We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I was just in Jamaica 2/22/12 at the Carlyle Inn and it was GREAT. I can not say enough about the staff especially our butler Danesha...AKA DD to me. If you go you must have her she is so great and has the best smile and laugh, just makes your day. Have to shout out at Nigy who was also great. She will be why I return. There are 2 other resorts that you can go to but honestly the only difference is they are just bigger, by NO menas nicer and I assure you not as friendly of staff as at the Carlyle. And the palne noise is soooo loud at Mo Bay ...OMG. Loved the beach with all the locals and the fact that you can walk out of the hotel and down the street to the markets, ect and experience the REAL Jamaica. I never felt unsafe. Also if you are doing tours you have got to get Big Mac he is wonderful, ask DD and she can hook you up. I wish I could go back tomorrow, but know I will return next year!

Room Tip: Stay on 3rd floor with butler service well worth it room 309,310,311 best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    419
    138
    74
    59
See reviews for
71
1,342
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Just back from ten day stay at the Carlyle and we had probably the best holiday ever -and we have been a lot of holidays. Cannot say enough about the food, the staff (Doreen in particular) and the general atmosphere around the place. The fact you were based at the Carlyle but had the option to take the shuttle bus to the other two nearby resorts gave you the best of both worlds - large, loud and lively or peacefull as the mood took you. The evenings round the bar was great for meeting people from all over the world.
We will be back in the very near future

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlie03041952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilot Butte, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the airport,we were greeted with a smile and a limousine service for which we were the only ones arriving that day.They arranged that. Checking in was a breeze. Though we stayed in an upgrade for the whole 2 weeks we were treated like royalty. They knew us by name and that we were Canadian. Most people stay in the resorts,but not us. We went on excursions and we saw what the true Jamaica was like. People are very happy and the Jamaican people eminate this.This Sandal's resort contracts a professional driver to do day trips of any length.We got to know him as our driver and would recommend his services anytime.

Room Tip: ask for a quieter room on the 2nd floor facing the tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

If you are looking for a quiet place to vacation for a few days, this place is awesome!!! The staff is friendly, and the place is quaint. Yes, the beach sucks, but it's not a big deal since it's a 5 min ride to Sandals Montego Bay at half the price. Seriously..don't waste your money at Montego...this is so much cheaper, and it's the same thing. Definitely get a garden view room if you want it a little quieter; however, being from NYC, the little noise (and it really wasn’t that bad) didn’t bother us that much. It's kind of better then the planes taking off behind Montego Bay every 20 min. Talk to Xavier, he is the man...Doreen is also really nice, and they will get you anything that you want or need. Also, see my man Andrew at the Crickers at Montego Bay...Best Bartender Ever!!! Another tip, make your restaurant reservations right away...literally, AS SOON AS YOU GET OFF THE PLANE, or everything will fill up. So, if you want to sleep here and party at the other Sandals for a fraction of the cost, this is an amazing spot!! If you are lazy and want to roll out of bed to the beach, not for you. Ciao.

Room Tip: 2ND Floor, Garden View
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

First appearance it looks small, which it is, and it turns out that is awesome. We're not world travelers, but have been to several all-inclusive resorts in the caribbean/mexico and have never been treated the way we were at this particular Sandals. All the staff are friendly and helpful (they never walk by you without asking if they can do anything for you or if you need anything) which was a big difference we noticed when visiting the other "sister" Sandals located in Montego Bay. Spent an afternoon at the Sandals Montego Bay and were not asked once by anyone on the staff if we needed anything. Also realized I could not stay there with the jets taking off right over the hotel, all day long. Not saying Sandals MoBay isn't nice, it is still a Sandals with everything you expect, but the personal service at the Carlyle far exceeds what you might expect. Spent very little time at the Sandals Royal Caribbean, other than a Thai dinner on the private island, which was excellent. We spent a little time at their beach and have to say it is the nicest with the calm waters rolling in thanks to the reef wall built out in the ocean. As others have said, MoBay seems to be the "party" resort and RC is a little more "sophisticated" and quieter.

But back to the Carlyle. I know I won't say enough good things to convey how much we enjoyed our stay. To the people making complaints: Yes, the car honking/alarms might be bothersome, but not so much as to ruin a good nap by the pool or a good night sleep (our room was poolside, 3rd floor, facing the beach). The only nights we heard much after sundown were on Friday and Saturday night. The other nights of the week, you don't hear nearly as much. Yes, the beach is across the street, it's small, and it is a public beach. The locals don't really bother you much (just say "no thanks" and you're left alone). We went across the street most days and used it without incident. Got our "fix" of the ocean and then went back to the pool area and enjoyed the excellent service our pool barmaid provided. We actually would consider being right on the public street a plus. You can simply walk out the front door, down the street to the hip strip or further down the road to downtown Montego Bay, if you want.

We booked a "Butler service" room and weren't sure we'd like that. We're not really the type to enjoy people waiting on us, even on vacation. Turned out we were wrong. Out butler, Nigy, made it clear he would do as much or as little as we wanted and gave us a cell phone to reach him. If it's your first time in Jamaica, I highly recommend this service. Nigy was so much help making reservations for dinner, arrangements for excursions, and just doing the extras to our room each night. Whenever Nigy wasn't around (obviously can't be there 24/7) we can't emphasize how great Stephen and Daneesha were at picking up right where Nigy left off, flawlessly. They were great at making sure we knew exactly who was around to take care of any needs we might have and anticipating needs before we knew to ask for them.
The food and drink situation was great. Prince runs a very tight program. He was there every morning when we came down for breakfast and still there after dinner each night to make sure everything ran smoothly. You never see anyone on the food service staff standing around. Dacia especially doesn't stop until everyone has what they want. The chef at the Carlyle dining area is incredible. The taste of the food was great, the presentation was awesome (we took pictures of our plates each night) and to those who complained that the portions are too small: ask for more. Even the grill food gets a personal touch. Tried to find out which jerk sauce was on the chicken so we could buy some and take it home, only to be told it's a personal recipe and not one of the jar sauces for sale in all the shops around town. The bartending staff were all great too. Drinks were never too strong or too weak. Clinton, our "undercover butler" (inside joke), provided great entertainment along with the drinks. Don't be afraid to ask them to surprise you with something new. We found several very good drinks we'd never heard of.

Everything at, and about, the Carlyle is designed to make you feel at home. Since it is so small (something like 52 rooms I think?) you see the same guests everyday and inevitably end up getting to know them and they're stories. The staff are also willing to share their stories and their lives living in Jamaica, just ask.

It's been 2 weeks since we got back and I still smile thinking about the week we spent there and the incredible staff we met: Nigy, Stephen, Daneesha, Jevon, Rashane, Prince, Dacia, Paul, Clinton, Yvonne. We hope they're all still there when we come back "home" next year.

Everything at the Carlyle is Irie, mon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ScottNCourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

At Montego Bay airport we were met by a Mercedes limo and taken quickly to the Carlyle where Lisa (the hotel manager) and Marsha (sandals signature guest relations) welcomed us at the gate and escorted us to reception where we were welcomed by Lance the General Manager. As the returning guest dinner (we have stayed 120 nights at various Sandals) was soon to start they suggested we drop off our cases and go directly to dinner where they had reserved a table for us.
All hotels in Montego Bay suffer noise from the planes taking off or landing. Most people seem to suffer in silence or think it’s worth it rather than travelling a further 2 hours by road to Negril or Ocho Rios.
This is the smallest and cheapest Sandals and you do not get the normal big resort facilities onsite but do have free access to all the facilities and restaurants at Sandals Montego Bay and Sandals Royal Caribbean which are a 10 minute free bus ride away.
As a small hotel the management (who are always walking around) and staff go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and as such they have a lot of return guests. The food on site is good and there are plenty more restaurant choices at the other resorts. The small bar gives guests the chance to get to know each other.
The rooms on the ground floor have no patio area but Lance gave us a nice upgrade to the 3rd floor with a nice balcony overlooking the pool. The beach on the opposite side of the road is tiny (much smaller than the photo’s show) and the general area around the hotel is a bit of a dump.
Overall we enjoyed our stay thanks to Lance and his team. They really looked after us as Sandals Diamond Members and the free couples massage was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlunWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the airport the Sandals crew were on top of it. This is the smallest of the properties in the Montego Bay area and great if you are looking for a slower pace spending time with your companion. We got a special with the Butler service and recommend this especially if it is your first trip to a Sandals resort. It saved us a lot of time trying to decide what to plan and answers all questions. You get issued a cell phone to contact him 24/7. Stephen the Butler took care of our dinner reservations prior to our arrival and we were able to get in the hard to book restaurants. The shuttle to the neighboring resorts runs every hour so if you are looking for beach activities they are always available. The beach here is a public beach and have to admit gets a bit loud at night. This presented no problems at all and the experience was a relaxing vacation all the way around. Would recommend this resort to anybody in the future and plan to revisit in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,367 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
5.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Property: Sandals Inn
Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing