We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Resort”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Staying at Sandals Carlyle was the best vacation we have ever had!! The resort was small and quiet, but that gave us a chance to get to know the other visitors and the staff. Dane (a server) and Flyod (a bartender) really made our stay special, they took the time to talk to us and make us feel at home. All of the staff were AMAZING, really friendly and thoughtful. The room service was also a really nice touch. It was great that we have the option of a peaceful hideaway and the shuttle buses to the other larger resorts in Montego Bay. The Carlyle had nightly entertainment that the staff got involved in, it really felt like one large family. We loved this resort so much that we are already planning our next vacation there. We cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 162Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for your review, Melissa.
We are thrilled that you had a fantastic vacation experience and that you were able to completely relax during your stay at Sandals Carlyle. Our staff will be so pleased to know that they were able to make your visit such an enjoyable one and we appreciate all of your kind remarks. We cannot wait to welcome you back home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks in January for our wedding ceremony and honeymoon. We got married on the beach across the street. The staff were all amazing and did everything to try and make us happy. The food was amazing.... we ate a lot while we were here. This resort is very small and not a huge party place but if you want that you can go over to the bigger resorts. There is a free shuttle that runs many times throughout the day that will take you to the other resorts and back. We stayed in a butler suite and the service was amazing. I was pregnant on our vacation and the staff was always getting me large bowls of ice cream at night to settle my cravings.

There is a lot to do and i recommend doing some of the excursions.
We did the bamboo river rafting which was beautiful and we had a great chat with our guide. It was very relaxing.

We also went on the lovers rock cruise. These cruises are full of alcohol which I had none of but the views and the things we learnt when they stopped in the middle of it at a lagoon were great.

The top thing we did was going to the childrens school and reading to the kids. This is only $20 a person and is with the sandals foundation. Amazing experience!!

We rented a cabana for the day on the private island. It was beautiful! There is also a nude beach on the other side of this island. You can snorkel over there as well.

There are drug dealers at the beach almost all day everyday. There are also many people selling things and they will come up to you and try and sell you things. If you want to avoid this you can go to the beaches at the other resorts. Otherwise if you are polite and just say you arent interested and you are persistent then they will usually respect that. The swimming at the beach is great though.

All 3 resorts are very close to the airport so you can hear the planes. They fly over the water at the carlyle but at the other resort they fly right over top and it is a lot louder. You get used to the sound of the planes though.

the entertainment team were great and they tried to do activities and games to keep everyone amused all day.



The restaurants are all amazing but the ones you need reservations for you might want to plan those out in the beginning and make your reservations right away. They fill up fast! I am gluten free and loved that I had a good variety of foods to eat. I even had gluten free pasta at an Italian restaurant which was so good. The Carlyle restaurant at the Carlyle resort is the best!!!! The jerk chicken wings at the snack place are so yummy too.

So many good things to say, it was an awesome trip. Would love to go back one day!

Room Tip: The butler suites are amazing and worth the extra money! It can get loud on the weekends at the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We went on our honeymoon last year in May of 2013 (can't choose that far back on the time frame in review options.) Choose this site because it was the smaller of the Sandals resorts in Montego Bay. We wanted smaller and quieter. We had a room with a balcony view; ate breakfast on the balcony with a view of the public beach and the pool in the resort. Food was very good. Staff was INCREDIBLE!!! We participated in the nightly activities and had a blast (games, dances, etc!) We took advantage of the "stay at one play at all" concept and took the resort provided shuttle to the other resorts. Very nice to use that.

This resort does not have a private beach. Choose the other Sandals locations if you desire this. Having said this, do not be surprised if you get approached by the locals for various reasons outside of the resort. I am a big chicken so we stayed to the resorts only on this trip. I also talked to quite a few couples that used the butler serviced rooms-they highly recommended using this service. We WILL book that option next time.

The bartender was WONDERFUL and remembered our drinks of choice each evening.

We took advantage of the free activities and went snorkeling two days-so much fun. They provide the equipment. This was at the other Sandals resorts but we just took the shuttle to the appropriate one and had a great day of water fun!!!

If you like a small, intimate stay then this is the place for you-the staff will know your name very quickly and treat you like royalty. If you are looking for a bigger place with more of a party scene book with one of their other resorts.

I love to use spa services when I travel. We booked a couples' massage while we were there. The spa was literally a room that had been converted-not a spa. Massages were great but not the serene experience I normally have at other locations. Book at the other resorts.

Wonderful customer service with Sandals. We will use them in the future.

Room Tip: Choose the butler service rooms. Everyone suggested that when we were there. We will do that next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBlevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This trip to the Carlyle was beyond amazing!!! It was everything we expected and more, some ppl didn't read the reviews about the location and they was disappointed us on the other hand had a grand time! The food was great the service was great, the staff was amazing we will return next year and there after the stay at 1 play at 3 is excellent it gives you the opportunity to see other places throughout Mobay my husband and I cried when it was time to leave

Room Tip: A garden room on the 2nd floor no noise from the locals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Hello there Melissa,

Thank you for your review of Sandals Carlyle! We are delighted to hear that you had an incredible honeymoon and enjoyed every moment of your time in Jamaica. Our staff will be so happy to hear of your kind remarks and that you returned home with many happy memories of this special trip. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed at the Carlyle Inn for 10 days for our honeymoon and had a fantastic time. We ate breakfast at the Caryle everyday and enjoyed the selection of breakfast items and specially prepared omelettes. We then used the shuttle to visit the other two local Sandals resorts every day, although the Carlyle was good we preferred to spend our days at the larger resorts (our favourite was the Royal Caribbean) where we could sit on the beach and my husband could go scuba diving. We then got the shuttle back in the afternoon and then either ate at the Carlyle or went back to one of the other resorts later on for dinner (these need to be booked in advance, we did this through the front desk at the Carlyle).

We ate at the Carlyle restaurant a couple of nights and it was some of the best food we had out of all the restaurants across the three resorts, I'm vegetarian and the chef prepared me something specially each time as there wasn't a vegetarian main course on the menu.

All the staff were very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our trip. We flew into Kingston so we had a long journey from the airport, at our request for our return trip the staff transferred us to a resort a little closer to the airport to reduce our journey at no extra cost.

There were lots of activities and evening entertainment, we didn't get very involved in this as it wasn't really our thing but everyone looked to be having a good time! One thing I did use was the free (although a tip is encouraged...) beginner tennis lessons every morning, I hadn't played since school but Patrick was a great teacher and I really enjoyed it, there is also an advanced class in the afternoons.

We chose the Carlyle as it was cheaper and more personal than the other two resorts but we could still use the facilities at all three. There were some small things that weren't quite perfect such as the water for the shower wasn't always hot and the bathroom was quite old-fashioned. Also on some nights there was quite lot of noise from the road outside and from the beach which is very popular with locals - again not too much of a problem just make sure you have earplugs! I can imagine that some of those things might bother some people so thought it was worth mentioning but we didn't really mind and we would still highly recommend - the good far outweights those small things.

If we returned we would definitely stay at the Carlyle again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nicki990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

have just got back today from a two week honeymoon at Carlyle. The staff are absolutely amazing, but a big shout out has to go to Floyd the barman who made amazing martini cocktails, and also richie rich is the best and works so hard. Kimberley is so sweet and very helpful.
we visited the other two resorts and our favourite for quality was the royal, but you cannot beat the Carlyle for personal service, nothing is ever too much trouble. noise was mentioned on other reviews and ye it can get noisy at weekends but it never disturbed us. Amanda also was extremely helpful and would help anyway she could. I would definitely recommend the Carlyle, its lovely if your want peace and quiet but if you don't then the other two resorts will fulfil that criteria too. all in all an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: rooms on back are quieter but not such a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We visited all three montego bay sandals. The food and service at Carlyle far exceeds the other two. Mr Nibbles at the Nibbles restaurant makes everybody feel like family. His personalized food is legendary. The butler service is absolutely incredible. All the butlers are very good. If you are fortunate enough to get Dennis, be ready for the best, most professional service you will ever experience. He single handidly made this week awesome. And he by far is the best employee at any location. I hope Carlyle recognizes the extremely good service of all employees! Especially Dennis! Who is beyond first class!

I read reviews about noise and public beach. Yes there is noise, but very berable. Weekends people party at the beach.....duh! If it bothers you, close doors turn TV on. No more noise!

The Herrons!

Room Tip: All the same, top floor slightly better. Butler service is a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Chris-Jess_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,654 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.5 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#25 of 63 in Montego Bay
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $304 - $689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandals Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing