We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unparalled Service. Fantastic 5 star experience.”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unparalled Service. Fantastic 5 star experience.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights and though its the cheapest/smallest/quietest of the sandals resorts resorts in Montego Bay, the service was impeccable and I loved the whole experience. We're seasoned travellers, and this was without doubt one of the best holidays I've ever had.

The hotel was small and intimate but staff quickly got to know your name, (reception staff, waiters, barman, the wonderful ladies selling excursions, entertainment staff and managers). Nothing was ever too much trouble. Prince who served our breakfast each morning was a delightful man. The lovely Joanna Walker who sold us a few excursions was wonderful. Jermaine the entertainment manager was a great guy. The barmen and the wonderful young man who worked at the grill were always laughing and chatting about their island and offering helpful information.

Room service was part of the package and this always arrived quickly when an order was placed. Our room was comfortable and cleaned regularly. Cleaning staff popped in early each night to check if there was anything you needed (more fresh towels for example), and to turn over your bedding.

The barmen were fantastic! We were introduced to a 'Jamaican Smile' and we drank plenty of these. Any cocktail you wanted, they made. They make a mean piña colada too! Any drink you wanted, you got. Food was great. Varied selection, though most nights we dined at the other two Sandals resorts.

Access to the other two Sandals resorts (Sandals Montego Bay and the Royal Caribbean) is made easy via regular shuttle buses which we used a lot. The Thai restaurant on the private island at the Royal Caribbean was exquisite, both the food and the first class service. We also loved the atmosphere at the Cricketers Pub. Good food and more delicious cocktails served with a smile.

We did a few excursions booked through hotel. We booked at day at Sandals Negril and our wonderful tour guide Dalton was so much fun. We stopped at Ricks Cafe and tried a bit of cliff diving. This place has a fabulous atmosphere at sunset. We also travelled to Nine Mile for the Bob Marley tour and our very stoned tour guide 'Captain Crazy' made the experience unforgettable in more ways than one. As a huge Marley fan, the trip was quite emotive and I loved it. We also did the bamboo rafting at Martha Brae. That was such a chilled out and relaxing experience.

Sandals might be more expensive than other hotels, but it's worth every penny. These guys have got it right. They understand customer service and you feel so at home. I fell in love with Jamaica and its people and cannot wait to return. Nothing has surpassed my experience at Sandals. Loved every moment!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    422
    140
    74
    60
See reviews for
71
1,347
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

First trip to Jamaica and first experience with Sandals. We really had no idea which Sandals to stay at and opted for the Carlyle since it was the smallest and we were looking for rest and relaxation. But really, when you stay at the Carlyle you have access to ALL of the Sandals in the area. We utilized the free shuttle to visit both Sandals Mobay and Royal Caribbean. We also paid for a taxi to take us to Sandals in Negril to see 7 mile beach and Rick's café. There is variety at each Sandals between the difference in beaches, activities, bars, and restaurants. The staff is fabulous, friendly and go out of their way to make sure you are well taken care of. We opted to have the butler service which made sure your room was clean, stocked with what ever you need and they make reservations/recommendations. Part of the charm of the Carlyle is since it is only 50-ish rooms, the staff knows you and you feel more like you are at a bed and breakfast. The beach is across the street, fairly small and is a public beach- no chairs or umbrellas. I bet if you asked the staff at the Carlyle to take a lounge from the pool area (unless it's against company policy) they would gladly do it. We also spent time on the beaches of the Mobay, Royal and Negril. Scuba diving is free- very nice- but the dive groups (Mobay) tended to be large (9-10). Dive master was great- some of the divers not so great with scuba etiquette. That certainly isn't Sandals fault, but the larger the group the more potential for inconsiderate divers. The Negril dive groups were much smaller (the two boats we saw only had 4). The only real improvement that I could suggest is better beds. The bed was hard and uncomfortable as the mattress sits on wooden slats. All in all it was a great experience and we will definitely come back to both Jamaica and Sandals resorts.

Room Tip: If you stay at the Carlyle definitely ask for butler rooms- 3rd floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenkey59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Everything was just as I remembered. The staff treat you like family and the food and drinks were excellent. We will definitely be coming back for a 3rd time in the next year or two. And hopefully bringing some family with us next time. I just love the location and the fact that you can still go to other resorts to dine and they are close by as well

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We are very grateful for your excellent review. After your first amazing vacation, we knew your second stay with us had a lot to live up to and we're so glad we were able to meet your expectations. I will be sure to share your review with our General Manager and staff.

Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review of Sandals Carlyle.

We look forward to your third visit with us in the future!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Second time staying at the Carlyle where the staff go out of the way to make your stay wonderful. The chef surpassed expectations with wonderful meals and 24-hour room service. Entertainment was offered at all three resorts but we found the Carlyle perfect for us.The front desk arranged transportation early each morning so I could go diving at the PADI center at nearby Royal Sandals. My husband enjoyed getting the extra rest he needed, then joining me for lunch and a swim before returning to the Carlyle for dinner. The public beach across the street is good for snorkeling and meeting the people of "Mobay".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diveanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our experience at the Carlyle was disappointing. Although the staff were outstanding, the location and noise level made it a negative experience. Spending time on buses to get to the beach at the other Sandals resorts in Montego Bay took away from the needed vacation time for R & R. The noise level due to paryting on the public beach was also an annoyance. This went on until 4:00 in the morning many nights. But, the wonderful staff and good food needs to be commmended. It would be a 5 star if you rated only the staff and food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 696JulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We regret to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We understand that riding a shuttle to the other properties may not be the ideal way to vacation but we ensure that the transfers are as comfortable and as convenient as possible. Also, our drivers are quite entertaining, and can make the short 5 minute transfers very interesting.

While the ocean view is spectacular and preferred by many guests, the incoming sounds from the hip strip are louder in some of these rooms. Once it is brought to our attention, we are more than happy to facilitate a room change to one of our quieter garden view rooms. Our staff has been the highlight of many positive reviews and we're happy that your experience was indicative of the norm.

Thank you for your review. We hope that you return in the future for a much better stay. We would be thrilled to welcome you back home.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Would definitely recommend staying at the Sandals Carlyle. It's cheaper than the other 2 Sandals resorts and the bonus is you have access to those other resorts where the beaches are amazing. Also it's not as noisy here in terms of airplane noise. The other 2 resorts are very close to the airport.

Pros
- super friendly staff. Everyone greets you as you pass them at the resort.
- food is good at the 3 resorts. Make dinner reservations as soon as you arrive or you risk not getting into the dinner restaurants you want.

Cons
- Sandals has pictures of this property on their website that sell it as 'beach front', but the beach is across the street. We don't recommend going to the tiny plot of sand they call a beach. The locals are using it at all times of the day and night. That said, it's not really a con because you can take the shuttle to their two other resorts and their beaches are incredible. Some days we just stayed at the Carlyle when we just felt like hanging by the pool.
- Sean at the front desk was the only rude, unhelpful employee we encountered at all 3 Sandals properties in Montego Bay.
- They have many photographers that are roaming around looking to take your picture at the Montego Bay and Royal Caribbean resorts. The unfortunate thing is that you can only see your pictures at the resort that the pictures were taken. ie: if you're visiting the Royal Carribean and then you leave the resort and don't return, you'll never get to see the pictures taken of you. We'd like to see Sandals integrate their computer viewing systems so that you can look at your pictures at any of their 3 resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor at the back of the property. Make sure it's away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just back from a short stay at Sandals Carlyle (unusual as we were on a working trip at the local hospital rather than a romatic break).
From thew minute we arrived the staff were the friendliest at any hotel I have ever stayed. How they remember all the guests names is a miracle.

The hotel is lovely as is the food. the tradiitional "colonial" design and decor give it a real homely feel.
All the staff run a really tight and professional outfit and nothing is too much trouble.

The round bar is great as it gets everyone chatting... oh that and the fantastic margharitas/pina coladas....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winstoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Carlyle. We're so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Even though, your stay was business related, you still enjoyed our wonderful property and amenities, as well as the genuine hospitality of our staff.

We hope to see you again in the future for another great stay!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,408 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
565 reviews
55.5 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Property: Sandals Inn
Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandals Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Prestigia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing