the price is right and the grounds are beautiful. A great way to do Montego bay on the cheap and see way more than in the resort area

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony in the back away from the street. It has beautiful views of the gardens a...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DAVID R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel is convenient to beach and restaurants. Staff is friendly and accommodating. You are treated like family!! Prices are very reasonable. If you are looking for the excitement and prices of an all inclusive hotel don't come here..this hotel offers ambiance and the staff will arrange tours reservations shopping etc. that aren't offered at the hotel. The service is impeccable.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mydingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#31 of 63 in Montego Bay
83 reviews
0 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#32 of 63 in Montego Bay
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doctors Cave Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Address: Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range: $113 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Doctors Cave Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel is centrally located on Gloucester Avenue, locally referred to as the "Hip Strip" because this is where you will find many of the shops, restaurants, beaches and nightlife that Montego Bay has to offer. The hotel is moderately priced and offers clean rooms, friendly staff and all the conveniences of a full service hotel, such as a pool, Jacuzzi and a small fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Doctors Cave Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Doctors Cave Beach
Doctors Cave Beach Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing