We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's nearly Nirvana”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's nearly Nirvana”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Wow a friendly lovely place for our first Sandals Trip. The service is supreme and the food is very good, the external noise is very Caribbean so have an open mind or got a room at the back of the resort. The idea of being able to shuttle is excellent too, but overall excellent! Go to the other two resorts for great beaches..

Great place!

Room Tip: Go for a quite back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your review of Sandals Carlyle. We're so delighted to read that your vacation was such a wonderful experience at our resort. Our staff is known to take excellent care of each guest and I'm so happy that your stay was nothing short of extraordinary.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another great stay in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    419
    139
    74
    59
See reviews for
71
1,343
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Thanks to sites like tripadvisor I knew that the picture in the brochure was not a true reflection of this hotel. Such a shame as it gets a lot of people off to a bad start. In the UK I think it could be criticized through our regulations on honest portrayal of goods and services.
That being said - if you go with the knowledge that this is the cheapest property within the Sandals Group - also the oldest - then prepare yourself for a lovely time!
Yes - it's a bit shabbty in places and there is no lift (really crucial to know that if you have mobility problems and, sadly, the least good rooms are at ground level. BUT - the staff are great, the food is lovely and you can treat the place as a base from which to visit the larger hotels in Mo Bay using the free hourly shuttle bus. At the other two hotels you can take part in all the watersports and eat in a variety of restaurants. By the end of the day you'll be glad to retreat back to the relative peace of the Carlyle!
We were showered with enthusiastic politeness and care and cannot speak too highly of the staff from management to bar staff, from cleaners to receptionists. They make you feel special and individual - something the larger properties cannot even begin to achieve.
So - back to the beach! In the pictures the idyllic beach looks as though it is right next to the hotel and it is - except for the road! Don't be put off! I love swimming and my best swims were from this little beach - with some delightful locals - chattty and totally non threatening in any way. This was a slice of the real Jamaica that you will never experience closeted behind the security gates of the larger Sandals resorts. I could simply leave my stuff with the charming security guard at the entrance to the hotel, hop over the road and be in the sea within 30 seconds! And, yes, it can be a bit noisy at night - this is where the locals come to swim and chat and why shouldn't they! So - if you are on a budge and want to experience Sandals I would highly recommend the Carlyle for a uniquely homely feel and as a base for exploring. Don't expect luxury but do expect to be treated like you're someone special and to be warmly greeted when you return after a day out. It's a jewel, albeit a littel one, in the crown of Sandals!

Room Tip: No lift so choose carefully. We had 213 and it was ideal for my husband who isn't too mobile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annagene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymwood
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I feel that this resort is not for those who want fun and excitement. This resort is for those who want to relax in an quiet, calm environment. This is an intimate resort for just married, empty nester's or the retired. The resort does not have an beach onsite but across the street where the locals who beg constantly also have access to. The food was fair the menu's change daily but they are the same every other day. There is only one pool which is rather small. There is only one bar which is also small. The rooms are nice unless you're on the 1st floor then its like you're staying in an motel not a resort. The employee's are really nice especially the front desk host Shanetta if I spelled her name right. If it wasn't for the option of being able to go to Sandals Montego Bay and Sandals Royale our trip would of been a complete waste.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamican_traverlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I chose this resort because of the price, but will go back because of the service. My husband and I did a vow renewal ceremony and chose this resort since I was paying for two rooms and air for four.
I can't say enough good things about the Carlylse. My husband and I booked a butler level room. I urge you all to spoil yourselves and take advantage of this option. No the room was not really a suite, but quite comfortable. A special shot out to our butlers Kenisha (never fear Kenisha is here) and Anthony. They were both wonderful. The night before we checked out Kenisha arranged for our laundry to be done (no extra charge) and helped us fold and pack the next morning.
Richie Rich was the activities director and was great. Small resort, small participation, but he personalized the activities to meet our interests. Thanks for making our stay fun and interesting.
One of our waiters, Darwin, was so accommodating we just could not be happier.
Shoshanna was our "wedding planner" on property. She attended to every detail and gave us the wedding we didn't have the first time.
No, this resort is not your typical Sandals. It's small, has no beach and limited activities. If you want more action you can grab the shuttle and go to the other two larger properties. All of this is included.
We felt so special and appreciated by the caring staff you overlook the small glitches that happen on any trip.
We travel quite a bit and I was in the hotel business for 20 years and I really have to say this was one of our best vacations ever! Its not every General Manager who will be there when you leave and give you a hug.
Thanks to all. Your kindness, caring and spirit make this a very special place.

Room Tip: No elevator, but third floor rooms are renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Silvermamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Carlyle. We're so happy to hear that you had such an incredible stay at our resort. We strive to offer amazing experiences to our guests, filled with luxury and superb service. I'm so glad we were able to achieve that goal during your stay. We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olyphant, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort for a week in October and had a wonderful vacation!
We have stayed at 2 other Sandals/Beaches resorts in Negril, and the Carlyle is our new favorite. Although the location of the Carlyle is not the greatest, the exceptional service and quality of the food make up for it. The food is by far the best, as compared with any other resorts we have eaten at.
I think that because the food is not prepared on such a large scale, as compared to the bigger resorts, you can tell that it’s made with love. The wait times for food were a little long, but we didn't mind because everything was so delicious. Honestly, what's the rush when you're on vacation anyway?
Yes, the resort is quiet and laid back, but this just made us love it even more. My husband and I are 28 and 34, and although the majority of guests were older, this did not make our experience any less fun.

Initially, because of the negative reviews regarding the Carlyle’s location and beach situation, I was a little nervous about booking this trip. I usually spend the majority of my vacation time on the beach, so I was worried that this beach issue would ruin our trip. It wasn’t a big deal though, once we got there. We chose not to visit the public beach. Nothing against the locals who frequent it; it’s just that the beach is small, and was sometimes crowded. The fact that there are shuttles running hourly to the 2 other Sandals resorts in Montego Bay alleviates this issue. On the days we chose to spend at the beach, we hopped on the shuttle and took a 5-7 minute ride to the Montego Bay resort.
We even opted to spend a few days lounging at the pool, which we normally never do. Because of the small size of the resort, it felt like we were in our own private pool. On the days we used the pool, there were only a maximum of maybe 4-6 other guests around, and a staff member came by every 15 minutes or so, to see if anyone needed drinks or food. This is normally not the case at the larger Sandals we have stayed at, where the pools are usually pretty crowded.

As far as the rooms go, I think some people providing these reviews a little too picky.
If you want something that is really fancy, then pay the extra money and stay at one of the larger, more expensive resorts.
We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor, which was not remodeled. Although the room was nothing to rave about, it certainly wasn’t terrible. It was spacious, and clean. These are usually my two main concerns when on vacation. Other than sleeping and showering, we didn't spend a whole lot of time hanging out in the room.
We travelled with another couple, who stayed in one of the newly remodeled rooms on the third floor. I will say that their room was very nice. However, the quality of the bathroom fixtures or the floor tile in my room is not going to change my overall satisfaction with a vacation.

Our room was also facing the public beach, which I have seen some complaints about.
We had no issues with noise. When we were sitting out on the balcony we could see/hear people on the beach, or hear their music, but it was never so loud that it bothered us, or kept us awake.
Another plus, our rooms were tended to by the cleaning staff twice daily, which I also think was possible because of the resort’s small size.

Overall, for the price, I think the Carlyle is a great resort. The staff is fantastic Everyone is so friendly. I really wanted to cry after we left; I felt like I was saying goodbye to new friends. Andre and Richard are wonderful entertainers, Denise, Lamar and TeeJay are excellent bartenders/servers, and Kayon at Nibbles Grill is a fantastic cook. The general manager Chris also made us feel like valued customers. He introduced himself when we arrived and said goodbye upon our departure. We actually almost missed seeing him when we were leaving. As we were sitting in the shuttle, almost ready to pull away, he hopped onto bus to catch us and say goodbye! Every single server, cook, and cleaning person I encountered was so nice and courteous. The entire staff is incredibly hardworking and everyone went above and beyond to make our stay the very best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Megan, thank you so much for your review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed every minute of your stay at Sandals Carlyle. We love to hear our guests boast of the incredible moments shared at our resort. We can't wait to welcome you back for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Carlyle. We chose this resort to have our wedding on Dec. 12th. I can't say enough great things about the staff. Soshanna was my wedding planner and she is just terrific. Dalton welcomes you with a warm smile, Darwin keeps you laughing, and Mr. Nibbles keeps your belly full. The Carlyle is a small resort but is a great value. Our room was a little out dated but the color of the bathroom tile did not ruin our entire vacation ;). We stayed in a balcony room over looking the garden which was perfect for us. We felt right at home the minute we arrived and can not wait to go back. Just a few tips: Be sure to make dinner reservations early. They fill up fast! If you go across the street to the public beach you will be approached by locals to buy something. Also, phone calls are very expensive. The wifi is $14.99 a day but a much cheaper way of staying in touch.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFriemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

A great vacation. It was just four nights long, but the staff and management made it a very enjoyable and carefree stay.it was our third time staying there and the warmth and personal attention has never been anything but fantastic.
Allen & Mary Lovelace

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank depyman190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,369 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
5.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#23 of 63 in Montego Bay
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Property: Sandals Inn
Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing