We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a dream come true!!”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was a dream come true!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We have just got back from our wedding and honeymoon at the carlyle, and we have to say abig thank you to everyone for making our day so special! we could not fault the hotel everything was just wonderful, we have definately found some friends for life! we will not go anywhere else now and will be returning on our anniversary every year (hopefully).
We had the option to go to the mobay and the royal hotel but to be honest we went to them both once and couldn't wait to get back to the carlyle(home) we had everything we wanted there and that special touch from the staff - brilliant

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simps0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    422
    140
    74
    60
See reviews for
71
1,347
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We have just returned home from a one week stay at this gem of a property in Montego Bay. We knew it was going to be special as soon as we arrived at Sangster Airport, where we were quickly directed into Sandals private lounge for a "welcome" drink and, since we were the only two people going to this resort, were then taken to our private car for the short trip to the Carlyle.

We were met by Paul (the governor) and Crazy Ray, who immediately set the pace for a week of relaxation and pampering. Since our arrival at the resort was early (prior to 10 AM), we were told our room was not yet ready. However, less than an hour later, Paul tracked us down and showed us to our lovely suite on the second floor with an incredible view of the Caribbean and the hotel pool. The furniture is beautiful cherry-wood with an incredibly comfortable four-poster king size bed.

For the following seven days, we were "family". Since our vacation was meant to be a time of relaxation, we spent most of our time on the property, getting to know the staff and meeting new friends from around the world. On several occasions, we made half-day trips to the nearby properties (Sandals Montego Bay and Sandals Royal Caribbean), which are reached on a quick shuttle bus driven by wonderful Winston, who enjoys the company of some sitting next to him in the front seat.

Many reviewers make reference to specific hotel employees who made their trip special. Now we know why. We know the management and employees read these reviews, and so we are pleased to acknowledge them publicly. We have to mention the attentive and proud general manager, Cheryl Brown and the lovely hotel manager, Lisa. For us, the most special person in the front office was Kaveen at the "Soon Come Back" desk. She did a very kind thing for us during our visit which was indicative of the closeness between staff and guests. We will remember you forever, Kaveen.

Everywhere, there are smiles; and that includes the ladies who provide the spa treatments. Maureen and Michelle often visit the pool area where they offer free "teasers" of their incredible ability to relax you. We enjoyed an hour of their skills during a "couples" massage which left us in awe of their strong hands.

The entire bar staff are talented and love to talk about whatever topic is on your mind, from polo to Jamaican history. We would not single any of them out, because they are all special. However, the two who will will remember the most are Orville and Wolfe, because of their unique personalities and their ability to made a drink something "special". Be sure to try the "Dirty Banana". It's almost decadent.

While we could dine at any of the Sandals resorts, we chose to eat all of our meals at the Carlyle. It is simply gourmet all the way. Breakfast ranged from simple bacon and eggs to steak or waffles and, the house specialty, eggs benedict. There was also a serve-yourself area of fresh fruits and muffins.

Lunches ranged from grilled snapper or telapia to barbequed ribs. Each day, the lunch and dinner menus offered choices of beef, pork, chicken, seafood or pasta. Evening dinner was often highlighted by incredible New York striploin steaks. They were always cooked to perfection and served with a wonderful smile by people like Andrew, who has an incredible sense of humour and makes even pouring your coffee an event.

One of the most impressive things about the food is the way it is presented on your plate. The man responsible for this is Head Chef Donovan. He is a remarkable chef who runs an incredible kitchen. He loves to talk about the history of the various native foods and is very proud of his craft. On Saturday evening, Chef Donovan prepared a buffet of Jamaican foods in the garden area, where he spoke proudly and eloquently to the diners about the various dishes and then invited us to partake.

Since we had an early departure on Sunday, we would be missing breakfast. When Chef Donovan heard about it, he arranged for the dining area to open earlier so we would still be able to enjoy our choice from the menu.

Are you getting the picture??? This place cares about you!!!

Speaking of pictures, if you want a nice professional photo done during your stay, watch for Shane (we called him Kobe because of his resemblence to Kobe Bryant). He is not a staff member but is often on-site in the evenings. He took about 12 photos of us and then immediately showed them to us. Our prints were ready within minutes.

Finally, Crazy Ray. He is a one-man animation team with an infectious smile and a list of talents longer than the Hip Strip. At the age of 23, his energy is endless. You will never get bored when Ray is around. He can make Bingo exciting and, when he starts to dance, get ready to cheer. His quick wit and educated knowledge are too easily taken for granted by some, but this is an extraordinarily talented young man.

We know there are some big changes coming to the Carlyle very soon, including the introduction of butler service. It was a frequent topic among fellow guests who all agreed it is not a good move by Sandals. It was generally agreed by all who were talked with that they would never use the service. The unfortunate thing is that it will add considerably to your room rate, whether you use it or not. Our understanding is that it will not be an option; it will be part of the standard rate for all rooms. Too bad. We'd rather make my own coffee.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveAndAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

This hotel is the best value for money of all the hotels i have stayed in in Jamaica. We only spent our first and last day at the inn spending the other days at Sandls montego bay and Sandls royal Carribbean.

We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms. It was clean and looked onto the sea. It was very nice. There was an problem with our room however this was rectified and we were well compensated thanks to Doreen who is a star. The breakfast was good, however i would have liked some more traditional options as opposed to only one. The Jerk chicken at the inn is the best!!! We would get our chicken and patties whenever we got the chance YUM YUM. Sandals inn is in the best location of all the hotels in montego bay. Situated on the hip strip you have easy access to the bars and clubs ( no taxis required).

The spa was great. I had a full body massage, scrub and wrap. It was heavenly. If you go the the hotel please have your treatment there and not at the other properties. They really do a great job.

The shuttle leaves the inn at half past the hour on the dot. The other hotels were great we really enjoyed the beach party at Mo bay, the Hatfield group and Gem Myers also performed on evenings which was amazing. I really enjoyed the aquasize at both properties (it made me feel a lot better about over indulging). All in all the holiday was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bell80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2010

What can i say except "AMAZING! this resort has it all romance, elegance, attention to detail, (your every wish) and the exceptional customer service. We where there in March for our 5th year Anniversary, at Bay Roc villas butler suite. Our Butler Carlene, is the best of the best, she should be commended for her service, kindness, warm smile and anticipating her guest needs before they even ask. It is because of her that we are already planning our next trip to Sandals Montego Bay. Carlene, we will be waiting for your return from the bahamas, Thank you for making our Anniversary the most romantice experience we've ever had. Oh and i cant forget Nasha and Andrea, these ladies make Sandals a specail place. Cant wait to return for the jamaican Sun Fest!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownskin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We loved our time at the Carlyle. The staff is so friendly and the service is excellent. A short shuttle will get you to two other Sandals with amazing beaches which easily makes up for the small public beach at Carlyle. The pool area is lovely and it's a relaxing, quiet place to spend your vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MmeL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

The front desk staff/welcome staff is wonderful. Very nice. However, we encountered a few times when the breakfast staff was a little rude. If you are looking for a quiet place to sleep....THIS ISNT IT. We had cars strolling the street in front of the hotel until 2 am along with other cars up and down blaring radio's and setting off car alarms. They take a break and about 6:30a they start up again. The best part was that you are able to enjoy the other Sandals Resorts without the premium price. The food at the other resorts was very good. If you want to spend a little more cash, you will receive a much quieter room at Sandals Mo Bay or Royal Carribean

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YankeeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

we got married at the inn and Alicia our wedding planner took care of everything i had no worries on my wedding day. Definately the way to get marrried. as far as the inn goes they will treat you like family and do everything they can to make you happy. the food was fabulous so we ate at the inn alot but we spent most of our days at sandal mobay and royal because there is more to do but we always looked foward to catching the shuttle back to our "jamaican home" the inn. sandals inn is not a resort it is as the name says a inn, but you still get all the benefits of the other two resorts that are ten minutes away by the free shuttle without paying that price. as long as your not a pretentious snob you will love the inn. we cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lysemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,407 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
565 reviews
55.5 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Property: Sandals Inn
Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandals Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Prestigia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing