We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A british review -”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Kent,England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A british review -”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is the first ever sandals hotel built - from the Carlyle Inn came the idea for all the other sandals resorts.

It may not have all the luxury trappings of the other 2 larger Sandals hotels in Montego bay but as you are able to visit them via the Sandals shuttle bus than why do you need it at this small quaint and personal boutique inn?

The beach maybe public but sitting on your balcony watching the world go by and the local people who live there makes for a far more interesting sight then being at the larger resorts just looking out at the ocean when everybody has left the beach, here there is something going on 24/7 it is the real Jamaica on your doorstep.( If your a people watcher - this will be right up your street !! )

We have been told by the Manager that the resort will be closed possibly for upto 6 months for a major refurbishment but I imagine that by then the price will go up to reflect this.
So, why not save a couple of £1000 and go now as that is the price difference between the Carlyle and the other Sandals hotels at the moment.

At this resort what more do you need than a comfy bed and a clean room ? We visited the other resorts during the day to get the cool breezes as it was quite hot to sit by the pool all day, then we would return in the afternoon and head to the bar before getting ready for the evening meal whether this would be to hop on the shuttle or stay at the Carlyle for dinner.
If we went out for the evening it was always nice to 'Come home to the Carlyle'.

We suffered some predjudices from the other hotel staff and also the bus driver who seemed to rate Carlyle guests as not worthy to visit the other resorts but this was only a small handful who made comments that we experienced first hand amongst other Carlyle guests. Shame on you SANDALS RESORTS OWNER for allowing this to happen !!! We told the manager at the Carlyle about this and he agreed that he had heard from other guests previously that this happens now and again.

Lance the Manager is a legend and truly a wonderful kind man who means it when he uses the phrase 'At the Carlyle everything is possible'. He makes everything possible - he is without a shadow of a doubt a man who listens and then delivers. He is a hands on Manager who was always seen around the building making sure staff were putting out ashtrays and glasses etc, we even saw him helping staff push trolleys laden with tables, did not see this happening at the other resorts, maybe the Manager's there were sat in their plush office's smoking big fat cigars !!!

Jevan at the front desk is a bit of a diva, brilliant at his job and a lovely young man who will go places, loved his attitude and wanted to adopt him and take him home.

No hassle from the red lane spa ladies,photographer or the playmakers unlike the other resorts where they pestered us non stop - At the Carlyle if you want to join in with the games it is your choice, here you get to relax and do as much or as little as you wish.

Making friends here is easy as it is small but that is what is so lovely about this place is that you know that at breakfast you will be saying good morning to everyone and then meeting them at the bar in the evening to talk about your day, don't think you would get that at a larger resort as you may not even see the same face again during your holiday.

A good tip is to make sure that you put bug repellent on when you are by the bar, the mosquitos do have a good munch in this area as it is surrounded by a lot of plants and greenery, I understand they don't fog as it destroys the tree frogs who eat the bugs - the only thing I can say here is get a load more of these tree frogs in then !!

We stayed in room 307 which is a butler room but we did not want or need a butler.

Thanks to Kaveen,Doreen,Keiffer,Jermaine,Donovan ( Chef ) and all of you for looking after us, you are all just one big family who care about each other and the guests and it shows.

Missing you all already
Love from
Esther and Grant

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maltby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    414
    137
    75
    58
See reviews for
71
1,325
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The fact that the hotel is small is not the problem, the room that was given upon arrival needs refurbishing seems like nothing has been done for a long time also the hotel on a whole.
However the food was good the front desk staff were helpful and more over a friendly resort and very close to the airport .Maybe we will try another sandals the next vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patrick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford herts uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Just back from Jamaica. Had a fab holiday. The staff at this resort are so friendly and cheerful. We were made to feel really special, with all staff greeting us every day and asking if we were ok or if they could help.Special mentions for all the managers who went out of there way to make sure we had fun.Also to 'chef' at Nibbles grill for fantastic lunches, the entertainment crew, trainee barman Leon Robinson for the very attentive service around the pool and bar.The food was great and use of the other 2 resorts also added to the holiday. Can't wait for the chance to return. Only a small resort but full of heart!!! Might not suit those who want a big flashy hotel but if a cozy friendly place is for you, give it a go.

Room Tip: we had room 302 could see pool and sea, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boxchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at Sandals Carlyle for 7 days in a Ocean view Penthouse w/butler service. My husband was disappointed that our room was one of the ones that had yet to be updated so we had a old TV and the doors that connect outside were flimsy and there was at least a 3" gap that we had to block with towels. The noise that comes from the little beach across the street can be VERY LOUD on Friday and Saturday and there is noise throughout the day and night the rest of the week as well as cars blast their music or honk. We called our view 'Ghetto view' which was amusing in the daytime but not so much when you are trying to sleep. The local people actually bathe in the ocean and of course swim there. The staff were very nice and changed our room on the 3rd day ..we chose to go for the garden view and if you are anything other than a STONE cold sleeper you would be smart to take a penthouse garden room over the ocean view because they all face the front. We still had some oceanview but our room was actually bigger and our balcony fronted big beautiful trees with hummingbirds everywhere. All the penthouse rooms have a large fully stocked bar.
The food was very good.. the resort is very small so the selection is pretty good considering. There is no buffet at Carlyle. We had room service and it was very good as well. We did eat 5 nights at the other two resorts and I found the food to be the best for dinner at Sandals Montego Bay.
The service was good at every resort but the service at the Carlyle def stood out. Our butler Nigey was awesome and bent over backwards to meet our every need. He actually complained that we didn't give him enough to do :)
The only negative we had about the Carlyle food was that their potatoes seemed to be powdered. The breakfasts were awesome and it was nice sitting out on the little patio. We didn't ever lounge by the pool but there were many who did everyday. The drinks were amazing and the bar service and poolside service were top notch too. The one thing I hated was the chain smoking from quests while you tried to eat. This is a problem at most Caribbean resorts..however the eating area here is so small that it feels like they are sitting on your lap puffing away. I really wish resorts would restrict smoking at tables!
We prefer a quieter spot and stayed at the very back (side) of the resort which is a garden with several hammocks. Our butler even brought us food and drinks back there a few times. There is a grill open in the afternoons and the jerk chicken and hamburger and fries are very good.
The shuttle is pretty good and runs every hour to the other two resorts. It can be tricky sometimes with reservations as the shuttle stops for a couple of hours for dinner.
The beaches at Sandals Montego bay are by far the nicest ..the only draw back there is the EXTEMELY LOUD planes that fly overhead quite often. You kind of get used to it ..but some will rattle your bones. My husband loved it and 'checked out' every plane that went by.
Sandals Royal is a very nice resort. The beach is man-made so there are many areas where the sand shifts and it is very shallow pretty much everywhere. The private island is nice and has a small nude beach on the backside of it. We swam on that side as it had the clearest and deepest water. We tried 3 restaurants at the Royal and they were awesome.
We did notice that the rooms were kind of exposed at the Royal..even the higher category rooms seemed to be open and visible from the paths.
We didn't do any excursions as traveling around to the other resorts and doing watersports and using the other restaurants took up much of our time. I know that many people from the other Sandals came on the shuttle to walk around Montego Bay. It saves you at least $30 for a taxi ride. The walk down to the tourist area is about 5 minutes and it's pretty busy during the day (so quite safe). The cruise ship port is a couple of blocks down. It's is safe during the day but not recommended at night. There is a trip to Sandals Negril offered by the resort for $70pp. We didn't go but heard it was beautiful there.
The GM Lance was visible daily and is a very nice guy. You can tell that he has alot to do with the service and repeat guests at this resort.

Room Tip: I would only book a Penthouse room if having a butler is important to you. I would only book oceanvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anythingdeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I had the time of my life here!!! My husband and I wanted to feel of a small cozy resort, and were thrilled that we could go to other resorts for everything else. I will definatly come back to this place. It has a perfect mix of resort life, and local life if you choose too. We wanted the full experience when we came, and were able to do that very easily here. The staff at this resort...I cannot say enough wonderful things about them....they are all so friendly and make you feel like true friends. Our butler Daniesha was amazing!!! If you are going here for a visit, make sure to get her if you are going to have a butler service with your room! If your going to Jamaica, definatly stay here!!!! Smiles are great, the drinks are flowing, and service is exceptional!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at Sandals Carlyle in March and had a fabulous holiday. If you are at all concerned about going (I have to admit we were slightly apprehensive) don’t be, you will love it.

True this hotel is not as big and flashy as the other two Sandals resorts in Montego Bay, but that is reflected in the price. And what it lacks in glamour, it more than makes up for with warmth and friendliness from both staff and guests. We loved having full use of the other properties, but were always happy to “come home” to the Carlyle.

I can honestly say I have never stayed at a hotel where the staff are so helpful and friendly. The management are fully visible at all times, from your arrival, to your departure, and always asking how you are and if everything is ok. There are way too many names to mention individually, so I will just say that everyone we met and spoke to, do a really great job.

We booked a Seaside Premium room. It was a good sized room and kept spotlessly clean. My only criticism is that the bathroom was very dated and looked nothing like the advertised photo on their website. One point to note, is that the standard Seaside Deluxe rooms do not have balconies, so if you want a balcony upgrade to the Seaside Premium.

It is true that there is noise outside the hotel at nights, and at times it can be very loud, but it’s mainly just at the weekend. And to be honest after a day in the sun, a great evening meal, and a few drinks, we slept right through it. Never caused us any bother, and we were in a room at the front of the hotel. In fact it is great to watch the locals having such fun – after all it’s their country, and they should have access to their beaches too. We did go over during the week and swim at the public beach and sit on the wall in the sun. Nobody ever bothered us, a simple no thanks to the few offers was suffice, and the people we spoke to were nice.

We made full use of the beaches and restaurants at Montego Bay and Royal Caribbean. The shuttles run every hour, and we never had any problems. If there’s high demand for a particular shuttle such as the 9:30am bus, they will provide extra transport. In fact the shuttles provided some of the best entertainment of the holiday. We had so many laughs on there with other guests. And the drivers are great too when you get chatting to them, esp Winston.

The beaches and facilities at both hotels are gorgeous. I have to say I found the noise of the planes at MB to be too loud, and the beach a bit too busy. We preferred RC as there was less noise and the beach was quieter. But everyone likes different things, and MB was very popular with others. The Island at RC is beautiful. The only issue we found with the beaches, was a lack of shade at places, but if you look around you will find a spot that suits you.

We dined at Tokyo Joes, Cuciana Romana, Royal Thai on the Island, and The Carlyle which all required reservations. They were all delicious. Go to the front desk and make reservations as soon as you arrive, and you should have no problems. We also ate at the Pavillion and Regency at RC which didn’t require reservations and both were lovely. On the whole, meals at all of the restaurants were wonderful and service was really great.

We arranged one trip ourselves with Mack a taxi driver for Juta Tours. You will find him outside the Carlyle, or ask the Security lady in the mornings, as she knows him well. He’s a really nice guy and will arrange to take you wherever you want. We arranged for him to take us to Rockland Bird Sanctuary, which is up in the hills above MoBay. If you sit patiently, hummingbirds land on your finger to feed from little bottles of sugar water. It was lovely to be so close to them.

We had a fabulous holiday, and were really sad to leave. We will definitely go back soon – and will hopefully see lots of familiar faces – both staff and guests. There are lots of repeat guests, which is always a good sign.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Seaside Premium or above if you want a balcony - Seaside Deluxe have no balcony. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JoLoAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2012

this was our first visit to a Sandals resort and we were really impressed with everything. this hotel is small but it was perfect for what we were looking for. the waiters were very nice and professional, the managers were all smiles all the time. we even had the pleasure of meeting the executive chef, who prepared a special meal just for us. One of the restaurant waiters (ERIC) went above and beyond what was expected. this will be a yearly trip for us for sure. We were thinking to stay at Sandals Montego bay next time but we think we like the family feel of the Sandals Carlyle Inn.

Room Tip: Any room is great but we had one with a balcony facing the pool and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
7.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,277 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,225 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Property: Sandals Inn
Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandals Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing