We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“at home in jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“at home in jamaica”
Reviewed December 1, 2005

We have been to MoBay Sandals four times in the last two and a half years. We love it! The grounds are beautiful. The food is fresh and delicious! The rum is good all the time, all the time the rum is good!!! LOL
The playmakers are like longtime friends. We always feel welcome like we are home. Shaniel, Andrea, Davion, Toni-Lee, Daina, Marlon, CJ thanks for the party on our last night. We love the memories, they keep us going though our freezing cold winters. Zuki,you are too cool! Hector thanks for keeping me on my toes and never bored with drinks LOL The bartenders in the piano bar too you are crazy good!
Jamaica is a wonderful country, with fantastic people and culture. I cannot say enough great things about it. We cannot stay away...
We will see you in a short while!!!
Much Love to you all!!
Jimmy and Sheila

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,387
    1,139
    418
    224
    147
See reviews for
175
4,002
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco,ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2005

We stayed at this resort this past september. Anyone thinking of going there...change your mind unless you like a run down, dilapidated, noisy, excuse for a resort.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank fyrmandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, Pa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2005

Went to Sandals in April of 2005. We did not expect too much after reading the reviews but where we surprised. It was more fantastic than we could have expected. The people where great and did anything to make sure you had a good time. The room we stayed at was more than anyone could expect. The food was very good, my wife had lobster almost everyday. As for the planes they are not as bad as people put on. Half the times you do not even notice them. If you want to go and relax at a nice white sandy beach with clear blue water this is the place for you. Going again every April and already booked April 2006.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bump1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2005

My husband and I visited Sandals Montego Bay from 11/21 to 11/26, for our first anniversary. From the time our plane landed we were greeted by the Sandals staff and made to feel special. We were escorted to an air conditioned room in the airport where there was a fruit tray, soda, bottled water, beer, a bathroom, etc. Then the van took us to the resort nearby. Our room was beautiful, right on the beach, and within easy access of all activities. Each day the maid would leave beautiful fresh flowers on the bed and throughout the room. Many of the reviews I read complained of the noise from the airplanes flying over the resort, but whenever this took place, the whole resort stops and waves at the planes, including the staff. Everyone even does this inside! It was so much fun that we would get excited when we heard the planes coming! If you can't find fun at Sandals Montego Bay then you must not be a fun person, because there are non stop activities to join. From theme parties to beach olympics, beach billiards, basketball, tennis, shuffleboard, pictionary on a rainy day to volleyball. Each activity you participate in helps you earn points towards your Sandals necklaces. You can also win bottles of Jamaican rum! If you just want to relax, that's fine. There are a lot of quiet spots to just soak up the sun. The lounge area has beautiful couches and chairs to just enjoy a quiet drink and escape the sun. The beach is huge and always kept clean. People constantly walk around to make sure there is no trash or empty glasses laying around. There are also little huts if you prefer the shade. The playmakers, which are the entertainment staff, seem to be there 24 hours a day! Ann Marie runs the show and she is so much fun. Steam and Lisia kept us laughing. Everyone seemed like old friends by the time we left. Most of the playmakers knew us by name and would come sit with us on the beach, just to say "hello". The shows each night were so good. There is never time to be bored. On our first night, there was a beach party with a huge buffet, marching band, fire eater, and beach games. We were married at Sandals in the Bahamas last year, and it was so beautiful and elegant there. The food was incredible and the service was unbelieveable. While Sandals Montego Bay is not quite as big or new, we will probably return there because there is much more to do. People seem to interact more because they get to know each other through the activities. We met so many nice people playing the games. These people say they have traveled all over the Carribbean and will now only return to Sandals Montego Bay because they love the atmosphere there. The bartenders were so funny and pleasant. They kept everyone entertained, especially Dean at the Club Escapades. We were welcomed as returning guests to a elegant cocktail party and dinner, where all the ladies received a rose and the men received a cigar. Awards were presented to couples who have returned often. The general manager, Horace, gave a very nice speech. He was around the resort often, which we thought was really great. I would personally recommend this resort to couples of all ages. You hear all these horror stories of people trying to sell you things in Jamaica. Maybe that's true if you leave the resort, I don't know. There were men in little canoes at the end of the pier if you wanted to buy necklaces or shells. If you didn't, they left you alone. The staff at the airport were very nice, too. My husband and I had such a good experience that we are planning our next trip already!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Barbieloop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2005

OK, now the truth about Sandals Mobay. Yes, it's close to the airport and you have two choices-you can be on a bus for another hour or even more to Negril/Ocho Rios or, you can choose to ignore the 10 seconds that the planes fly over and let the rest of the resort make up for it. The staff is absolutely terrific-please don't bring a sour face and expect them to kiss your behind every second, they are not slaves, but if you smile and are being polite with them, they will be the same way. I was not called any name other than "my lovely lady" at all places-the beach, the restaurants, the bars, etc. The playmakes work really hard to give you a good time-Marlon was great at rounding up folks for beach volleyball, and at night, the shows they put on are hilarious, and the band is amazing.
For a spoiled New Yorker, the food was great quality and selection. There was always a choice-you can pig out, you can eat healthy, you can stuff yourself full of sweets, or you can get a fresh salad. SMB is all about choice in all areas-you can be on the beach all day, swimming and suntanning, or you can join in all the action.
Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a premium room without us even asking.
After reading all the negative reviews, I was really scared, but I am so glad we went.
The grounds are beautiful, they maintain them every day and they really take pride in their work.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank babysladkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2005

For our 20th anniversary my husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a vacation - the first vacation longer than a weekend in 20 years! We studied many travel brochures and with the help of our TA decided on Sandals Montego Bay - and are we ever glad we did!

Our trip began with flights on Continental out of Boston, connecting thru Charlotte, NC, and arriving in Montego Bay. All flights were pleasant and uneventful, which is a great way to start a vacation as we all know. Being a Saturday afternoon, Immigration was somewhat busy and it took us about 1 hour or so to get thru. We retrieved our luggage and headed off to the Sandals Lounge, where we were greeted by several smiling Sandals employees. We helped ourselves to a Red Stripe, settled in for about 10 minutes, and were quickly called to head to our van to the resort. After about a 10 minute ride, we arrived at the front gate of SMB where we were again greeted by smiling Sandals employees, welcoming us. We headed to the Conceirge Lounge, filled out our paperwork, and were immediately taken to our room - a lovely suite on the second floor of the Palms Bldg. Our wonderful view was overlooking the beach volleyball court, the beautiful Jamaican water, and white sand.

We quickly settled in, unpacked rather quickly, and went exploring. Our first stop was the Beach Bar and Grill - a welcome site after the "goumet" food on the plane. Had a quick bite, explored some more, and returned to the room to finish settling in. Had dinner in the Bayside that night, and seeing as how we had gotten up at 3 AM, we found we couldn't stay awake any longer (between the drinks, the heat, and the humidity) and by 7:30 that night we had crashed!

Next morning I was up early, and went out in seach of coffee. (I could have made some in the room, but heck, I was on vacation - why stay in the room?) Took my book, my camera, and had coffee on the terrace outside Bayside. It was very pleasant and peaceful sitting on the terrace every morning watching the world and the resort wake up and come to life. After breakfast we headed to the tour desk and guest services desk where we made reservations for tours and dinner.

Our first tour was to Rose Hall, the Great House, where the White Witch, Annie Palmer, is said to still reside. Very interesting tour. No really ghostly occurrences, but we enjoyed anyhow. My husband went deep sea fishing one afternoon. They did manage to hook a 6 foot Marlin, but just as they got it up to the boat to pull it in (NO, this is NOT a fish story!), the fish spit the hook out. Oh well.....

We also took the Chukka Underwater Sea Trek, which was just amazing. You wear this heavy helmet that is pumped full of air, and you walk on the bottom of the ocean, viewing the coral reef and all the fish swimming around you. You can wear your glasses, and your hair even stays dry! Just amazing - I highly recommend this.

The last tour we took was the all-day trip to Sandals Grande Ocho Rios and Dunns River Falls. We LOVED Dunns River! What a blast climbing those falls! Also highly recommended!

When we spoke to the girl at the tour desk we asked her about attending a soccer game. She wasn't familiar with this, but connected us with three of the bartenders who just happened to be standing by the Main Bar. Now, none of them work at the Main Bar. Two work at the Beach Bar, and one at the Piano/Swimup Bar, so we were very lucky that they just happened to be there. When we asked about a soccer game, they jumped at the chance to accompany us and told us that there was a game that night, the local Montego Bay time versus a team from the eastern side of the island. We made arrangements to meet them when they got off work. We traveled with them, and many other employees, by the local bus into town. At the end of the bus line, we all got off, and the group of us going to the game headed off walking. It was a very interesting experience being in the section of town where the locals go. The stadium was nothing like our stadiums, but it was exciting watching the game, everyone united in the same thought, regardless of the language (the ref stinks! LOL! - universal language). Tie score. These 4 Sandals employees (a 4th employee joined us before we left the resort) took the BEST care of us, ensuring that we were safe, and that we were returned back to the resort. We can't thank them enough or say enough about their thoughtfulness and caring.

We ate at Tokyo Joe's, Bayside, Cucina Romana (twice), and at Royal Thai at SRC. All our meals were wonderful! No complaints! Two absolutely amazing lobster meals! The spread of food that was put out for the Halloween meal and the International Buffet was fantastic - and the desserts absolutely amazing, many matching the theme of the night. The Halloween night entertainment was a wonderful musical production featuring dancers and performers. Art auctions were held two other nights. (Most nights we didn't stay up for the shows, which started at 9:30.)

After the first day or so the weather cleared and we had hot, sunny, humid days, usually with an afternoon storm, but then clearing again after. Spent much time on the beach soaking up the rays. I was not used to being in such warm ocean water (I'm from New England, after all!) and I couldn't get enough of it.

We really got a kick out of the airplanes. Yep, that first day it was a surprise, but by day 2 we hardly noticed them. Momentary inconvenience - long enough to take a drink and return to your conversation.

Don't let the planes deter you from this resort. We absolutely loved it there. We met many very nice people and made a few friends we will remain in contact with. We would love to return sooner rather than later! Do not hesitate to try SMB!

Helpful?
22 Thank Winnekini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 20, 2005

Having returned from this "resort", I wanted to pass on my disappointment to any fellow ULTRA All Inclusive guests who may be thinking of visiting Sandals Montego Bay - DON'T!!!

It's position is well known - i.e. immediately next door to the main runway at Montego Bay, however, the amount of noise was a real concern, AND the frequency of flights, together with the fact that the last plane out was as late as 2400 every night!! They are so low, it's a standing joke in the hotel that everyone "waves" at the planes, to try to make a joke of the noise and pollution.

I'll write a more detailed review later, but in essence, we found the property to be run down, tired, and in need of a refurb, a BIG refurb!

Staff AND Manager's alike were also "jaded" and having expected smiles, and lot's of friendly help and advice, there were many times when even asking for a beach towel became a major issue for them to sort.

We also visited Sandals Royal Caribbean - an alleged favourite with British guests - please consider that there is a good amount of BUILDING WORK ongoing, with all the associated noise - NOT something one associates with a Caribbean All Inclusive property of the kind of price one has to pay for Sandals!!

Ian from the UK -

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,268 reviews
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
3.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,029 reviews
54.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing