We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great vacation!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Had a great vacation!!!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed at sandals with five other couples in our group.We all had a great time. The food was really good, no problem getting into any of the restaurants. The snorkeling trips were fun, I went three times.The service was exceptional,BIG thanks to nickesha, chevy, and soloman!!! The planes were no big deal, did not bother any of us. We did a few exursions, the rose hall (go at night) the catamaran cruise was alot of fun, and we went parasailing by Negril. The only thing that we noticed was the rooms were not equiped the same, like no bottle openers in some, or no hair dryer.No big deal. We can't wait to go back! Also if you go off the sandals property be sure to have plenty of small bills, everyone has a hand out!

Room Tip: We had a beach walkout room it was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WyomingLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review!
It sounds like you and your friends had an amazing time together at Sandals Montego Bay. We are thrilled that everyone enjoyed exploring the resort and beautiful island surroundings. It was our pleasure hosting your couple's retreat and look forward to having you all back again one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,394
    1,140
    418
    224
    147
See reviews for
175
4,010
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a group of three couples visiting for 5 days and we had a blast. The resort was great, but what really made our experience memorable was the staff. We met Hartland at the orientation and he took care of us the entire trip. We had a great time hanging out with him and learning more about the island. He made sure we were included in fun activities had a good time. Courtney also seemed to show up and say hello wherever we were at with a smile and a joke. His service was top notch. Jasino also took care of us and made sure we were entertained. They made the trip worth it more than anything else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Ace,

Thank you for your review of Sandals Montego Bay. We are so pleased that had a phenomenal time with your friends and acquired some new friends during your stay with us. Our staff members truly embody the warm, inviting spirit of the Caribbean and they will really appreciate your kind remarks. We hope you will return soon for another fantastic vacation experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We flew into Montego Bay on June 25th and were greeted at the airport by the Sandals staff. We were quickly bused to the property. There we were ushered I to the concierge's office. There we were greeted with a cool towel and refreshments. We arrived at 12:30 well before the 3pm check in. Roxana greeted us and checked to see if we could get our room early, we had a hell of a flight from DFW To MIA the night before with less that three hours sleep and we wanted to change. Sadly, the room was not ready so Roxana led us to a separate building and got maintenance to turn on the AC while she went for a waitress. We had never been to Jamaica nor to an all inclusive BUT by 3:30 we went looking for assistance. We found the concierge's office again and Roxana had gone home for the day and had "forgotten" about us. Michelle was super quick to apologize to us for what happen and scurried us to our room. The room was very very dated! :( . That evening Marvin gave us a tour and managed to salvage our stay. The next morning we went to the concierge to arrange transportation to get to the other properties and who do we see? Roxana! I smile and return her greeting and tell her that she "forgot" about us yesterday. She laughs and says "did I?" . An apology would have made us totally happy but her indifference was sad. Sorry that Sandals has to employ help like her. Outside of her indifference, Jamaica was a welcomed vacation.

Room Tip: Jets from the airport fly right over your rooms. Not good. The Italian restaurant in great. Gary, ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hello Stacy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Sandals Montego Bay. We were happy to hear that you did enjoy you time in Jamaica overall but quite disappointed to learn that there were a few small issues at the beginning of your stay that lessened your experience a bit. We strive to provide our guests with exceptional service from start to finish and we are never pleased to hear that we fell short in some way. Because of that, please accept my apologies. As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for immediate evaluation and action as needed. We hope that you will afford us a chance to make things right during a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We went for 3 days over Easter as a quick break from the long spring we have had. We didn't wait for the bus and had a car take us directly to the resort since we only had carry on luggage. We went straight into the concierge lounge and waited to be taken to our Beach Front, Ground Floor suite. We were happy with the location and room. Furnishings were showing some wear but we were satisfied. The beach was beautiful (not big) but very well kept and plenty of chairs. There are airplanes taking off overhead, but we loved it.. It was very interesting to us.. We did not hear it from our room..

We loved the food at all the venues.. We had a dinner on the beach one night and one on the pier.. It was a fun experience.

We would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: Ground floor beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hello Becky,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay at Sandals Montego Bay. It was a privilege to host your quick tropical escape and we are so happy that you enjoyed soaking up all the warmth of Jamaica. We hope to welcome you back soon for more adventures in paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

First time here. we stay at 4 and 5 star places only. So - from the airport, you have to wait about 20 minutes to get the bus to the resort. ok. I had no idea the resort is 50' from the airport, literally!
The first time a jet takes off, really gets your attention. But by the 4th day we didn't mind it too much. They only go from around 10am - 4pm.
Checkin took about 30 minutes. wasn't ready for that. we had to fill out a form of our information? Didn't they have all that from my booking??? I filled it out online when I booked. oh well.
shown to room. no elevators. ah that's ok I guess. we were on 2nd floor of 3. Hot though. Our room keys didn't work. The girl who showed us to room got a maid to open our door. She got new keys (20minutes) They still didn't work. Oh BTW our bags hadn't shown up yet so we're in our travel clothes and want to get to beach. Finally our bags show up 40 minutes after being in the room. We change and walk to front desk, where we run into the girl who showed us our room with the 3rd set of keys. Yeah, they worked. Room was ok, 3 1/2 to 4 star at best, older. No pens! Rest of day, great.
food was mostly ok the entire time. loved the breakfast bar. The staff were all very nice!
One restaurants that doesn't take reservations, actually does through the butler system. They come in, save a table then go get there folks. Didn't like that. table looked empty, yet we couldn't get it. Bad system. No reservation should mean no reservation.
Beaches were great.
Overall, not a bad stay, we'd come back, but NOT a 4 or 5 star resort.

Room Tip: sign up for the Club checkin, must faster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello Rodney,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Sandals Montego Bay. We are pleased that you had a great time in Jamaica but we understand that there were a few things that you felt could be improved in terms of our service. We appreciate you taking the time to share your input with us and we will look into those concerns you mentioned. We hope that we can welcome you back again for a stay that will exceed all of your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We just got home last night from a 4 night stay at Sandals Montego Bay in Jamaica and it was the most INCREDABLE TIME EVER. The property is an older property, but to me that just means character. The staff was….. I can’t even put into words how superb the customer service was, second to none for sure. There was so many activities to do, fun staff, fun people, fun, fun FUN!!! We took one of the tours over to Negril and it was just as spectacular as Montego Bay on the INSIDE but out of all 4 resorts the Montego Bay by far had the best beach. When you go to Montego Bay, you better hope that you are greeted by Odonnell (front desk) that young man deserves a promotion! He was so attentive, checked on us throughout our trip, he NEVER got tire of us coming to find him, asking questions, finding out stuff for us. I’m not sure if he will ever read this but if he does THANK YOU Odonnell you helped make our stay the best ever AND we will be back 2016 with our entire family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We just returned from Sandals Montego Bay a few days ago and it was a wonderful experience. We were married at Sandals Grande St. Lucian last year so this was our second time at a Sandals resort and it met all of our expectations. The beach was beautiful, the service was friendly, the food was delicious and the rooms were clean and spacious. We stayed in the Oversized Butler Suite and it was perfect!! Very big, walk in shower and separate jetted tub, patio overlooking the water and we were first floor which was so convenient because we could walk right out of our patio door to the beach. We tried all the restaurants while we were there and every one of them was delicious. Our favorites were The Oleander, Stewfish and Bayside. Our butlers were Cordia and Shelley and they were fantastic!! We were there with a group and they made sure we had enough beach chairs set up everyday and made sure we got reservations for dinner to include everyone. They went above and beyond. We loved Jamaica and will definitely be back. Can't wait for our next Sandals vacation!!!

Room Tip: Definitely get a butler room if you can afford it. The other rooms in the resort are a bit small bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,276 reviews
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
3.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,031 reviews
54.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing