We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Adventure”
Review of Martha Brae River

Martha Brae River
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Martha Brae River Rafting Ocho Rios and Runaway Bay
More Info
$225.00*
and up
Private Dunn's River Falls and Martha Brae River Rafting Tour from Negril
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Martha Brae Rafting and Luminous Lagoon Tour
Ranked #3 of 74 things to do in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Marblehead, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Adventure”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This was something I would consider a "must" if going to Montego Bay area. It was Beautiful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank caicos05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    849
    368
    102
    21
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tranquility!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

drifting down the river in beautiful surroundings. Downside is rafters try to sell you carved ornaments. we bought one of them for 10 dollars. dont pay more one of our party paid 50 dollars - rip off.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I Enjoyed this Experience!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

A leisurely, tour down a lazy river, on a bamboo raft. What's not to like? Our guide, Wayne did a beautiful job. If I were to go again, I'd request him. He stopped along the way, pointing out bird and plant life. We were lucky enough to go late in the day, so most of the vendors who set up along the river bank (roadside) had packed up and gone home. Only a couple were there, inviting us for a cool drink or to view their souvenirs. Any more vendors would have detracted from the languor of the ride. If we'd had more time, I'd have stopped for fresh coconut water enroute. I knew that the guide would have some crafts to show us and I opted to wait and buy something from him. Each guide makes his own raft and must work in a rotation, unless requested by name. While waiting for a customer, they carve designs out of gourds – they are really quite beautiful. I liked that Wayne presented a calm, peaceful demeanor which fit perfectly with the easy ride and the spirit of the river.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladywanderlust_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Very relaxing! Just sit back in the cool water (or swim like I do) beside your raft, bride and captain

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank halldw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing rafting trip”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Had a lot of fun rafting here. My husband and I enjoyed. Not expensive. Very relaxing.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank LizbarToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha Brae River also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Martha Brae River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing