We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall - Good Stay”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Pros: The Carlyle is small but has lovely, lush grounds. Friendly professional, very pleasant attentive staff. The waiters, entertainment staff were all superb .The bus that takes you to the other 2 sandals hotels. It ran ontime and the driver was really dedicated (That makes you overlook the facat that Sandals is soo overpriced.

Cons: The furniture in the room is somewhat dated. the bedpost was falling apart. The bartender took his time in serving the drink while he chatted with one of his friends. The Carlyle has no private beach and the public beach across the road had people there playing loud music from their cars that could be heard from inside the hotel. We went to Sandals Royal and tried to go on the boat and were rudely told by the guy operating the boat that we had missed the last trip going to the island.

Room Tip: Choose rooms farthest from the beach/main road as you will be disturbed by the music blaring from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie_4247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Carlyle over the Christmas period and I must say that all the staff were good and that for an all inclusive the food was excellent. We visited the Royal and the Mobay every day as we enjoy lazing on the beach and found the shuttle very reliable.
Sandals(corporate) sell the holidays as luxury included, well i am afraid this is not the case. We arrived at the Carlyle and we got our own cases off of the bus and carried them into the hotel.
There were no cool towels or welcome drink although we arrived on a Sunday which was the GM's day off. Checked in and went to the room and again not luxury although the room was spotless. The bathroom was in desparate need of an upgrade. If the holiday had not been sold and priced as luxury then no problem but they are.
All that said had a good holiday and have booked for next Christmas although not at Sandals

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Recently my wife and I met our friends from USA and UK at the Carlyle to celebrate the New Year. We have been doing this for years.
We often hear negative comments and bad language, and observe unacceptable behavior when we go to the "Inn". People like ourselves book a few days at the Inn because of it's convinient location, quaint atmosphere, prices etc. The Inn has had for us a special place in our hearts; after all, some 20 years ago we began our Sandals experience and met great people whom became friends from "another country". Most years we have met at the Inn first and after the New Years celebrations, everyone goes their different way, sometimes we meet again in another resort, like we did this year, and other years.
We consider the Carlyle Home, We like the staff and administration, and we know they all do their best to accomodate us.
I want people to realize that the Carlyle is not a 6 star establishment, but it has character, history, and it is as lively as the first day we landed there.
So I suggest to all critics out there to criticize gently when it comes to the Inn. This tiny entry level resort, in its efforts to provide the best service to its clientelle, has countless times raised above many other more luxurious, more expensive and larger resorts.
So I will always raise my chapeau to the Inn, and I know they will always do better next time.
Sincere thank you to Lance, Lisa, Doreen, Paul, the Come Back desk staff, etc. so many great people who's name escape me...
Clement Rodrigue, Canada

Room Tip: Best rooms are on 2nd floor in main wing. You can book among 14 restaurants at 3 resorts in Montego...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clement R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great people, great resort, great options, great time. Make sure you take advantage of shuttles to other Sandals Montego Bay and Sandals Royal because they have additional options for restaurants and beaches that are bigger and more private.

Room Tip: We had a balcony with an oceanview. A little noisy at times but otherwise perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Another wonderful holiday vacation at the Inn! GM Lance Parrish is making every guest, returnee or new to the resort, feel special. As a returning guest, since 2001, we are always welcomed by Lance and all the staff. Love having Richard waiting for us at the airport and Doreen, Lisa, Kaveen, Paul and of course Nola ready to greet us at the entrance! Why do we continue to return to the same property??? That goes without saying! THE SERVICE AND THE LOVE! New Exec. Chef Collin makes every meal a delightful surprise!! Lady Alexa....thanks for singing "our song" and providing unbeatable entertainment New Years Eve and as an encore later in the week. All we can say is....can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I find it unreal that anyone can go here & complain about anything. We have been to Jamaica 9 times & just booked trip 10. We have stayed at all the Sandals properties. Three times at Sandals Inn & our upcoming April trip will be there also. From the time you land until the time you take off to go home we find our experience to be amazing. We have become friends with the employees there (and there are way too many to name but they are all top notch) and its like having this extended family in Jamaica. Just always remember it's their country. We are just visitors there! We have out countdown on for our return. My husband it known there as "speedo man" so I am sure anyone whos been there the same time as us will remember him. I have nothing negative at all to say about Sandals Inn. Keep up the good work guys & see you in April. Speedo, Lisa, Denise & Jon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I knew there were some drawbacks to this place, but the price was cheaper and we were able to share the other Sandals property's events, food, beach, etc. The people were very accommodating and friendly. Thank you Tracy and Jerome and TJ! My main complaints are that the noise level from the street and public beach are such that ear plugs and "white noise" were the only way to fall asleep. In addition, the 6 post cards I left at the front desk for mailing have never been received by the addressees. Most of all, my complaint that a Cuban cigar, purchased by me and left in the room refrigerator, disappeared one day, went un-addressed by management after making a formal complaint to the front desk. Shame on them!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,654 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.5 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#25 of 63 in Montego Bay
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $304 - $689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandals Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing