We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, inexpensive, and good food”
Review of Scotchies

Scotchies
Ranked #1 of 131 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Northglenn, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun, inexpensive, and good food”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were staying at a resort hotel and Scotchies was our opportunity to go see the town. We thought it was a great place for local color but possibly not as good as we expected. The food was good but not really great and the accommodations were on the spartan side. Service was a little slow. Since we didn't see much of the rest of the town, we weren't in a position to compare it to other restaurants.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwedishSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,743
    677
    184
    48
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Local Favorite”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The food was great. Not your typical restaurant. Patronized by locals and is always crowded. Serves jerk chicken/pork and other Jamaican favorites. A must!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alison U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So glad we went! Great Place!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was in Montego Bay from Oct 15-20th for work. This was my first trip to Mo Bay. Our group stayed at Secrets. One person in our group travels to Mo Bay every couple months and said that we HAD to go to Scotchies while we were in town and that we would love it! He was right...we all LOVED it! Group of 9 of us. Great food, awesome atmosphere and good drinks! Food was a great price and sooooo good! We lucked out and happened to be there on rib night! BEST ribs I have EVER had! I also loved the chicken and festival. Service was a bit on the slow side, but we were in no hurry and enjoyed the drinks and atmosphere! If I am ever in Mo Bay again, I will definately be returning!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An absolute jewel”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have thought long and hard as to whether I should write a review because it would be a shame if this wonderful place becomes too popular and changes.

The front is quite unassuming and plain but once you go through into the inner sanctum you are greeted by an oasis of grass roofed seating areas with a nice little bar and the smell of the food filling the air.

The clientele is a mix of locals and the more adventurous tourist who have found their way off the beaten track. The food is amazing, some of the best jerk I have had anywhere. We went a couple of times during our trip and covered most of the menu. Rice & Peas, breadfruit, festival (savoury doughnut), ribs, jerk chicken and jerk pork, accompanied with some wonderfully hot pepper sauce all washed down with cold coconut water.

If you want a break from the hotel buffet, do your taste buds a favour and experience a taste of the real Jamaica.

Helpful?
Thank Phatduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very good food...always fresh and tasty. Soup is good and the festival is outstanding. Good for take out or dine in. Only place I've had better is Boston in Portland

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sammyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotchies also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Scotchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing