We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family feel atmosphere!”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Maywood, New Jersey
1 review
“Wonderful family feel atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Overall the trip was lovely. The option to visit the other Sandals sites by shuttle gave us a wide variety of options you never have to really go anywhere else. I would suggest taking the Negril for with Dolton it's a nice way to learn about the culture. Richard the entertainment coord will keep you having fun along with Mr. Nibbles and his upgraded burgers and jerk wings will keep you full! Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drfine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Carlyle. It's great to read that you had such an amazing time with us. We're happy that we were not only able to meet your expectations but exceed them as well.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another fantastic experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    417
    136
    74
    58
See reviews for
71
1,333
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
487 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We booked into this resort as we knew we could "stay at one & play at 3". As others have stated, the pictures do not show you the "everyday" life of this resort. It is across from a public beach & there are locals congregating from early morning to late in the evening. At the airport we were told we were "upgraded" to the Royal Carribean, so were excited to be on the resort we had chosen to scuba dive with! Unfortunately, the room upgrade was not to my liking, so asked to return to Carlyle after 2 days, as we had been told we would have to return there our last night anyway due to the Royal being full...Mr. Elliott, the General Manager, offered us a butler suite with a butler as our room category had been given to another guest. We were grateful! The room itself was very comfortable, but the bathroom is NOT your typical Club Sandals & especially NOT a butler room bathroom, what had also bothered me at the Royal. I don't consider myself a larger person, but these bathrooms were difficult to move in...The butler suite DIDN'T have a jaccuzzi tub & you had to close the door to be able to get in the shower/tub combo. There are NO double marble sinks, like in many of the Sandals & NO vanity, so only one person could dress at a time...We were acknowledged as a Diamond Guest & taken to our room with champagne on ice & a fruit platter! We do enjoy this service! Our butler, Dennis, gave us an orientation of the small property, 2 restaurants, swimming pool, tennis courts, 1 bar & a very small spa. Our room was 311, in the middle of the U shape property, on the third floor, overlooking the pool & the ocean in the distance (along with all the locals). I did like the size of our patio, but was unable to use it much... I had requested breakfast one morning before we left for diving, so at about 6:30am and was told by our butler that it "would be best to eat at the Royal when we arrived before diving." Steve had had FOOD POISONING at the Regency buffet 2 days prior to that, so we were hesitant about eating there again, but didn't push my request as I had already had enough stress with other issues between the two resorts... The Carlyle states 24 hour room service, so not so sure why breakfast was a bother... We were given a "cell phone" to call our butler, but had a difficult time using it, so had to go thru the front desk at times. Our first morning we were awakened by the telephone at 5:30am by someone looking for Kwashi, who we found out later, was one of the managers on the property...PLEASE dial the correct # so as NOT to wake up your guests "accidently". There is a complimentary shuttle for divers, so there is no problem getting to the dive boat on time, just let someone know the day before! We had dinner at the Carlyle Restaurant twice, once as a couple & once for the Signature guest dinner. The food was good! The restaurant is right above the stage & right next to the bar, so you can enjoy music & entertainment while dining. Mr. Elliott allowed us to bring our long time friend and Sandals employee of 27 years, to dine with us at the Signature Guest dinner & to see us before our departure for breakfast. Seeing our friend was definitely the HIGHLIGHT of this trip! I had told the Soon Come Back representative of my problem with the booking & spa credit & she said she would look into it. The morning of our departure, after VERY POOR service & less than good food at the Bay Window (I was told by our friend that those in white shirts are in training & it sure showed...I had to come back twice to get seated: this is "butler service"??, go & get a coffee pot to refresh our coffee MYSELF, we had a long wait before someone took our order, the potato cakes were still half frozen, no gluten free toast...) I broke down crying.... The week of problems had taken its toll: poor room, food poisoning, poor service, no spa credit, wait staff in training looking like deer in the headlights...I was told by the Soon Come Back representative that we should go & enjoy our 30 minute complimentary massage so I could "relax". We went to the "spa", a guest room that had been turned into a room with 2 massage tables....you definitely want to use the spa at one of the other 2 resorts, there is NO ambiance here!!! I know I was ultra sensitive at this point, but the therapist "dropped" her bottle of oil in between my legs. I felt like I was an inconvenience to her...When we returned to the front desk to check out I was told my spa credit had been granted...I told her our bus was here & we were leaving for the airport...a little too late for a spa credit. She offered spa products in lieu of services. I just wanted to leave & go home... I went to the shuttle crying. Steve checked us out & was given a credit on our bill for the pictures we had purchased.... Mr Elliott was told I was crying & came to the bus to try to comfort me. Again, I just needed to go home...

Room Tip: The rooms in the middle of the U shaped building have the best view. We stayed in 311.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Cordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is disappointing to know that your vacation did not go so well.This is not the experience we strive to offer to our guests. We take your observations and comments very seriously and as a means by which we are able to amend any possible shortcomings in the vacations we offer our guests. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced while vacationing with us.

We hope that you will return for a much better stay in the future. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We love the Carlyle, have just returned from a two week vacation which included our wedding this was our second trip to Jamaica the first being two years ago when we decided this was the place we wanted to get married.
Ok we were a wedding party of 16 a mixture of young and middle aged we were a bit concerned wether everyone would enjoy it....THEY LOVED IT...we have not stopped talking about it since we got back..
The hospitality at the Carlyle is out of this world with the 3 resorts choices in Montego Bay there is absolutely no comparison this hotel has the best staff by a country mile.
I hope I don't forget anyone but let's start with Dane our breakfast buddy 16 people no problem nothing was too much trouble he was the best. Shanetta beautiful shanetta with the gorgeous smile at reception she was so helpful and had a great sense of humour, we dined in the Carlyle a few times and was served by Kimberley a credit to your business she is lovely, Lamar was great on the bar Sophie misses him lots! Richie rich and Andre are both fab at entertaining my sisters were well impressed with them Mr nibbles awesome he loves cooking and does the best jerk chicken in Jamaica, We attended the returning guest dinner WOW Doreen and Chris are fantastic don't ever leave cos we will be back every November to celebrate out wedding anniversary can't wait to become a ten year Sandals select guest....
Winston the bus driver was a dream he made sure we were all on the bus back to the Carlyle it's like being in a family :)
The Carlyle doesn't have a private beach but it doesn't matter it's like going out every day visiting the other resorts which are awesome then you get to go home every night cos that's how it feels.
We see other reviews complaining about the locals and the noise but we all can say we honestly did not hear a thing at night yes some noise during the day at weekends but that just added to our holiday to experience the Jamaican culture they were having fun playing music what better noise
is there than that ?
I think once the Carlyle has finished refurbishing all their rooms you will not get a better Vacation anywhere in the world...
Xxx

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Sandals Carlyle. We're so happy to read that you had such an amazing stay with us. We always strive to go above and beyond to please our guests and I'm glad we were able to meet that goal during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an even better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Carlyle from Nov. 22-Nov. 30th. This is our 5th trip to Jamaica. We have previously stayed at the Sandals Grande Riveria, Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton, Sunset at the Palms, and we rented a private villa in Ironshore area of Montego Bay one year. If you research this resort prior to going there will be no surprises, in my opinion. Other than being blown away by the level of service you receive, despite most reviews reporting as much.
Things I loved about this resort.

1) 95% of your meals can be eaten a la carte. The only exceptions where there was a buffet that come to mind were the Jamaican night and the International/White Night where they had buffets. Overall the food was really great.

For breakfast we always looked forward to the cinnamon Danishes. I consistently ordered pancakes/waffles with bacon, but my husband tried just about everything on the breakfast menu and enjoyed it all.

For lunch we had pizza at both Royal Caribbean and Montego Bay and loved it both times. Really wish this was available at the Carlyle because if so we would have never left during the day. We really enjoyed the snack bar at the Carlyle. Jerk chicken wings, hot dogs, jerk chicken wraps, grilled cheese, and chicken and beef patties. Like I said we really enjoyed the snack bar.

For supper we ate at the Carlyle (had the beef tenderloin and it was so good, especially the sauce), The Carlyle for Returnees Dinner (pork tenderloin which again was really great with a to die for sauce), The Bay Window (I had to get two orders of the pot stickers I loved them so much), Tokyo Joes (Great experience, and good food. Especially appetizer and soup), Cucina Romana (Our least favorite meal, but I think we just weren’t feeling it that night), Cricketer's Pint (The chicken wings were so good here).

2) This being our 5th trip to Jamaica in 7 yrs I must say that our absolute favorite thing about this resort was our ability to walk right outside the resort and interact with the locals. I was never hassled at the beach, though I met some really nice people there and really enjoyed the water at the beach. My husband and I enjoyed being able to walk right down the hip strip, especially when we needed a belt for him the morning of the graduation we were attending. We ate at a really small restaurant way down the strip past Burger King that had a pirate outside of it that had amazing fried chicken with rice and peas. We won $70 at the casino across from Margaritaville. We did go to Doctors Cave Beach one day with another couple we met at the resort, glad I went because it was the only mango daiquiri I had all trip.

3) The staff. They really are amazing. I was even able to get my husband to do aqua aerobics one morning. I loved playing Ludi (?) with Tanisha and Andre it was probably one of our favorite memories. The night of the couples game show with Richie and Andre was really fun even as an audience participant “Tell it like it is!”. Whenever a staff member at this resort passes you they will ask you if you are ok. They really are going above and beyond to make your trip special. For example, we arrived on my husbands 30th birthday. I had not had an opportunity to arrange anything special for his birthday while there since we had just arrived. I couldn’t believe when we got back to our room that night and we opened our fridge to find a piece of chocolate cake that said happy birthday. It was such a nice surprise. We didn’t even have a butler category room. The cake was really good too. My husband and I loved Nicola who prepared our room. She was so upbeat and we genuinely loved seeing her in the hallways each day. I am not going to name bar and wait staff because they truly were all exceptional. They are more than happy to get to know guests and to make sure you have whatever you need.

4) The live entertainment during supper. On three occasions at the Carlyle I was able to enjoy entertainment while at supper. On the Jamaican night there was a dance troupe and I so enjoyed having the live entertainment during my meal, on White night there was a live band and singer that were really great, and during the returnees dinner there was music that later turned into dancing. I found this to be really enjoyable.

There are only small things I would like to see improved for this resort. The first would be cushions on the wicker chairs on the patios off the rooms. I would love to see the self serve ice cream like they have at the other resorts. A pizza restaurant (I’d put it over by the tennis court and add some more seating there so that the snack bar could have some tables for 4 haha). I would love to see drink menus at the Sunset Bar. I would love to see better darts for the dart board. The addition of a checkers/chess table would be nice as well. For me these things are just me being picky and looking for ways to improve something that I already think is great. Prior to going to this resort we already had flights to Jamaica booked for April. This is the first time we enjoyed something so much we decided to return and booked for April before we even left.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Carlyle. We are so happy to read that you had such a wonderful stay and our amazing staff played a big role in making your stay so great. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our General Manager and staff.

We look forward to seeing you again for another amazing trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was our 4th time staying with Sandals and 3rd visit to Jamaica. If this was the first visit, we probably wouldn't have returned.
The hotel was below Sandals brand standard and less than average compared to similar priced resorts on the island. Pictures on the website were definitely taken in the best light and don't fully explain the character of the property.

The food was spectacular. Best meals we had at any of the three resorts in the area. Wait staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The restaurant was very quaint and romantic.

The hotel is located across from the public beach, which means...you WILL be shouted at from the road everytime you go out on your balcony with solicitations to buy drugs and/or souvenirs from everybody that has something to sell. The invasions begin around 6:00am and go late into the night. (See attached video). Cars honking, loud speakers setting off car alarms, motorcycle burn-outs, shouting, etc. Not very "resort" feeling or relaxing.

Power went out overnight. FYI...The backup generator doesn't run your air conditioning should you expect to sleep comfortably during an outage. Had to sleep without clothes or covers. Asked the front desk to possibly refund one of my wifi charges ($15/day). Was told there was nothing that could be done.

The staff was great and tried to make guests feel at home, but since other guests have disregarded the "tip included" policy, to get any special requests some staff expect "a little something" for doing various simple services the Sandals Brand boasts.

Tried to come up with a redeeming quality for this stay. I guess the food was good, and the bus was prompt to take you over to the real Sandals resorts.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chadroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for posting about your stay with us. I’m so sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We are known for providing luxury in a friendly and comfortable environment and unfortunately, during your experience, it seems we did not meet those expectations.

Your feedback is crucial in the improvement process so we thank you for your review. Your comments will be sent to our management team for review and action will be taken to ensure our future guests do not share this experience.

Hopefully, we can welcome you back for a much better vacation in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Thanks to Dane, Patrick, Richard, and Delroy for a great vacation. We had a blast. The resort is very quaint, and the staff will take excellent care of you. It is truly a carefree vacation. I was hesitant about booking the lowest priced property, but I was impressed. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back facing the garden are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MajorAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'll be sure to forward your comments to our team. They'll be so proud to hear of your kind mention. We can't wait for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Day 3 has been a great turn around, after understanding the stay at one play at three I realized Carlyle, Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay are all in the package. Stay at the quaint intimate Carlye when you want to unwind and venture to the other properties when you want a change of scenery.

Truly the best of all three worlds, Carlyle opens up Jamaican hospitality from the moment you step in. Richard and I played a couple rounds of pool like old friends, Kereisha always has a smile and my omlette ready, Patrick advised me on the best places to go and when to go, Shonetta was always there even if it's just to talk and Kwashie (not sure if I spelled that right) calls me by name like mi real bredrin from long time.

Love the vibes at Carlyle, like a home away from home... gonna grab me some home baked cookies and get my hug before I go. Carlyle has really grown on me... so sad to leave.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RichieDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,323 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,029 reviews
2.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Property: Sandals Inn
Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing