We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Budget hotel right on the strip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Paterson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Budget hotel right on the strip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Definitely one of the older hotels in the area. The rooms need renovating. My bed was very uncomfortable, but the up side is that its right on the famous Hip Strip. Your walking distance to the beach, Aquasol theme park, margaritaville, restaurants, and gaming lounges. So if you don't care where you sleep this is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    58
    63
    33
    34
See reviews for
42
60
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

this property really looks like it was something special in its day! these days though it is very quiet, not many guests staying here and things are very dated. its located on the hip strip which was once a happening place but with most people choosing all- inclusive even that is very quiet which makes you a target on the street. the closest beach is doctors cave across the road but you do have to pay to enter. I thought the staff here were really nice the bed was comfy and the kids loved the pool. I was surprised to get a little breakfast in the morning which was just some toast, coffee and a muffin. would recommend this hotel for an over night stay but probably not for more than a couple days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This used to be an happening property with good food, busy lounge and a mix of guests from around the world. How things change.
Spent 2 nights here at the end of 3 weeks in Jamaica. First impression was how quiet the property was on arrival. Then to the room, old TV with spotty reception, 2 bath towels, no hand towels or face cloths. Down to the dining area for dinner....NO MEALS. Beds could use new pillows. Front desk had mentioned "complimentary" breakfast, some reviewers have indicated that this was a great way to start the day...it is "continental breakfast", toast, muffins banana bread and coffee/juice, banana bread was done when we went down for breakfast and there were hardly any other guests on the property,
Staff are excellent, and always have been at this privately owned (same owners for at least 35 years)property. Location is across from the entrance to Doctors Cave Beach and used to be central but now seems to be somewhat on the fringe of the strip.
Handy for a short stay but a shadow of the past

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HERB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The staff here are lovely, and will do anything to help make your stay more comfortable. They were really accommodating when we turned up wanting an extra night last minute, and pulled strings to make it happen. Literally across the road to Doctors Cave beach, one of the best in Jamaica. Kenny the bar tender is a legend and makes the best rum punch around. The complimentary breakfast is more than enough to set you on your way for the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Genuine_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my Father and Uncle, I in a double and them in a twin. Whilst their room seemed plesent enough, and included a small balcony, I cannot recommend my room, 47, to anyone.

The airconditioning unit sounded like a helicopter ready to take off, the road noise outside made me think I was actually sleeping on the pavement, and the bed and bedding was horrible. And don't even get me started on the cockroaches!

I'm sure this hotel is fine for the one night, as it is close to the airport, but having stayed in my room for most of the stay, I would not go back again in a hurry. I do have to mention how helpful and friendly the reception staff were though - they remembered me and my family and allowed us the pay at the end of our stay, due to not being able to cash travellers checks over the bank holiday weekend.

For location and convienience, stay. But for anything else, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rainbowfish89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montego Bay hotels

Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was actually on the same delayed Virgin flight as the reviewer who posted the review labelled "awful...." and I beg to differ. We were all really tired and cross, so I can understand that fed up passenger was unhappy but this Jamaican style town centre hotel did its best to deliver the famous Jamaican hospitality. We had just spent 3 weeks at Couples San Souci and Couples Swept Away and of course this hotel was not aiming for that level of luxury, but it certainly hit the spot for us.

On our return from the dreadful journey 41 hour home, one of my first actions was to email the hotel directly as follows:

"We were part of the Virgin delayed flight group who arrived at Doctors Cave in the early hours of Thursday morning.

We want to thank you for the gracious and hospitable way we were looked after during our brief stay. Everyone was very frazzled by the delay and had been rather shocked by the offensive and aggressive behaviour of some of our fellow passengers at the airport. Virgin themselves had not managed the situation at all well, and so we were all rather fed up. Your reception were most professional and dealt really well with the ongoing lack of clear leadership from Virgin. The room was clean, cool and very welcome. The lunch was excellent, and the lady food manager was delightful. In summary a difficult delayed exit from your country was turned into a good experience by your hotel.

We would be most grateful if you could pass our thanks on to your team."

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruthjfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We just returned from our vacation in Montego Bay at Doctors Cave Beach Hotel. Had a great time on this trip thanks to the awesome staff at the hotel that were very helpful with planning our activities and making sure that we were comfortable. Our room was cozy and they offered a complimentary continental breakfast at the poolside in the mornings which was a nice bonus. The hotel is small but it has a pool, gym and can't leave out the bar where we had many of (bartender) Kenny's exotic cocktails. Twice during our stay (Tuesday & Saturday) they had a rum punch party with free rum punch which was also a treat. We didn't have to pay a fortune to stay here and we found it an excellent value. We'll be back with friends real soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#26 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#23 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#25 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.9 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#22 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doctors Cave Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Property: Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Address: Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Doctors Cave Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel is centrally located on Gloucester Avenue, locally referred to as the "Hip Strip" because this is where you will find many of the shops, restaurants, beaches and nightlife that Montego Bay has to offer. The hotel is moderately priced and offers clean rooms, friendly staff and all the conveniences of a full service hotel, such as a pool, Jacuzzi and a small fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Doctors Cave Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Doctors Cave Beach
Doctors Cave Beach Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing