We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some Jerk!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scotchies

Scotchies
Ranked #1 of 129 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some Jerk!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great Jerk Chicken and Festival, we stopped here on our way to Royalton White Sands from the airport. It was my first meal off the plane and it was great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shelly-Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,606
    634
    168
    40
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Loved the Jerk Pork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Being so close to such a famous jerk place, we of course had to try it....and it was great! We got there when they opened at 11 a.m., thank goodness, because by 11:30 the cruise ships had arrived & the place was PACKED!!!! We had the pork, chicken & fish & everything was moist & delicious. My only complaint is that the staff were not the friendliest (but I guess if I were facing bus loads of tourists arriving at the same time from the cruise ships, I wouldn't be smiling too much either!).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Always good food. Always. Try the jerk fish, Amazing! Great bar, wicked vibes. The jerk is not too hot to start, but full of flavor and you can always add the crazy hot sauce to your liking. Most of all, it is always moist. Hate dried-out jerk meat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JahSenMiCome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice jerk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

jerk chicken was good, festivals too, the view from the dining area into the ocean i like that idea, i love it there

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Coy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

On planning our trip to Jamaica, Scotchie's was highly recommended to us as 'the must-have, absolute-best jerk'....so
I was very excited to try.
Did not find it to live up to the hype, the meat was not well seasoned, taste was more like a wood-grill, could not even really tell it was even jerk!
The sides were great though, festival, bammy etc but how disappointing to have gone to a jerk centre and settled on just the sides! :(
Try Ocho Rios Jerk Centre for a truly amazing taste sensation.

Helpful?
Thank karuna_moonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotchies also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Scotchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing