We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great home from home retreat”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Wimborne Dorset
212
Reviewed February 10, 2006

We stayed at Sandals Inn for 2 weeks and loved it. We were married 8 years ago at Sandals Halcyon St Lucia which was fantastic.As the inn was so much smaller and had no beach etc ,we did not know what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised, its small, friendly, pretty quiet with a relaxed and happy atmosphere. There were things we did not like such as the exposed pool so we spent some time at the other 2 Sandals in Montego Bay, both of which are much busier and bigger with private beaches. Food and drinks, staff and cleanliness are excellent at all 3 hotels. It was nice to spend time at the busier hotels and then come 'home' to the inn. As its small you get to know other guests and staff easily. As with all holidays there were little things which were not perfect most of which are not worth a mention but the road outside the inn and the public beach did create a noise disturbance which did annoy us at times but not enough to stop us going back for another holiday there.We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,660 - 1,666 of 1,747 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Glasgow, Scotland
12
Reviewed February 6, 2006

Went back to the inn after 2 years to re-new our wedding vows and had a wonderfull time.
Didn't do any tours this time but just lay on the beach at the sandals island.
Treated like royalty by the staff many who remembered us from our first visit in may 2004.
Had two lovely nights at the managers dinner and people like Elvis,my mate Andrea,Nicholas, Leezo,the one and only Ronaldo, Keisha and all the bar staff who more than looked after us during our 14 night stay are top class.Will be back, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ft. Wayne
115
Reviewed January 27, 2006

The hotel is a little old considering...but beautiful and feels like someones large mansion rather than a hotel. The rooms all faced the ocean. We were able to sleep with out balcony doors wide open and listen to the surf against the beach all night.

The food was good. Small gathering of tables outside by the pool. Lovely.

The staff was terrific, friendly and kind. Room service was spectacular! We had sandwiches brought up to us at 2am!!! Grilled tuna.

The beach is across the road and is a public beach. Yet, you are able to cllimb on a bus and are taken to the other two Sandles Resorts. They have wonderful private beaches.

If you go to the Sandles Inn be sure to hook up with a gentleman named Spence. He will give you a guided shopping tour, taking you to some fabulous stores in Montego Bay. Just bring your wallet...the jewelry stores were ready to deal. And what deals!!!

We had a terrific time and I look forward to returning next year to once again chase away the winter blues.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kent,United Kingdom
19
Reviewed January 23, 2006

Absolutely fabulous holiday,
Staff were extemely polite and friendly.
Food was wonderful.
Thoroughly recommend.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2006

I just wanted to take a minute to make known what a wonderful experience can be had while staying at the Sandals Inn. I recently stayed at the Inn after their current renovations and I had no idea what to expect after the many changes that had been made. I was so surprised to see how much could be accomplished in such a short amount of time.

Upon arrival I was quick to notice the expansion of the giftshop which has such an inviting feel. As a returning guest I was of course very excited to be greeted by Nola and the new show helper, Kimberly. She is such a nice addition.

It is always nice to see familiar faces. I was happy to see that Leezo who is such a great help had been given a new position. He was so helpful when I was trying to schedule my meals.

At the Inn help is never hard to find. The entire staff is always very eager to lend a hand with anything that is needed. The Inn just has such a different feel than any other resort I have stayed at. I've tried to make my way to some of the larger Sandals resorts and I have always found them very nice but they just lack that something extra that the Inn has to offer. I really appreciate that extra smile or the simple how are you doing today. It truely makes a difference.

With all of the excellent changes that have been made the central theme of meeting the guests needs has not been lost. It is always a good feeling to know that a general manager is willing to go out of his way to check with a guest to see how they are doing or to ask what they think about the changes to the property. As a returning guest i really appreciated that and enjoyed meeting Jeremy.

There are just so many staff on property that have made my experiences at the Inn so special. For this reason I just can't stop coming back. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to have a trip they will never forget!!!

Michelle & Stace
Delaware

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Mlacombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2006

My fiance and myself have just returned after one week in mid January 2006 at Sandals Inn in Jamaica. I'm going to try and keep this review as balanced as possible - i've seen a lot of "this place is perfect!" reviews down below, but please take a look at some of the more critical ones for a truer representation of what to expect.

We booked this holiday very close to departure on LastMinute - I wish we'd done some more research before we booked, since it may have tempered our expectations somewhat. Sandals is marketed (in the UK at least) as the perfect couple's romantic getaway - the theme music "for a moment like this - some people wait a lifetime" promises perfection, quiet romantic solitude, and exotic scenery.

After a gruelling 10 hour flight from Gatwick to Montego Bay airport with Thomsonfly (simply terrible!) we arrived, drained and looking for the "Sandals Desk" detailed in the photocopied fax documentation, and were happily suprised to see a small relaxation lounge. the Sandals staff provided us with free beer, a marked representative took our bags to a waiting courtesy bus, and we were off!

The driver, obviously a knowledgable self-confessed "bad boy" told us to ignore anyone touting goods / services / drugs outside the hotel, and speak to the bellboy instead (something I have to admit we never got around to). We were dropped off 5 minutes later at the Sandals Inn, where we were provided with a glass of champagne, and taken to our very clean, fairly comfy room with a balcony overlooking the pool.

Food and drink at the Sandals Inn were for the most part excellent - I'd highly recommend Jack's jerk chicken, burgers and sandwiches at the grill, available any time of the day. Drinks were good for the most part, although a week of rum-based cocktails and pina coladas does get a bit boring. We ate at the Carlyle (in-house flambe) which we found excellent, and the Bay Window, which we found pretty average.

There is no private beach - the only close sand is straight over a public road, which is used as a drag-strip and promenade by the locals, at all times of day and night. They seem to delight in driving past in cars with booming exhausts and cranked stereos. This would inevitably set off the car alarms of all the taxi drivers parked outside. The beach itself is beautiful to use, but within seconds of each visit we were approached by locals attempting to sell drugs, carvings, women, you name it. Locals were fequently using the beach at 4 or 5am, shouting loudly at each other or sitting parked up with music blaring. since nearly all the rooms face the pool and road, and have open slat walls, you can't avoid the noise. We had the feeling that the locals don't like Sandals - we even had one gentleman come walking past at around 3am shouting "this is America! come to the real Jamaica!".

The on-site facilities at the Inn were fairly lacking, compared to what we had been promised by the advertising - an ok pool (clean and cold), a jacuzzi (clean and hot), a tennis court, and a few other activities. While Andrea (entertainments manager) was fun and engaging, we often were press-ganged into activities such as pool volleyball, or Ring-tossing to win bottles of rum. in fact, there were an awful lot of competitions to win bottles of rum.

Poolside, we were barraged by loud music for most of the day - ranging from just about acceptable (i.e. you could doze while sunbathing) to downright intrusive levels of noise. We began the week in a room sited above the Bay Window restaurant (woken up at 6am by tables and cutlery being put out, and if that failed at 7am by people using the weights machines in the gym) and we ended the week in the room right above the speaker for the pool music. This speaker was also used as a loudhailer for events, and a Karaoke machine for the more boisterous Inn employees.

Sleep (of the non drunken stupor kind) was very hard to come by, mostly due to the noise from the drag strip road, but also due to noise from a local nightclub. this had people caterwauling (and I really do mean that) till 1am every night, and up to 3am for a couple of nights - if it had been even remotely melodic, it would have been somewhat acceptable.

Bands ranged from ok to great - I'm a Bob Marley fan, so anyone who did covers went down well for me, but there was also an excellent band playing the evening we were at the Carlyle, and good music some evenings in the Bay Window.

The locals outside the resort were not the only pushy sellers - we found ourselves constantly reminded by the sandals staff about how wonderful the gift shop was, how splendid the tours were (including two staged tour sells in the 10 minute resort introduction) and how parting with our money would improve our love life with a romantic bottle of champagne and flower petals on the bed (champagne is available free from the bar, incidentally). The manager's cocktail party was a crass selling exercise, which we watched open-mouthed from our balcony.

A free bus is provided hourly to the other two Sandals resorts close by - Montego Bay, and the Royal Carribean. Both are much larger, with a very wide range of activities and more restaurants. I can highly recommend the Royal Thai (a great meal and evening), the free snorkelling, and the beaches at both resorts, although you should be prepared for locals on canoes hovering near the beaches attempting to sell you - well, see the list above. We found the atmosphere at both these resorts to be something like a cross between Butlins, an 18-30 holiday, and the classy romantic experience we were hoping for. Sandals Inn is definitely "quieter" (less people, fewer "playmakers") than both the Mo'Bay and the Royal. Make sure you book for the Royal Thai as soon as you arrive - seatings are limited for Inn patrons to just two couples per night!

We did take one trip off site to see the humming-bird sanctuary. We arranged this ourselves as the Sandals staff basically couldn't be bothered to sort it out for us. I certainly feel like we got more local culture from Spence (our taxi driver) in that couple of hours than we got in the rest of the week. I'm sure that if we were going on a Chukka tour, the Sandals staff would have been a lot more accomodating.

The staff at the Inn were almost all very friendly and courteous, especially the night manager who attempted to find out why the nightclub music was so loud. The general manager organised a room swap for us after we complained of the noise, but the new room we were moved to was barely quieter.

Overall - certainly not perfection, but enjoyable if loud. Great food, we lucked out with excellent weather, and we met some very friendly staff and guests. If you like a decent night's sleep, take a good pair of earplugs. Also, be warned that Sandals is an American's home-away-from-home beach resort. We may well return to Jamaica, but I doubt we'll return to the Sandals Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank NicandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2006

we have just got back from staying in the beautiful sandals in hotel in jamaica. it was our first time in jamaica and we wernt sure about anything so obviously we were hesitant in our approach. however even though our luggages got lost and we had such a horrible time in the airport, Sandals Inn general manager Mr. Jeremy Mutton took the initiative and got us our luggage back. this hotel is not huge by any means but my god is absolutely gorgious, the service is amaizing to say the least, its was always on time, with a smile, more than what u expect, its was simply a breath taking venture. this resort is located on the hipstip were could just walk two mins up the street and do all our shopping, magaritaville and a vast viriety of clubs were right there as well, staying in this hotel everything was at your finger tip. this trip was simply amazing and we will definately be back next year. for those of you out there who arent sure about it i encourage you to go and try it, you will enjoy it.

13  Thank bobziggymarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
7.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 64 in Montego Bay
5,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,479 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,854 reviews
2.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $288 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing