We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were looking for a great honeymoon that could accommodate my food allergy (I have celiac disease, so I can NOT eat gluten). I had no idea how comfortable about my allergy I could be! I have been to numerous places in the US that were "gluten friendly" and offered some options, but none have even come close to what Sandals Carlyle did for me. Chef Kevin met with me personally, and being that it was a small resort he frequently passed by me, and he always stopped to say "hello," ask me how things were going, and he would always make sure that I was being looked after! I didn't have a single problem with my allergy the entire time! We got to travel to the other 2 nearby resorts and I was able to eat there easily, too, especially since Kenyan at the front desk called ahead to make sure the restaurant we were eating at knew ahead of time! They not only had BREAD for me! but I also did not have to miss out on any of the amazing courses! The food was amazing!
Carlyle was our favorite of the 3 resorts there because of the personality and the intimacy of it all. We got to know the employees better. If you go, have Delroy make you a Purple Rain!
The only thing we didn't like was the high pitch, piercing squeal of the hot tub that we could hear in our room when it was on, which wasn't often. But, honestly, that is the only negative thing. Sure, the locals got a little rowdy on Saturday night, but it was a cool experience to get to see some local action, which we were totally secluded from in the other 2 resorts. It was also nice to get to visit the public beach and next time we plan on taking the short walk to downtown!
Patrick was super on top of things and took great care of us, as did everybody there! Mr. Nibbles makes the best jerk chicken! and is an AWESOME chef! Dameon, Darwin, Craig, Shane, Richie, Tee-Jay, Kaveen, honestly everybody we met there, all took amazing care of us. We didn't even have to think about where our next vacation would be, we are saving up so we can come back as soon as we can.
The location was a stone's throw from the airport as well as the other 2 resorts.Security was safe, amenities were excellent, and service was undeniably the best I've ever experienced.
Thank you so much for making our honeymoon unforgettable! We'll see you soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your amazing review of Sandals Carlyle. We always strive to meet the needs and exceed the expectations of our guests and I'm thrilled to hear that you had an amazing gluten-free experience at our resort. We can't wait to welcome you back for another great visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

That hasn't been said before.This was our first visit to a Sandals resort and it won't be our last.
The service was second to none from the moment we arrived to when we were waved off by all the staff on our departure. The staff, with no exception were superb. Thank you.
The rooms were large and very well furnished, with a four poster bed and comfortable chairs, in room coffee and tea, a fridge well stocked with water and soft drinks and a very efficient air conditioner. The bathroom was adequate, the towels changed twice a day. Our room, no 316 was at the side of the hotel overlooking tennis courts. We didn't have a balcony but did have double glazed windows which cut out a lot of noise. It has been well documented that the tiny beach opposite is used by local people (not a problem) but can be very very noisy particularly at weekends and local holidays. We were there on National Heroes Day and it really was 'Party Central' with barbecues and bars set up along the pavement.
We took full advantage of the free shuttle bus to the other two Sandals resorts, Montego Bay, known as Mobay, and Royal Carribean. We went most days for lunch, or for a glass bottom boat ride, and gaze at the impossibly blue sea and lovely beach.
We also walked down the 'hip strip' where the tourist shops are. You have to be prepared for a bit of hassling but 'no thank you' or 'not today' and they leave you alone.
I would certainly recommend the Carlyle. We chose it because it is small and we weren't disappointed at all. OK the other two are bigger with more facilities but when you got off the shuttle bus it was like coming home.
Thank you Sandals

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KD's Mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

We're so glad that you enjoyed every minute of your stay at Sandals Carlyle. You were happy with our gorgeous rooms, great property and amazing staff. The kindness of our staff has always been the highlight of many reviews and it will always be a thrill to hear compliments. It let's us know that we're on the right track. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent 8 days 7 nights at the Carlyle and had a wonderful time. Food is great, accommodations are nice and the staff is fantastic.

We had stayed in room 321 with view of the pool and the street.

Friday & Saturday Nights are loud with locals at the beach but it was free entertainment for us. Nice to interact with people at the beach. The car alarms were a bit annoying but this was a small inconvenience. You can see the planes landing but not too much noise. Montego Bay and the Royal have the planes taking off which I found more of a bother and much louder.

The hospitality and value of this resort are great. We found the other guests very nice and when off resort we all greeted each other like family.

Too many wonderful staff to thank, I don't want to leave anyone out.

We always came back to the Carlyle at night for the entertainment. If you get involved it is fun. The singers and musicians were very talented. The entertainment staff overextend themselves to make your stay more memorable. We enjoyed the talent at the Carlyle because it was intimate and personable.

Missing the Carlyle and Jamaica already. (Left Nov 1st, now it's Nov 3rd)

See you guys soon

Derek & Stephanie

Room Tip: If you don't mind street noise then choose top floor 321ish. If you want quieter then choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Carlyle. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our wonderful staff, the delicious food and your beautiful room. We know during weekends nights the outside streets can get a bit electrifying at times but we're always happy for guests, like yourselves, who see the bright side of it all. We would be more than happy to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel is the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed at.
If you've been before - they will remember you!

From the minute you walk in until the staff are waving you away from the road outside , you will feel at home.
The food is great, the drinks are great (Tee-jay and Tajay - great double act).
Four poster beds. Lovely rooms.

All round its a lovely homely atmosphere. You can do your own thing but nothing is trouble for these guys and its genuine (tips are refused!)

Brilliant. Thanks to all at sandals Carlyle.

Room Tip: Upstairs with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winstoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

We pride ourselves on the excellent service we offer at our resort. Our staff goes above and beyond to ensure that our guests have memorable vacations at Sandals Carlyle. I'm so happy to know that your stay was indicative of the norm. Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have just spent a week at the Carlyle Inn, as part of the TLC team performing, the first Kidney transplant at Cornwall Regional Hospital. I have to say returning from the hospital and staying at the Carlyle Inn made the entire experience “Simply The Best” from arriving at the hotel and seeing cheerful, always smiling receptionist Shenetta, the energetic, enthusiasm from entertainer Andre, talented, incredible bartenders Lamar, Tajay and Tee-Jay . The immaculate clean rooms and service provided. The Baywindow restaurant served the most amazing food the extra touch they provided in making us feel at home, the service provided from Darwin ,Kimberly and the professionalism and the incredible staff that work at Carlyle you do your managers proud and work above and beyond the call of duty. It was an honour and memorable to stay at the Carlyle. Thank You Carlyle for everything and best wishes to one and all highly recommended will defiantly return

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwilljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Even though your stay was not the typical vacation stay, I'm glad that we were able to make you experience a comfortable and enjoyable one. Thank you so much for your review. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I went for our honeymoon October 7, 2013 and it was AMAZING!! The stay at 1 play at 3 was the best thing ever! The people at the Carlyle made us feel like we were family! They learned our names after meeting us on the day of arrival and were always checking on us to ensure we had everything we needed. I would say hands down Sandals have some of the best people ever working for them! I look forward to our next Sandals All Inclusive trip!!!

Room Tip: 321 overlooks the pool and you can see the water from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKS9012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

We're thrilled to hear of your amazing honeymoon at Sandals Carlyle. Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure hosting you at our resort and we're happy that you got the chance to experience all of our wonderful resorts in Montego Bay. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a small but very cute resort. It was a good pace for my husband since he doesn't like big crowds but they had pretty good food. Be aware of the people on the street or beach if you walk anywhere they tried to sell us pot. Very comfortable room and bed...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
#14 of 63 in Montego Bay
1,377 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.5 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,635 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#24 of 63 in Montego Bay
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $308 - $710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandals Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing