We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing part of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Martha Brae River

Martha Brae River
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Martha Brae River Rafting From Montego Bay
Ranked #3 of 74 things to do in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Most relaxing part of our trip!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived early on a Tuesday, armed with bug spray. The bugs didn't show up and we had the river to ourselves. Our raft captain Joseph was amazingly peaceful and gave us a relaxing trip down the Martha Brae. It was seriously unreal! This is an unparalleled experience - even a gondola ride in Venice wasn't as good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Missastar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    353
    96
    19
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“relaxing”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

relaxing trip but dont like being hassled whilst on the raft to buy tat. trip only lasts a couple of hours so dont really think its value for money

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaxmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a perfect and relaxing outing.”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Cleve, our raft captain made our rafting adventure so much fun. You have to try it; it is awesome. You can jump off and swim in the river or stay aboard the raft and chat with the raft captain, play music, or just enjoy the sites on the river. Awesome!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MsDoll1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Become mosquito fodder and see little”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Sounds nice, drifting on a (waterlogged) bamboo raft down a river but the hype does not meet up to reality.

Yes for a stonking $60 per raft not negotiable (remember to book it from your hotel as THEY then provide the taxi transport to the start which is halfway up a hill) you get steered down a 25ft wide green and sludgy stream under a few bamboo and other trees.

The bugs will enjoy your visit so spray up. It is relaxing because there is absolutely nothing to do for 30 minutes except to refuse the bad handicrafts your poleman tries to sell to you.Scenery nil, birdlife is also somewhat light unless you thrill at the ubiquitpus cattle egret, traffic noise and road parallels almost 70% of this "idyll" which is reusing the sugar cane transporters from a byegone era.

Go if you are bored and want to splash the cash. Expensive.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank ossimandus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice rafting experience”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very relaxing raft ride. I tipped raft operator at the end 10.00 and when I gave it to him, he said give me 30.00. So watch out for greedy raft operators.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Love1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha Brae River also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Martha Brae River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing