We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a little whole in the wall.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scotchies

Scotchies
Ranked #1 of 129 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Capitol Heights, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was a little whole in the wall.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Back in the states this is what we call it, it was a little out of the way Bar & Grill food was great, the property very well kept, the staff was wonderful, it was a nice spot after a day of touring or beach hoping you could relax and take it all in... Definitely recommend!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SERITA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,604
    632
    168
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely authentic...watch out for the sauce”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Well, the food is definitely great as advertised. My family and I enjoyed the Caribbean atmosphere, and the delicious smoke smell of the meats in the background. Then you see the guys behind the counter cutting up chicken, ribs, pork, and then you know that you have truly hit "real Jamaica" and feel a sense of accomplishment knowing that in a few short minutes, you are about to light up your taste buds with the best flavors on the island. Thursdays ribs are available, and they are smoky, tangy, and just soo delicious. The chicken is nice and on the low heat side while the pork will give you a little more heat but you can't stop eating it until it's gone. For a little more fire, then try the jerk sauce, but have it on the side and not on the meat. This will ensure that you can enjoy every delicious bit and not over power yourself with the heat that is to come. The prices are in Jamaican currency, so don't flip out about the prices since the rate is JD $110 to US $1. Enjoy this fantastic restaurant, and if you ever arrive by Cruise, then look for a taxi driver named Donovan O'Conner (Yes, a Jamaican with an Irish name) to drive you around and act as your official tour guide.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cabledawg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing Authentic Jamaican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We tasted almost everything on the menu and it was all amazing, especially their sauce which can only be found there. We purchased 3 bottles!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erica32832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss Scotchies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

I've been to Jamaica 25 times. I stay at an all inclusive, but I always go to Scotchies. All their food is great....they ruined me for anyone else's jerk chicken or pork. Scotchies combines great food and drinks with a low price. And you get an authentic Jamaica experience! Going back in August, and I have already told my wife that I will get her on the beach the first day and then head to Scotchies for a Red Stripe, jerk pork, and festival!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinL775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Soooo good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We just got back from having dinner at Scotchie's and all I can say is yum! We tried the chicken, pork, chicken sausage, festival and bammy. Oh, and a few red stripes and piña coladas! All of that for under $30 too! Everything was delicious and now we're just trying to figure out how many times we can go back before leaving Jamaica!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cjnevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotchies also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Scotchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing