We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandals Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Toby's Resort(Montego Bay)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Gloriana & Spa(Montego Bay)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deja Resort(Montego Bay)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,814)
Filter reviews
1,814 results
Traveler rating
1,081
447
146
77
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,081
447
146
77
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspublic beachbay windowother resortscarlyle restaurantnibbles grillstreet noisemr nibblessunset barmontego bay and royal caribbeancarlyle staffbigger resortssmall hotelshuttle servicehip stripthird floorshuttle busour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,245 - 1,250 of 1,814 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2011

This was my first Sandals experience, and I must say that it was thoroughly enjoyable. It was a Christmas getaway with my parents and fiance, and we had a lovely time. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, though with such compelling activities and scenery available, one does not spend much time in the rooms. The pool area was gorgeous, the perfect atmosphere for relaxation after partaking of some of the more adventurous beach activities.

The restaurants offered at the Carlyle were wonderful and negated the need to visit the restaurants at the other Sandals resorts in town, a convenience that is complimentary with the "Stay at 1, play at 3" feature. The resident chefs are of the highest quality, having trained in France and proudly wearing the "toque blanche" of their culinary status. The service was unrivaled, as the attentive waitstaff anticipated our every desire and displayed the most comforting decorum that makes one appreciative of the first class meals. The hotel manager never failed to stop by our table to see to our comfort and exchange pleasantries. The Christmas buffet was particularly good, as the chefs put forth a masterpiece, the presentation rivaling the quality of the spread and making for a memorable dining experience.

The Carlyle sits right across the street from a small public beach, but the much larger private beaches are easily accessible to Carlyle guests by taking the shuttle to either of the two other Sandals resorts in Montego Bay. The activities offered at the beach were soooo much fun for an active couple such as myself and my fiance, we loved sailing on the hobbycats, snorkeling at the reef, sea kayaking, and getting in on the pick up games of beach volleyball. For those more inclined to relax, there were plenty of comfy beach chairs and loungers available, without feeling crowded and preserving a comfortable space for couples without encroaching upon each other.

Back at the Carlyle, Crazy Ray made the stay memorable by leading many fun activities, such as afternoon Texas hold'em poker tournaments, and dance lessons for those interested in learning some of the traditional Jamaican/african heritage dances, as well as the latest moves to bust out in the clubs! Crazy Ray is passionate about the culture of his people and if you show even the slightest interest, he is delighted to share his passion with you!

Additionally, the Carlyle offers nightly entertainment of the highest quality, whether it be live music, dance performers, karaoke, and other such fun. We had the priviledge of attending a performance of a traditional dance troupe, which included a snake charmer, a fire breather, and physics defying limbo in which the performer cleanly passed below the limbo-stick (on fire no less) set a mere 8 inches off the ground!

All in all, it was a wonderful vacation, the perfect getaway from wintry Ohio, an unforgettable trip I will cherish for years to come.

Come to Jamaica!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We are old time Sandals Signature or Sandals Select (whatever we continually returning Sandals lovers are called now) Members. We have earned one set of golden sandals for 70 nights at Sandals and are going for our 2nd 70! Anyhow, we were treated so wonderfully at the Carlyle (our second stay there), that we cannot wait to return! Yes, it is the smallest of the 3 Montego Bay Sandals properties, but the staff here at the Carlyle is just so awesome that they more than make up for its size! The food is particularly wonderful (presentation, portions and taste!)! We went for Christmas and were there from Dec. 23rd through the 27th for 5 nights and WOW! just loved it. We were upgraded to a 3rd floor room and had room service and a darling balcony and ocean view. Everything has been redone and is super clean and just precious! We have stayed at the Whitehouse 6 times and the Royal Caribbean 6 times as well, but this most recent visit to the Carlyle was just awesome. Playmaker Crazy Ray was just tremendous and soo talented and the maitre d was Mr. Charming himself. The Christmas talent show was better than anything at any of the other resorts! Anyhow, even if you feel you must go over to the other resorts to visit, this small charmer will welcome you HOME with gracious open arms. VIVA, Carlyle!! Tom and Debbie Moran of Texas

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Factoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Flew out of Philly on Dec. 31 on Air Jamaica 6:00 a.m. flight. Arrived in MBJ at 9:25 flew through customs and immigrations. Arrived at the Inn by 10 a.m. We were greeted by Paul (bell-person) with a warm smile. Paul told us to go have breakfast since we had such an early day of traveling. While having breakfast I was greeted with a warm hug and kiss by Cheryl Brown, Manager of the Carlyle Inn

After breakfast we were told our room was ready. Thanks to Ruth@Trip Guy Travel and Cheryl Brown we were upgraded to room 314 on the top floor. We booked the lowest level room this was a very nice upgrade. We were not expecting an upgrade due to it being New Year's eve and full capacity.

NYE was a really wonderful evening. They built a stage across the pool for the band to play and people to dance. Chairs were covered in white with gold bows. Balloons were ready to be released at midnight. Tables were set up around the pool. Dinner was a buffet that had something for everyone to eat. Desert table had a choc fountain and various other deserts. They had singers, fire dancers but the highlight of the night was watching all the employees be able to dance and enjoy themselves after the affair was over. We sat on our balcony watching them dance, push each other in the pool...they worked so hard for this night. Some got home at 1 a.m. and were back in work at 7 a.m. the next day.

The rest of the time we spent some days at the Royal, MB and the Inn.

We ate at Tokyo Joes ( did not have reservations) we were undecided what to do for dinner an employee went to the manager and he accommodated us right on the spot. When leaving we thanked him told him this is what makes Sandals so special. The french restaurant at the Royal which was wonderful I had escargot it was delicious. Monday evening we ate at the Bayside at the Inn. They had a piano player poolside it turned out to be a lovely night.

Tuesday evening was the returning guest dinner. We received our silver sandals. We were happy to receive them from one of our favorite Sandals managers. We sat with Max and Ken (they are on TTO) lovely couple. It was neat finally meeting in person.

One night coming back to the Inn from dinner we met Carolyn's (Twotravelers she is on TTO and Rantalot) brother John and sister in law Margo. What great people. Felt as if we knew them our whole life.

We met people who have spent the last 10 NY at the Inn.

We did not book to return because just not sure what the future holds for us. However, if we are able to return we will.

The staff at the Inn is what makes this place. Cheryl, Lisa, Doreen, Kaveen(Soon Come back), Paul, crazy Ray, the waitstaff, Chefs, etc. I know I forgot people but they are all wonderful.

When we were leaving everyone was coming out to give us hugs goodbye. It was a wonderful way to bring in the New Year.

I know I did not go into a lot of details, if you have questions do not hesitate to ask.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fraclar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Just returned from our annual winter vacation in Montego Bay, Jamaica. The Inn has reopened in a new updated vrsion, but fortunately with many of the same wonderful staff. GM, Cheryl Brown, leads an amazing staff who is constantly available to cater to every request a guest makes. As returning guests, multiple times (10 years to be exact), we are treated like royalty from the moment we walk in the door and see Paul who grabs our bags and gets us settled in our room! Unfortunately, we arrived in Jamaica ill. Head chef Donovan headed into town to the pharmacy for us! Devon and the service staff kept the delicious food coming! (Don't know how they remember exactly what we like to eat!)Nicola kept our beautifully redecorated room immaculate! Doreen, Kaveen, and Lisa were always at hand to give their all to make our stay the best. And...Nola.....who always has new and beautiful items to purchase. Thanks to all the new staff for making yourselves known to us and always greeting us with enthusiasm and big smiles! We tried something different this time....a trip with Island Routes to Dolphin Cove.....a trip to be remembered. Anyone who has not gone on this adventure, should plan to go. A big thank you to everyone for making our vacation the best! Looing forward to going again very soon! See you in Dec. or sooner???

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We have been to the Inn before (June of 2008) and decided to return to the Inn and bring friends with us this time. All I can say is that the renovations and improvements are amazing! Our last trip was good, but this time it was OUTSTANDING!!! The staff was wonderful, and the rooms and food have been improved. Our stay was from Mon, Dec 20 - Tues. Dec. 28th.

We stayed on the 3rd floor (penthouse level) and were in rooms 305 & 306. We LOVED having rooms that werent facing the pool as our balconies were very private and we could still see and hear the ocean! one note: all 3rd floor rooms now have in-room a/c -- no a/cs that hang out over the room door.... MUCH better as there is no dripping into the hallway. also, the rooms and hallways on the 3rd floor all have tile floors.... VERY nice -- no more carpeting!:)

Cheryl, Lisa, Kaveen, bartenders Clinton & Richard, Devon (restaurant manager), Paris, Crazy Ray, and many more were AWESOME. They knew us by name by the second day and they took time to make us feel like family. We did use the shuttle and visit the other resorts, but we always made sure to make time each day for our family at the Inn:).

The returning guest dinner was fabulous (flet minon & shrimp) and the returning guest cruise was an excellent addition! The head chef at the Inn is a NEW addition and has re-vamped the menu. Each time we ate at the Inn we saw him walking between restaurants to make sure everything was going smoothly. He even stopped at our table a few times to talk and get to know us. He is the Inn's newest 'gem':)

I also want to recognize our TA Ruth (IrieLady) as she was an addition to our travelling this time, and we could feel the difference from the moment we arrived. Cheryl (the resort manager) even told us that Ruth had called & spoken with her during our stay to make sure we were having a good vacation... thank u sooooo much Ruth! I highly recommend her to all!!!

We can't wait to return to our extended family at the Inn, and hope to do so in the near future!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank my_4_girlsOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews