We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing/Tranquil”
Review of Martha Brae River

Martha Brae River
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Martha Brae River Rafting Ocho Rios and Runaway Bay
More Info
$225.00*
and up
Private Dunn's River Falls and Martha Brae River Rafting Tour from Negril
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Martha Brae Rafting and Luminous Lagoon Tour
Ranked #3 of 75 things to do in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canton, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing/Tranquil”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just returned from cruise 3/3/13. Chose the Martha Brae River Rafting. We had been to Jamaica before and did the Falls wanted something different. This is a beautiful place very relaxing you float down the river on a bamboo raft with a tour guide, our guide was Peter. you travel approximately 3.5 miles down river. They build their own rafts and maintain them, as we went down the river Peter pointed out the different plants, Almond Trees, Bananna, Plantain, Bread Fruit (sp?), Mangos, Bamboo, Cane. Gave a lot of history of the surroundings. The River is beautiful, canopied by trees. You can hear the Parrots and different birds. Just a relaxing time.

I had actually forgotten a swimsuit (imagine that), thought I would be able to get one on the boat. Nope, so we wanted something not requiring water. This was alot of fun. You do not get wet. Very beautiful, nice photo ops.

Most of the guides make carvings out of the Bread Fruit - They scoop out all the fruit and make beautiful carvings around the outside. All different sizes and shapes-you do not have to buy one, but they do show them and you'll want this keepsake. After the river trip we still had time to stop and shop (I found a swimsuite) and grab a bite to eat. (Lunch is not included)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    363
    102
    20
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing. A sight to see”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

You get a chance to relax, unwind and take in the simple pleasures in life. Our tour guide Captain Sewel was so knowledgeable about the river the grounds, plants and things that were growing there in the area. We left there with an appreciation for the things there even more
He also makes beautiful carvings with wood.

Helpful?
1 Thank riv147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Raft trip”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a great, relaxing tour to take down a slow river. Our guide Peter was very knowledgable about the wildlife and plant life along the river, as well as the history of the region. We would definitely do this again--it is only about a half hour from Montego Bay.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank transcriber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Martha Brae River Rafting”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband was allowed to guide the raft the entire trip!! Sale pressure to buy souvenirs was low keyed compared to Ocho Rios experience last week off a cruise.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannelef7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everson, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Relaxing, Fun! Great excursion!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We chose to go on this excursion purchased through our cruise ship. We were so glad we did. It was well worth the money. The time on the river was about
1 1/2 hrs. It was very gentle and relaxing. The guides are very friendly. They are also very informative about the different types of plants & trees growing along the river, and tell a lot of history spiced up with stories. There was time beforehand to walk around the gardens & browse through the gift shops. The Jerk lunch that was included was fabulous.

Helpful?
3 Thank The1Nanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha Brae River also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Martha Brae River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing