We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent People Good Place”
Review of The Wexford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wexford Hotel
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent People Good Place”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The Wexford Hotel is a great no frills value and a wondeful place to stay for persons who are not fussy. The place is older but well-kept. Front desk staff are courteous, pleasant, and professional. What the hotel lacks in modernities is more than adequately compensated for by the politeness of the staff and their willingness to serve and meet any expressed need. The food served is excellent. The wait for food is a little long but well worth it. A complimentary breakfast was included in our room rate. What a pleasant surprise!
Sundays' complimentary buffet breakfast comprises sumptuous authentic Jamaican fare plus standard international breakfast fare. The food at the Wexford compares well with bigger named hotels and restaurants. If it can be helped, Sunday breakfast should not be missed; it compares favorably to that served at many higher-priced hotels. The hotel's manager, Mr. Khani is alert, pleasant, and accessible. He is always in tune with what is happening and tweaking things to make the hotel better. Recently, he personally transported a departing guest to the bus terminus so she could catch a bus to Kingston.
The Wexford is centrally located on Montego Bay's Hip Strip. It is close to a lot of nightlife including Pier One a local hot-spot, Margaritaville, the world-famous Doctor's Cave Beach, and much more. I highly reccommend it for the "unfussy" traveller who is on a budget, wants to experience the "real" Jamaica and does not want to be locked away behind the bars of an all-inclusive resort. The verandah is a great place to sip a cool drink, have coffee, enjoy a great meal, chat, read a local newspaper, get lost in a god book, or just enjoy a wonderful view of Montego Bay's harbor.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean-view upper-floor. They are great people, very accomodating, and will accomodate you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLUMBIATRAVELLER10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    39
    64
    44
    50
See reviews for
29
43
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Our trip to JA was awesome as we did the "hotel hopping" during our 10 days there.
Stayed at two other All-Inclusive resorts for 3-4 days each, but our last night was a walk in to the Wexford Hotel.
What's Great: Friendly Staff, NO frills- basic Clean Air Conditioned Rooms.. Safe.
Great view of the Park and carribean sea..walking distance to the beach.
LOCATED ON THE HIP strip- you can walk to Margaritaville or the Pelican Restaurant(hot spotsfor clubbing and eating).
BEST- having breakfast on the terrace overlooking the picturesque view of park and the sea... simply breathtaking... view!
Good deal for the price.-- will go back again, especially if you are visiting friends or family.. all inclusive is for staying on the premises only..iIf you plan to be out and about doing lots of tours etc.. this is the best price you will get without wasting your money.

Room Tip: walk in an get the Local rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank vacationsIam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Wexford Court Hotel in Montego Bay was exactly what we needed for this very large Family trip on a budget. The front desk staff made us feel welcomed immediately on arrival, we were served a complimentary cocktail on check in and treated well throughout the stay.

A complimentary full Jamaican buffet breakfast is available every morning, Which included: Fried Dumplings, Kidneys, roasted breadfruit, boiled banana and yam, callaloo, ackee and salt fish and a variety of porridges on rotation. There was also, some of the best coffee, I've had; a wide variety of teas, milo, orange and pineapple juices. Certainly not a toast and butter like another hotel down the street.
There is a full restaurant for dinner.

I found the rooms spacious most came with two full size beds. Of the 8 rooms occupied by my family my husband and I had the only with a king sized bed.

All rooms have balconies. Some had a garden view while others had the ocean view.
There are not refrigerators or microwave ovens or coffee pots in the rooms so everyone wasn't happy with the lack of those modern conveniences. There is weak wifi connection available in the lobby but on vacation, why connect. If one must connect. There was one computer available for guest also in the lobby.

The hotel is not new and you can tell from general wear and tear but it's also clean and well kept. I would recommend this hotel for someone who plans to do a lot and are not planning to spend there vacation in there hotel room.

Room Tip: On a Romanic trip, ask for room 311. Great views, and a huge King Sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonictrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2011

When I first checked in I thougt oh no, my 1st room had a little issue but the Manager on duty changed my room. I was expecting a little more splash of bright colors since we were in the Carribean but it was clean, furniture a little outdated. Love the balaconies/terraces and the Ocean or the Garden view is Spectacular. The Staff were ALL very courteous, friendly and attentive only had an issue with 1 person but it did not spoil it for me. (Excellent Customer service, very attentive to the guests) They remembered how I like my juice , what falvor tea I like , that was nice. The location is superb on the Hip Strip, walking distance to all the Night life Coral Cliff, Blue Beat and of course Margaritaville. They did have some construction going on but they are upgrading and I'm looking forward to seeing the completion it looks good so far . The elevator sucks it is claustrophobic so either enlarge it or modernize it, fast.. The Complimentary Carribean Breakfast will make you fat, maybe they can serve some good ole American Breakfast like Bacon, Eggs and French Toast maybe once or twice during the week but it was good and plentiful.Eating out on the Veranda and enjoying the beach view is awsome!!!!!! The pool maybe too far away and isolated for some people(uphill) and they need to have some staff assigned to the poolside bar and some music. The internet in the lobby only is not good it needs to be throughout the hotel.The wexford is a good place to meet people I came alone and made lots of friends.I would love to stay here again when the new building is completed.If you are a person who likes to stay in your room and enjoy all the niceties that the larger hotels offer then this is not for you but if you just need some decent accomodates with some down to earth folks, this is the place to be in MoBay.The Aquqsol Beach is fun and you have all the gym amenities availble and everyday is a party on the beach.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the excitement on the strip get Ocean view . If you want tranquility take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffyDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Room is basic , no mini fridge ,no ironing board. The wifi is in the lobby only. Its located on the 'Hip Strip' so a good spot if you want to just take in the night life.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aymerd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family I enjoyed my stay there in fact it was my 3rd visit and the GM Mr Khani was very much visible and easy access to his guests. The location is central and walking distance to many attractions. The staff was super friendly and courteous. The ocean view is breathtaking! The complimentary breakfast is always fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Comfortable and clean rooms. Helpful and courteous staff. Great buffet breakfast. Walking distance to Margaritaville, Blue Beat and other clubs and casinos. Teenagers were not bored. Beautiful beaches (Aquasol and Doctor's Cave a short walk away.)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arisave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 63 in Montego Bay
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#37 of 63 in Montego Bay
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#30 of 63 in Montego Bay
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wexford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wexford Hotel

Property: The Wexford Hotel
Address: 39 Gloucester Avenue | P O Box 108, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wexford Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Wexford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wexford Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing