We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caribic House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caribic House
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good budget option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2007

Just turned up and booked in. At $50 a night, it seemed to be the cheapest option in town. The all-inclusives were about three times as much and then you're tied to your hotel.

Rooms basic but with en suite and cable TV. Staff very Jamaican - friendly and helpful.

A great budget option bang in the centre of Mobay, just back from the beach.

Also recommend Sean if you want someone reliable to drive you round the island: 583-6190 (reception will be able to find him for you). He's been doing it for years, can suggest places to go and is a safe driver (in a country of deranged ones).

Enjoy,

Tim Stewart, London

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tpsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    26
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
29
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2007

I will start by saying that the last trip to Jamaica we stayed at Sandals...wonderful...but "plastic" and not a true experience. Caribic House was like staying with friends; the rooms were a little worn, but the location is amazing, the cleanliness was beyond reproach (Marva had it smelling spic and span every day) the beds were good and the staff were wonderful and helpful. Get a 3rd floor room; the climb is great, and the view? For 57 per night? are you kidding me? Amazing!!!! When you shop, make sure you stop at hazel Dalley's, just a few doors down...one of the last original shops...what a treasured woman...coffee is on by 730 every morning....and for Jerk pork and chicken...the Pork pit....its the only choice. Have a great time....we sure did.

Curt and Michelle Kemp Regina, Canada

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank CurtK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2006

When I arrived and saw the room in which I was going to stay in I was not happy. The room was so dark with no light coming into it. My friend booked this room for me so I did not know what to expect. I knew it was a budget room but I didn't think it was going to be as bad. So I told them that I wanted another room and didn't care how much it would cost. The room allocated on was the top floor with many stairs in which I had to drag my heavy suitcases and stop every now and again. No one offered to help me after coming from a long flight and in the heat. There was also insects in the room, which I did not like at all. I couldn't wait to leave Caribic House and I would never return. Although some of the rooms did look a lot better than mine, and the view from my room was lovely. The staff were really nice and it was a very good location. At the end of the day you only get what you pay for.

Stayed January 2004
Helpful?
8 Thank sammyrobdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montego Bay hotels

Montreal, canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2006

I have spent the last 11 years going to Montego Bay and staying at Caribic house. It is very simple and basic accomodations but what more do you need than a bed to sleep in, you're out and about for the most part of your day. Absolutely wonderful staff, especially housekeeping.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sara j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2006

I did not really enjoy my stay in Jamaica period, so maybe to some extent that is distort my opinion of this hotel.

The hotel is situated at a good location, the quality of the rooms vary. Best rooms are located on the top floor, the include balconies with views over the sea which is very beautiful. Rooms are of a decent size & are clean, but there were pests and insects in both of the rooms that I stayed in.

The customer service I received was below average and there was no assistance offered to me for help with my luggage into my room. It is difficult to carry all your things up to your room, the narrow flight of stairs.

On the positive though, if you’re a budget traveller then you are affectively getting what you pay for. It is good value for money given the location and facilities. Every room has air conditioning and a television with cable. However, every room does not have a main light source. But they have provided lamps to light the room.

I would not return to this hotel for a variety of reasons, but on the whole it is worth what you pay for it.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank omarlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2006

I was there for my birthday and I must say that it was worth it! I have stayed at an all-inclusive hotel in Montego Bay before and now I wish I would have stayed at the Caribic House! The staff were so nice and friendly. My friend and I would always go downstairs just to conversate and laugh with them. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job to clean our rooms and one of them in particular, she was the sweetest woman and very mannerable. We reserved a room and they end up giving us a balcony view. It was gorgeous. All I can say to end this review is: "If you are looking to spend less and get a decent place to stay with the convenience of nearby clubs, stores, close to dwontown, etc. and with lovely staff, then the Caribic House is the place to be!"

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, N.H.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2006

Though Caribic House may not be high prices and fancy/ rooms are great/staff is like family and the view from the top floor is to die for. Wouldn't stay anyplace else and have been returning year after year.
Best place on my list and I have stayed fancy and not so in all the years I have been going...#1 choice pricewise and safety....

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mstourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#36 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Montego Bay Club Resort
Montego Bay Club Resort
#32 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#30 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Verney's Tropical Resort
Verney's Tropical Resort
#44 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribic House

Property: Caribic House
Address: 69 Gloucester Ave, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caribic House 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Caribic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribic House Hotel Montego Bay
Caribic Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing