We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cricketeers Pub at Montego Bay is the place to be!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Malta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cricketeers Pub at Montego Bay is the place to be!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

All the staff at Sandals Resort defiantly have made an amazing impression on us, as regards to their exceptional service to make us feel at home.

However, we feel that the following man went out of his way to make our stay an exceptional one!
We give a spacial thanks to Mr. Menka, who works at the Cricketeers Pub at Sandals Montego Bay Resort. He is a proper gentleman, brilliant, well-groomed, charismatic person. Whom you definitely would love to meet, as he really knows how to make your each visit at the Cricketeers Pub at Sandals Montego Bay Resort a great one!

Many Thanks & Regards
James & Joanne
From Malta

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James_Muscat_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,284
    1,114
    401
    219
    145
See reviews for
167
3,876
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were fortunate enough to spend a day at the Sandals in Montego Bay while in Jamaica last week. We had met the Hotel Manager, Dawn Smith, while staying at the Sandals in the Exuma's and she invited us to come and see her resort when in Jamaica - so we did - and we are so appreciative of her generous nature. The resort is absolutely stunning - the grounds are immaculately kept; the rooms are beautifully appointed; the staff is beyond helpful and gracious (Gerdine at the outdoor grill and bar is a sweetie); and the meals are delicious and top-notch. Don't hesitate to stay at this outstanding resort! We even got to spend 2 hours on the Sandals dive boat and see Montego Bay's gorgeous waterfront. The staff on board think of everything too! Thanks again for a wonderful day! Wish we could have stayed longer - but we will soon come back!

Room Tip: The airport is in your backyard, so be prepared for the jets taking off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

About Us:
We are a married couple early 40's/50's. This was our 14th trip to Jamaica, 1st to Sandals Montego Bay. We are Diamond tier Sandals Select members.

Arrival/Departure:
We had a Sandals private transfer from Montego Bay airport to the resort. When we reached the Sandals lounge, they tagged our bags and we went inside to wait for our car and use the restrooms. It’s good that we were keeping an eye on our bags because they grabbed them and put them on the cart to go with the normal bus. We had to step out and have them removed from the cart so they could stay with us. I’m sure they would have made it to the resort with no problem but we didn’t want the worry. That was the only hitch. After about 10 minutes, we were escorted to our car and driven straight to the resort. Overall, there were no major issues with arrival or departure.

Accommodations:
We had booked in a Beachfront Grande Luxe Club Level Room. When we arrived, we were offered an upgrade to a Beachfront Walkout Club Level Room. We requested to see the location and because it was so close to the entertainment pavilion and beach snack bar, we were concerned about noise so we elected to keep our originally booked room. We did like the idea of the walkout and we would have accepted the upgrade if it had been in a better location. As it was, our room (#708) was on the 3rd floor with a beautiful ocean view over the Stew Fish restaurant. The room did show its age but we had no major complaints. One minor inconvenience was that it took a very long time (5-10 minutes) for the water to get hot in the morning. This only seemed to be a problem very early in the morning before most people were up. Any other time during the day, the water temperature was fine. Another issue was the bed. While DH found it very comfortable, I found it difficult to sleep on and woke up each morning with severe back pain. Not really sure what else to say about it except that people's bodies will react differently to a change in their usual sleeping conditions.

Food/Beverage:
We know that food is very subjective so please understand that these comments are simply our opinion. In general, we thought the quality of the food was quite good. For dinner, we particularly enjoyed the Oleander Room Restaurant and the Carlyle Restaurant (at Sandals Carlyle). The Bayside Restaurant was also quite good. Cucina Romana and Le Jardinier (at Sandals Royal Caribbean) were both good but not to the same level as Oleander. Also, the mosquitoes at Le Jardinier were terrible. We rushed through dessert just to get out of there. We definitely recommend insect repellent if you are planning to eat there. Be aware that all of the restaurants mentioned are outdoors except the Oleander Room which did not have good air conditioning, so either eat later in the evening when it cools down or plan to sweat through your meals. And, if you do choose to enjoy the restaurants at the other two Sandals resorts, note the shuttle bus schedule. Twice we had relatively long waits for the bus to return us to our resort after our meals were over. Breakfast at Bayside was very good considering it was buffet style. Lunches were very good especially the pizza from Dino’s. To our surprise, the chicken alfredo from the room service menu was also quite good. The self-serve ice cream at the Mariner Grill was very good too, not like the ice-milk type stuff you get sometimes on cruise ships or other places. Drinks were hit or miss. Most were made well but the many pina coladas ordered throughout the week ranged from very good to completely undrinkable. Never did figure out why.

Activities/Entertainment:
We didn’t take part in much of the entertainment activities. The purpose of this trip was pure relaxation. Most of our time was spent in the beach cabanas that can be rented by the day. The first day, we were in Cabana #1 but we moved to Cabana #3 for subsequent days because they were able to bring out some portable steps to make it much easier to get into and out of. Cabana #1 is very high up and they cannot place steps down for that one because they would float away in the surf. The cabana butlers take great care of you but sometimes it was quite a while in between visits. I think they do that on purpose in order to allow you to relax so if you want them to come by more often, you’ll need to ask. We did enjoy the charity casino night. We both played at the poker table and were still alive when they shut it down. We didn’t win any of the prizes but we had fun and it’s nice knowing the money goes to the Sandals Foundation charity. We watched a little bit of the staff talent show at Sandals Royal Caribbean while we waited for our bus after dinner. The performers weren’t very good but the crowd was very supportive. We were glad to see that because it takes a lot of guts for them to get up there and perform for us. It did seem like the evening entertainment was well attended so we can only guess that the shows were good. We also attended the weekly returning guest dinner. Cocktails were served on the Almond Terrace and the dinner was set up where the Bayside Restaurant normally is. They did a good job with the award presentations during the cocktail hour. It was a lot of fun.
Red Lane Spa - We enjoyed a 50 minute couple’s massage in addition to our complimentary 30 minute couple’s massage that comes with our Diamond status. Both Andrea and Nardia were fantastic.
Fitness Center – Nope. Not this time. LOL

Tours:
We did not do any tours on this trip.

General Comments:
As many have mentioned in previous reviews, there did seem to be a bit more action at this resort than we are used to at some of the other resorts. And, a lot of the guests were younger and many were on their honeymoons. Even so, this was not a problem for those of us who wanted to just laze around. It seemed to be a very good balance overall. We did not see any issues with a lack of beach chairs or pool floaties like we’ve seen at other resorts. I can see why they use the “original” Sandals for training.
Regarding the internet connection, be aware that the basic Wi-Fi that is offered free to club level and butler guests is very slow. Even basic web surfing can be tedious. So, if you need to stay connected, you will want to upgrade to the premium Wi-Fi service ($42.99 per week). According to my speed test app, the premium Wi-Fi was about six times faster than the basic free Wi-Fi. It was not even close to the speed I get at home but it was fast enough to stream programs from my home TiVo, although the video quality was not great.

Although he is new to this property, Carl Beviere is doing a fantastic job as General Manager and we really enjoyed getting to know him throughout the week. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and will likely return in the future.

Room Tip: We loved the view from our 3rd floor room in the Palms Block but if you have difficulty with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sandylovnsandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have been fortunate enough to travel to Caribbean all-inclusive resorts on many occasions in the past 12 years. Most often Sandals but other chains as well. We have stayed in many wonderful resorts and on many wonderful islands. Of course Sandals quality is top notch and very consistent yet each of their resorts has a slightly different feel. For us, Jamaica has become our island of choice. Numerous direct flights from Toronto get you there in under 4 hours. This relatively short flight duration is important to us. Jamaican food is simply delicious and Sandals world class chefs ensure that what is on offer for breakfast, lunch and dinner has a wonderful variety of flavour. No food boredom here, also important for us. The beaches in Jamaica are some of the best and the one in Montego Bay is no exception. Soft sand, no sea weed, no stones in the water to hurt your feet and crystal clear, turquoise water. This is also important to us. Most importantly, Jamaicans are some of the nicest people we have ever met. They are genuinely welcoming and they do not resent the fact that we are on their island. In fact, we typically are left feeling better after each interaction. The people and staff are also important to us. Yes, the planes take off right over head but the noise only last for a few seconds and we stop noticing it at all after the first day. This is more than made up for by the short 10 minute shuttle ride from airport to resort. Short shuttle distance is also important to us. Sandals Montego Bay is not a gigantic resort and everything is close. We love main the lobby area that opens to the entertainment stage that is open to one of the outdoor restaurants and of course, a bar and all of this is open to the sea. The comfortable seating in this area is a great place to get out of the late afternoon sun and have a cappuccino. In total, Sandals Montego Bay has everything we are looking for in a Caribbean vacation. Why go any where else!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunscreen_Sally46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We chose this resort primarily because we wanted a very short ride from the airport. The down side is that the resort is right next to the airport runway and the planes are very close and loud. I thought I would have a huge problem with this and was reluctant to stay at this resort, however, it really was not an issue. It was actually somewhat fascinating to see the planes up close while they are taking off and every one in the resort raises their glass to toast the departing plane.

FIRST IMPRESSION - A number of resorts mention Big Al, who gets you checked in. He could not possibly be better suited for his job. He is super warm and welcoming and makes a great first impression for this resort. He also gave us a super upgrade to a beachfront walkout.

THE POOLS - not much to write home about, however, this is a beach centric resort. We spent a lot of time at the swim up bar, which was fun. If you are more of a pool person go to one of those resorts in Mexico or Punta Cana with the huge pools. The beach is where it is at here.

THE BEACH - Nice stretch of beautiful, soft sand. Very few rocks, clear water, calm waves. Very well maintained and meticulously kept. Excellent variety of water sports included. Snorkeling right off the resort was included and very nice. Saw a HUGE stingray.

THE FOOD - one of my few disappointments. Not up to par with other Sandal's resorts that we have stayed at. Not even up to par with the last high end, super all inclusive in Mexico we went to (which was excellent). The food was NOT bad and most of our meals were quite good. It simply did not meet the expectations set by our last visit to Sandals Grande Riviera, where every meal was amazing.

THE DRINKS - The drinks were excellent and ALL of the bartenders were skilled, engaging and great at their jobs. The top shelf liquors were a little lacking. Tons of great rums and gins, which is to be expected in Jamaica, but i would like to have liked to have seen some high end tequilas and vodkas. An on draft alternative to Red Stripe would have been nice too, but again, when in Rome . . .

THE ROOM - got upgraded to a club level oceanfront beach walkout. The room was a little dated and basic but very well maintained. The location was amazing - on the beach in front of the beach bar, grill and stew fish restaurant. I could see where some people would be put off by the high level of activity near this room but it suited us just fine and we loved walking off our patio and right onto the beach.

SERVICE - This is where Sandals really sets itself apart from all of the competition. However, again, the service at this resort did not meet the high bar set by our recent experience at Sandals Grande Riviera. Almost every one was nice, engaging and friendly, but there were just a few staff members who would not look at you or even respond when you said hello. One staff member in the Oleander room was outright terrible to us. Overall very good service except for just a few bad apples and one really terrible one.

A few shout outs. Karma and all of the staff in the gift shop were beyond terrific. I HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE shopping!!!!!!!! Especially when my wife drags me along!!!!!!!! The ladies in the gift shop were very kind and funny and made going into the gift shop a pleasure. I walked in on housekeeping while they were doing our room. He had our clock radio blasting Reggae music and was singing and dancing while he cleaned our room. I danced with him while I grabbed a few things. Entertainment staff were great. I do not know where they get the high level of energy to be spot on all day and way into the night. All of them are among the best at what they do. All of the bartenders were first rate. Big Al set the tone for the rest of the trip.

OFF RESORT - Took a taxi to Scotchie's, which is said to make the best Jerk Chicken on the planet. A truly authentic Jamaican meal and experience and the absolute highlight of our entire trip. I cannot possibly give this little off resort trip a higher recommendation.

Went to Sandals Royal Caribbean right down the road. Much smaller and quieter than our resort. Not necessarily a bad thing, but we preferred the livelier resort. Private Island is pretty cool. Nice pool, swim up bar, hot tub, BBQ shack, Thai restaurant and nude beach. Had a great lunch at the BBQ shack.

OVERALL - An older and kind of dated resort but fanatically maintained on every level. Beautiful grounds. A five minute ride from the airport, which is great, but planes fly loud and close, which really was not a problem. Food and service were both very good, but not up to par with other Sandals or other high end super all inclusives. A very fun, and active resort, which do recommend this resort and will return, but want to check out Sandals Negril next.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank adamhadem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Fantastic experience at Sandals Montego Bay. Arriving at the Sangster Airport, we found the Sandals welcome area quickly and were immediately impressed with their attention to detail and service. The staff was top notch and the food was superb and always available. The entire staff was professional and super-friendly (a shout out to Scion and Sandrika - they really made the Sandals experience special). There was so much to do and never a dull moment with other like-minded couples visiting this resort. The massage at the Red Lane spa is well worth the price; I highly recommend it. The Jamaican attitude of "no worries" was prevalent throughout the entire stay. Some tips: I will advise a LOT of suncreen; I started to burn a little after two days. Also bring US dollars in increments of 1,5,10.....it's good to tip baggage handlers, shuttle drivers, and masseuses. (there is no ATM at this location, so plan ahead)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This review is well overdue. Our vacation at sandals Montego Bay was wonderful!
The staff worked hard to accommodate all of our requests. We had a butler suite & felt very pampered by our butler Danesha. The food was good & it was a nice variety. We can't say enough about the manager (Glenroy) who was extremely helpful, always remembered our names & genuinely seemed to enjoy his job! We highly recommend Sandals Montego Bay

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
8.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
3.6 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#10 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,097 reviews
28.2 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,573 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Reservation Counter so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing