We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding at Caryle”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Wedding at Caryle”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

So many things to say I really do not know where to start. This was our first time to Jamaica and we honestly did not know what to expect.
Within 5 minutes of us arriving from the airport we were greeted by our estranged sister Danesha (I can’t bring myself to call her our Butler, as she felt like family by time we left) with cool towels and a refreshing drink. She gave us an introductory tour and showed us around made sure our room was up to expectation and then excused herself so that we could settle in.
From that moment on time for us seemed to mean nothing and we had nothing to worry about as the staff made sure everything was taken care. Mind you we were here for our wedding and that can be nerve wracking, but as soon as we calmed down and let the staff take care of things, well it just became easier.
Later that evening after a long nap we called down and my estranged brother Dennis recommended just simple cheeseburger/fries and some cookies for a snack, my goodness the man knows how to make a recommendation! We were tired from the trip, didn’t feel like doing much and just wanted something to eat.
Going to skip ahead a couple days to our wedding as time means nothing when staying at the Carlyle. Our wedding planner Deano (I hope I spelled that right) was awesome! He went out of his way to make some special arrangements and to make sure everything was perfect. And it was. From meeting the photographer Shane to the Reverend Coates, everyone was absolutely wonderful.
A couple things I would like to point out.
Yes the beach here is a public one and it can get crowded. On the weekends the local people do like to party. But I honestly did not think it was a big deal. A 5 minute bus ride and you are at all the beach you can handle. And honestly, we went to the other resorts and could not wait to get back home to the Carlyle. Yes I say home because that is the way the entire staff made us feel. So if you think the noise may be an issue, ask for one of the rooms facing the garden.
I could go on and on about this place for hours. But I will try to simply wrap it up as it felt like home to my wife and I. The staff (All of them) felt like family. And we are booking our 1st year anniversary here and I will be counting the days until I can forget about time for a few days and visit with my new family and friends.
Sincerely
Michael and Susan Frank

Room Tip: Get the Butler service rooms. You will not regret it. If noise from the beach is a problem. Reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Carlyle. We're so happy to read of your amazing destination wedding with us. It was an honor to be a part of your special day. You were happy with our intimate resort and your wonderful stay and we are thrilled to know this.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another stellar experience!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    417
    136
    74
    58
See reviews for
71
1,333
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinson, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I were here for our honeymoon in 2011. This might be the smallest resort that Sandals has to offer but they had the best customer service and entertainment! We had a great time and besides a slight ant issue in our room one night, we really enjoyed our stay! The shuttle service allows you to visit the three other Sandals resorts in Montego Bay so you get the best of both worlds in food, excursions, and entertainment! We are headed to Sandals Grand Riviera in August! So excited!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We're so thrilled to read of your awesome honeymoon at Sandals Carlyle. We always strive to offer the best in accommodations, amenities, fine dining and customer service. Thank you for your review.

Have a wonderful stay at Sandals Grande Riviera in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lupton, Colorado, Usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Me and my wife went for our 25th wedding anniversary and stayed at the Carlyle inn. First if you stay at one of Sandals on the island you can travel by one of Sandals busses to all of the other
destinations on the island free and eat and play at all of their functions. We upgraded to the balcony ocean view and when you looked out our balcony you can see the pool and the ocean..
the staff was fantastic and the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We had dinner served on our balcony by the wait staff and the food was great...This is a all inclusive resort and everything is included.. including alcohol... the one thing I can pass on is plan your dinners in advance for one their restaurants and get your reservations in quick !! some fill up fast. We also went and toured the rum making plantation which included the sea shore and could cliff jump into the ocean...there is also a great tour for the river falls which you can also zip line all the way down the center of the river ...use the guided tours available from sandals..be prepared to tip American money for anyone not directly working for sandals !!! go from march to June its the best time any later and it will be the rainy season !!

Room Tip: book the vacation from the sandals website at least 6-9 mos. in advanced ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarence I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We're so thrilled to read that you had such an amazing stay at Sandals Carlyle. It was such an honor to make your 25th Anniversary so much more special. We always strive to create memorable vacations for Two People in Love and I'm so happy that we were able to achieve that goal during your visit.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another incredible experience!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our Honeymoon at the Sandals Carlyle in Montego Bay. It was an absolutely wonderful experience. The hotel is small, but it creates an intimate and personalized experience that we loved. On our second day there, the staff already knew our names, and anywhere we went we were greeted with smiles and offers of assistance. Our personal butler, Danesha, was an absolute jewel. She was never intrusive or pushy, but always available when needed and she made a relaxing vacation even better by arranging dinners, trips and special suprises for us that were all top notch. (Sidebar to Sandals....you might want to get this one into a management position quick!) Although we enjoyed the small, intimate setting of the Carlyle, we had access to 2 other resorts only 5 and 10 minutes away with an infinite number of dining options and activities. Lisa, the tour desk operator, was another fantastic asset. Overall, we would highly recommend this as a destination for couples looking to get away. The only negative in the entire experience was that Sandals booked our flights with Spirit Airlines. We had a 4 hour delay to Jamaica and a 3 hour delay back to the states. Not a single Spirit flight in either airport was on time, and the service was incredibly bad on top of that. We have talked about making Sandals an annual destination, but it won't happen if we have to fly Spirit. I highly recommend Sandals contract with a new airline. Othewise, great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. The view is not as good, but if you like to sleep in, it will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Carlyle. It sounds like you and your husband had a wonderful honeymoon. You enjoyed our intimate property as well as the exciting amenities of our other two resorts in Montego Bay.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another great experience.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We've visited every Sandal's property in Jamaica and the Carlyle was the only one we have never stayed at. We only had 5 days for this vacation and we wanted to be close to Montego Bay airport so we decided on the Carlyle.....it has to be one the best Sandal's (and they are all great) we've been to. The food, the staff, the rooms, the management of this property was excellent...as were all of the guests staying during that time (made so many new friends)

We enjoyed our stay so much, that we came home, booked flights and reserved 3 rooms in December. A Christmas gift for our two sons and their ladies.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We're thrilled to read of your great stay at Sandals Carlyle. It's such an honor to have loyal clients like yourselves who have made Sandals your vacation destination choice so many times. We're so happy that were able to meet and exceed your expectations during your stay.

Thank you for your review. We can't wait to offer you and your family an even better stay in December.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our honeymoon at this resort. The service here was unmatchable as the workers were always trying to make your stay more enjoyable. The resort is small but is placed at a great location close to the airport and two other sandals in Montego Bay. I booked this trip through Ultra Tech Travel working with Lindsay who took care of all the minor details. Everything worked out upon arrival and through the week. In addition, she provided a competitive price and some nice discounts.

Room Tip: The first level rooms are very basic and do not include access to the Internet for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We're so happy to read that your stay at Sandals Carlyle was so enjoyable. We strive to uphold the highest standards of service and quality and it's great to know that you were pleased with our efforts.

We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay in the near future.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I got married at The Carlyle last month and it was the best choice we could have made. They call it the smallest resort with the biggest heart and believe me they live up to that everyday of your stay. Sure, you can stay at the larger resorts but you will never experience the warm, personal, feels like home experience as you will at The Carlyle. Jerome and Andre made every night a blast and assured everyone was having a good time. The Carlyle would not be the same without those big sparkling personalities. Shane, the photographer, did a superb job with our wedding photos. Service was exceptional. We looked forward to seeing Shery, Rashane, Sean, Darwin, Denise, Jordan and so many others everyday. They would sit and chat with you and greet you with hugs. They always had smiles on their faces. We loved everyday there and we look forward to returning there the first chance we get. I cant wait to see all my new friends again. I miss them all already.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 170amyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,315 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,029 reviews
2.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
3.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Property: Sandals Inn
Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing