We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUMMY!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scotchies

Scotchies
Ranked #1 of 130 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
“YUMMY!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Local took us to enjoy this great food and fun atmosphere! We would recommend this place to anyone - it is a MUST...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,645
    646
    172
    43
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami, fl
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“WOW....just WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I couldn't figure out how they got so much flavor into the chicken and pork. The guy that was cooking said it is all about the wood they use (I think he said Pimento) and slow cooking. Amazing.
Be careful of the hot sauce,,,it really is HOT!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank truthNtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious fish. Great sauce. Beautiful setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I can't review the chicken or pork, but the fish was amazing! I loved the hot sauce so much I actually bought a bottle! It's very, very spicy, so be delicate with it. Mix it with ketchup for a truly delicious flavor.

The tables at Scotchie's are these bungalow-style, open air huts with a big table, and some with just one small table. Lots of beautiful landscaping. Staff is helpful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The winner of the Jerk off contest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Yes, in Texas, we have chili cook offs, so it only stands to reason that in Jamaica, they have contests for the best jerky. Our wonderful guide, Mark from Di Jamaican Flava Tours, educated us on this significant cultural activity. Of course, when he called it a Jerk-off contest, all 6 of the kids ages 12-17 roared with laughter. I guess that is a history lesson that they will surely recall. Anyway, Scotchies is the perfect hole in the wall and side of the street restaurant where you immediately feel like a local and eat like one as well. Mark, insisted we try the festival, peas and rice, and other sides, which were amazingly delicious! I highly recommend ditching the high priced resort for a low cost and delicious lunch where you may sit on a picnic table next to a local or some other tourists who is lucky enough to have a local guide like Mark from Di Jamaican Flava Tours!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jerk Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

The food was wonderful; however, don't expect a large selection.

We paid $25 for 1/4lb chicken sausage, 1/4lb pork, soup, festival, and two beers.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KellyAnn828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotchies also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Scotchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing