We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing !!”
Review of Martha Brae River

Martha Brae River
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Martha Brae River Rafting Ocho Rios and Runaway Bay
Ranked #3 of 74 things to do in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing !!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Booked directly through their website, their bus picked us up at our resort, and dropped us off. Nice clean bus.

11/2 hours floating down a river, with guidance from "Jimmy River boat captain #72", educational, funny, relaxing. We came away with a real feel for the Jamaican Culture.

Great photo ops too.

Do the river, ask for Jimmy !!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidCarolyn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    358
    98
    20
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Batesville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So Beautiful”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had a great time on this raft excursion. The river is very peaceful and calm, and your guide will usually tell you a lot about the area. The water is beautiful, and the scenery is amazing. Almonds were falling from trees. You can stop along the river and buy the Red Stripe beer and other types of beer. The Jamaicans are very pushy when they want you to buy things. They sailed these boats out to us and then got mad at us because they thought we weren't going to pay for them because we did not have money out right away. We just laughed at the very different culture.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Teacheroftigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Experience”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My wife and I took the raft ride on January 27 and thoroughly enjoyed the 45 minute ride. Our raft captain was Clyde who said he had been doing this for 40 years made the trip extra special with his insight and humor. Even let me take the pole and have my moment as a raft captain on the Martha Brae.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JOE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing attraction”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is the cutest little rafting excursion I have been on. It is about 45 minutes for the ride and you sit on a chair while the raft captain takes you down the river. I went with my best friend, but it would be so romantic as a couple. We joked and said we want to come back with our husbands when we get married.

Overall the ride is just peaceful and beautiful. You are in the middle of the jungle essentially. Be careful and use bug spray. We both got bitten badly. Please make sure to bring cash for the tip and the raft captain makes really cool cups and bowls handmade, so if we had enough cash, we would have bought a cup for $5.

If you want to see other excursions that we did in Jamaica, feel free to take a look here.
http://livelaughloveandshop.wordpress.com/2014/01/23/5-reasons-to-book-a-flight-to-jamaica/

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exhilarating”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Extremely relaxing and interesting experience. We go there each time we are in Jamaica & love it. Would highly recommend travellers to Jamaica to go there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FRus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha Brae River also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Martha Brae River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing