We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really friendly and professional”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“really friendly and professional”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just back from a short stay at Sandals Carlyle (unusual as we were on a working trip at the local hospital rather than a romatic break).
From thew minute we arrived the staff were the friendliest at any hotel I have ever stayed. How they remember all the guests names is a miracle.

The hotel is lovely as is the food. the tradiitional "colonial" design and decor give it a real homely feel.
All the staff run a really tight and professional outfit and nothing is too much trouble.

The round bar is great as it gets everyone chatting... oh that and the fantastic margharitas/pina coladas....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winstoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Carlyle. We're so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Even though, your stay was business related, you still enjoyed our wonderful property and amenities, as well as the genuine hospitality of our staff.

We hope to see you again in the future for another great stay!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    417
    136
    74
    58
See reviews for
71
1,333
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Carlyle while on local business, and couldn't have picked a better location than the Carlyle. At the end of a busy day, it was great to return to as the service and hospitality were outstanding. The food is excellent, and the opportunity to visit other Sandals resorts in the area and be transported there so easily was a real treat. We recommend this resort for anyone who wants to have the best of both worlds by having a central Montego Bay location, as well as the benefits of other local Sandals facilities whenever you want them. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLCUK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and i stayed at the hotel as we got married there last year on the beach and we decide we had to go back.
when we went back the first person we asked for shoshana and tessa was at the front desk.
We booked the butler suite and our butler was Dennis. I had a fantastic birthday. I want to say thank you to Kaveen the loyalty manager although we missed the returning dinner.
I wouldnt have gone to another place.The satff at sandals carlyle we love you all so great.
Tessa and shoshanna we looked forward to seeing you next year.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayG829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

To say we love everything and everybody at The Carlyle, from the venerable Mr. Brown's shuttle-bus, all the way to a favoured room on the 2nd floor is an understatement. One would be hard pressed to find such a graciously friendly family anywhere.

The General Manager Christopher Elliott, a gentleman in his own right, runs the show but the family is kept together by Manager Lisa Gardner. Her dignified approach when greeting guests and interacting with them during their stay is a joy to behold. Sincerity best describes it from our point of view.

Front Office Manager Doreen Allen's ebullient greeting has welcomed us time and time again. It's evident every trip and once we get it we know we're home again. Thank you Doreen, you're a sweetheart.

Bellman Paul 1 (there are two) ensures proper registation and while guests take care of the necessary paperwork and are greeted by their hosts/hostesses Lisa, Danesha, Christopher, and Doreen, he's gone to take care of the baggage. When he quietly escorts you to your room your bags are already there. Paul takes care of things without fuss or fanfare. You're a good man Paul.

In short order Zedrene from housekeeping makes herself evident and it's our pleasure to again be on the warm side of her heartfelt welcome. Soon come back Zedrene.

Good people abound and we can't name them all but we would be remiss if we neglected a few others. Rasheen at the Bayside Restaurant, and Craig at The Carlyle. Two highly efficient live-wires who are on top of everything in their dining rooms. Each visit was a relaxing, enjoyable and happy experience guys.

Mr. Brown and Winston, the shuttle hosts, are outwardly friendly but not "in your face". Two men that make the transfer to and from the three resorts safe. Introduce yourself to them, they won't forget you.

Our gratitude to Shane (the house photographer) is personal. Our camera "gave up the ghost", so to speak, just as we arrived in Jamaica on April 5th. I approached him with the problem and in short order he offered one of his own for use the length of our visit. Plain and simple, he rescued our vacation that started out earlier at Sandles Montego Bay. Thank you Shane, you're another reason we'll "Soon Come Back"!

Not unusual one will find a plus and/or minus to any given situation. Sure, there's the odd clown on the loose who's happiest burning rubber at two or three in the morning. And yes, seems that car alarm makes itself heard at least once each trip. Thankfully it isn't often. Contrast that to a morning swim in the pristine sea across the road. Beats the heck out of the rather shallower waters at the other two resorts just down the road. We delight in conversing with Jamaicans and other visitors each morning. Posters who complain there are "locals" probably never crossed the road. On this trip we're thankful to Patrick, a Jamaican we never saw before, who offered assistance as we had diffucluty getting out of the water.

All & all, The Carlyle was/is a beautiful and unforgettable experience with unparalleled hospitality. A delightful place to "come home to" after a day in the sun.

Bob & Helen
CBS, NL, Canada

Room Tip: Being middle aged, the 2nd floor was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsted, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just had my fourth visit to the Carlyle. The reason why I go back is the wonderful people they have working for them. Denise and TeeJay working at the bar are great! Nola in the gift shop, who has been there for 20 years is a treasure. The new general manager, Christopher is doing wonders to make improvements and will keep working on making guests comfortable and happy. I was very happy to see a new workout room with much needed air conditioning and new equipment.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the third floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I recently became Sandals fans. We went to Sandals Ochos Rios in February and enjoyed it so much that we decided to take our girls on a Sandals vacation once they came home from college.

We chose the Sandals Carlyle because the bus ride to Ochos Rios was a bit long and we were only staying 3 nights, so we wanted to maximize our time at the resort and our travel dollars. We were assigned first floor rooms facing the pool and the comments about the rooms are accurate. They are dated and badly need a renovation. However, I had read these comments and did not expect the rooms to be at the same level as the Sandals Manor at Ochos Rios.

We are all certified divers, so most of our days were spent at the other resorts. As a result, we didn't interact with the staff as much, but when we did, we always found them very helpful and friendly. Although the shuttle didn't start until 9:30 am, every morning the staff arranged transportation to the other Sandals for our dives at 8 and 9 am; we were missing points on our Sandals Select account and they sorted it all out for us; they arranged a taxi to deliver us to other resorts -- it was like having concierge service.

On our last day at the resort, we attended the Sandals Select dinner and it was marvelous! We finally had a chance to chat with the staff and thoroughly enjoyed the food and the company. Many of the guests are repeat customers to the Sandals Carlyle and it felt like we were attending a family dinner.

My husband and I agreed that we would definitely go back to the Carlyle. However, we'd ask for a renovated room!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revillug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Loved sandals. Upon arrival we were greeted with a drink a grand tour. The food was amazing, loved transfer program. Definitely the quieter of the 3 in montego bay!! Loved it!! The front desk is very helpful and sweet sweet people work there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgmeista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,323 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,031 reviews
2.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Property: Sandals Inn
Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing